We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Typical Hyatt Great Service!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hyatt Key West Resort and Spa

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Hyatt Key West Resort and Spa to your Saves list
Hyatt Key West Resort and Spa
4.0 of 5 Resort   |   601 Front Street, Key West, FL 33040   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Adv Purchase $20/NT Off
Ranked #16 of 44 Hotels in Key West
Madison, Wisconsin
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Typical Hyatt Great Service!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 20, 2012

If you are going to Key West and are looking for a higher end hotel, the Hyatt Resort and Spa will serve your needs nicely. Nightly price is a bit high for what I would consider smaller rooms but the appointments and larger bathrooms do a fine job of making up for the room size limitations. The staff absolutely go out of their way to take care of you and often remember your name after meeting you just once. Due to the Hyatt’s location on Key West they are quite limited to actual beach space so they have added some nice make-shift beach areas next to the pool that face the ocean. Certainly served our needs just fine. The hotel manager found out that we got engaged while in Key West and had champagne and strawberries waiting for us in our room when we returned from dinner the second night. In addition he stopped by and said hello on multiple occasions when we were sitting on the beach and even bought us a few drinks. The property is extremely well cared for and very clean. Additionally, the Hyatt is close to the action at Mallory Square but not too close, so you get all the benefit without the noise. It is also a short walk to Duval Street. Parking was a bit tight at times but not a major dilemma. We only went to the hotel restaurant for breakfast, the food was very well prepared, the prices perhaps a little high but reasonable for hotel restaurants and the outdoor seating on the ocean well worth it. Service was very good. Don’t be afraid to make requests of the staff, even if they are unable to accommodate you, you can be sure they will make every effort.

Room Tip: I would recommend booking a room with an ocean view. Do not count on upgrades at the counter, this i...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HyattKeyWest12, Manager at Hyatt Key West Resort and Spa, responded to this review, April 3, 2012
Congratulations on your engagement. A very exciting time for you both and the perfect location for a proposal! Thank you for taking time to complete a review on Tripadvisor. We will share your comments with our staff and thank them for going above and beyond. We hope you to see you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,172 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    656
    335
    111
    43
    27
See reviews for
192
657
20
27
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (263)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Ann Arbor Michigan
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 4, 2012

We spent 11 days at this property. This property has a number is issues which were not listed in other reviews. The biggest issue is that there are no beaches on this side of the island which newcomers might not realize. So your only chance for sun is by the pool. There are only 30 chairs by the pool and some are always in shade. In fact the pool gets only 5 hours of sun a day (9AM to 2PM). There are 118 rooms so if you want sun you have to fight for a chair and do not sleep in since there is no sun after 2PM. A second issue is that house cleaning was quite erratic. We would leave the room at 8 AM and return at 4:30PM and the room had not been made up. Sure enough as we returned to shower and dress, room cleaing showed up. We called for earlier service and that worked 50% of the time. We also alert the public that the partial gulf views are not all equal. Some rooms have little to no view because of trees and shrubs. Also the hotel has some rooms which are by the elevator which are 1/3 smaller than a normal room. We got stuck with one of those until we realized and complained. The new room was much better. Problem with the partial room is that they charge you for the full room. Do not let them give you 1407.
Now the good stuff. The location to the action and restuarants is great. The hotel is clean and the staff is friendly (though not as well trained as you might like). The food at the hotel restuarant is great and the bar and pool service is excellent. This is a hotel which provides you a place to stay. It offers no on site activities although there is a fitness room.

Room Tip: Dio not get a room next to the elevator or on the first floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HyattKeyWest12, General Manager at Hyatt Key West Resort and Spa, responded to this review, March 19, 2012
Thank you for the review you completed regarding your recent stay. I appreciate the opportunity to address your concerns and thank you for the comments regarding our staff, SHOR restaurant and Blue Mojito Pool bar. While we do clean rooms between 9am and 5pm we attempt to provide a consistent service experience. I know this was frustrating as you were trying to plan your day. Please accept my apology. I have asked the housekeeping department to revisit these procedures to avoid a similar occurrence in the future. I hope you enjoyed your visit to our wonderful island.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 2, 2012

Just spent 5 nights at the Hyatt Key West. Location is great - about 2 blocks from Duval Street and walking distance from everything in Key West. Reception Desk Staff (particularly 1st shift) was very friendly and hospitable. Concierge Staff very good with Restaurant recommendations and reservations. Buy 4 and get the 5th night free promotion was a bonus. Room product is well maintained and overall well appointed. Bathroom nicely done with good shower and good space. Only major area of disappointment was gift shop / excursion assistance. Very apparent that gift shop attendant did not know, nor seemed to care about the different excursions.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HyattKeyWest12, Manager at Hyatt Key West Resort and Spa, responded to this review, March 19, 2012
Thank you for posting a review. We appreciate and value your feedback. We are happy to hear you enjoyed your stay and we will share your comments with our team. Please accept our apology for the experience in the gift shop. We have followed up on this and appreciate your candor. We hope to see you again should your travel plans bring you back to Key West.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oslo, Norway
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 23, 2012

We just came from a three night stay at the Hyatt Key West.
The check in process was good, the bellboy and the staff was very helpful and nice to us.
We were escorted up to our room which was seemingly quite newly renovated.

