We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Relaxing Stay in