The room was quite okay and we did not really spot anything wrong with it at first.
We did however come upon two issues with the room:

1) Aircon was loud
2) The bed overhead fan was downright scary. As we started it, we found it was wiggling and we were actually convinced it would fall down so we had to stop it. This is obviously not good :)

The location as many has mentioned is awesome. The pools were nice enough as well.

The restaurant we found to be inconsistent. The fish sliders were awesome, however the grilled calamari was quite oily and very very tasteless.

We ate at the restaurant the next morning as well and the buttermilk pancake they use under the lobster egg benedict was so bitter we could not actually eat it.

Service was acceptable, but not really up to par for the pricing of the room (which was at about 500 usd/night++).

I would say if you come from a Hyatt Regency like the one in Miami or Orlando this hotel is a good step up in the right direction.

But, coming from great stays like we've had in Park Hyatt Tokyo or Park Hyatt Chicago this is a serious step down and not even close to matching it.

For the pricing of the hotel, it should in my opinion match up to what Park Hyatt offers.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
71 helpful votes 71 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 22, 2012

That's what the realtors say and Hyatt Key West Resort is in the best location. A one minute walk to the foot of Duval St, a minute walk in the other direction to the docks, a two minute walk to Mallory Square. The place was spotless. The rooms were nicely laid out and had a very nice and spacious bathroom. We had an upper floor in building 3 on the Simonton St side. Beautiful view of the gulf from our balcony. Balcony fit 2 nicely, 3 if you had to. Nice pool area (with bar) with a separate jaccuzzi next to it. They have their own little private beach (wear water shoes, a little rocky). We rented a tandem bicycle (from Eaton St Bike Shop) for our stay and locked it up at night at the bike stands adjacent to the valet parking area. We noticed cruise ships parked in front of the Westin on quite a few days and I know that wouldn't be what I'd care to look at when gazing toward the gulf. As other reviewers noted there were a few homeless folks on the public beach across the street at various times of the day but they seemed pretty harmless. If that bothers you then 'don't look down', so to speak. We honestly can't think of anything we didn't like about this place. We're now planning on when we can return.

Room Tip: upper floor in building 3
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Myers, Florida
Top Contributor
72 reviews 72 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
46 helpful votes 46 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 20, 2012

We were greeted with champagne and a happy, helpful staff! Our room wasn't quite ready at 1:00, so we had an amazing lunch at Shor Restaurant on property. By the time we were finished and looked at their turtles, our room was ready. We were also granted a late check-out to accomodate our plans of diving the next morning. Our room had the most amazing view of the water and everything was clean and perfect. They also held our luggage so we could explore Key West without dragging it around. Would definitely stay again!

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HyattKeyWest12, General Manager at Hyatt Key West Resort and Spa, responded to this review, March 19, 2012
Thank you for completing a review on Tripadvisor. Your feedback is appreciated and so glad to hear you had a wonderful stay.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York, New York, United States
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 19, 2012

We stayed at the Hyatt in June. Hotel was close to everything, bars, restaurants, snorekling, jetski and many more. Only the pool was a little small, so if you like to swim you should chose a different place.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hyatt Key West Resort and Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hyatt Key West Resort and Spa

Address: 601 Front Street, Key West, FL 33040
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Florida Keys > Key West
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Key West
#5 Top resorts Hotel in Key West
#6 Spa Hotel in Key West
#7 Luxury Hotel in Key West
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hyatt Key West Resort and Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 118
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located directly on the Gulf of Mexico with an small intimate beach and within walking distance of prime shops and attractions, Hyatt Key West Resort & Spa is a year-round resort housing 118 spacious rooms. Water activities abound, including parasailing, snorkeling, jet boats and waverunning from the hotel’s marina and sunset cruises and dive trips. An on-site StayFit@Hyatt exercise center, new Jala Spa facility, pool and private sunbathing beach areas and dock provide additional recreation. Bicycle and scooter rentals are also available. The full-service restaurant, SHOR American Seafood Grill, offers indoor and outdoor dining overlooking the Gulf of Mexico, while ample meeting space, including an expansive banquet room, make the resort ideal for conferences and destination events. The Blue Mojito Bar & Grill offers light bites, a variety of cocktails and beverages and the best sunset view in town. A $10 million renovationwas completed in Fall 2007 and has brought a fresh and stylish, modern aesthetic to the resort’s classic Key West charm, transforming the property into a “tropical modern” experience through its elegant integration of architecture, interiors and landscapes. Soothing, luminous colors punctuated by bold detailing impart an intimate spa-like quality throughout, supported by organic materials such as porcelain, bamboo, glass tile and stone. Both private and public spaces across the resort have been transformed, including all 118 guestrooms, the lobby, the pool area with three all-new white-canvas spa cabanas and the newly dubbed Blue Mojito Pool Bar & Grill and SHOR American Seafood Grill. The redesign has also introduced the all-new Jala Spa facility. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Hyatt Hotels Corporation, Travelocity, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Jetsetter and Tingo so you can book your Hyatt Key West Resort and Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hyatt Key West Hotel Key West
Key West Hyatt

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hyatt Key West Resort and Spa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.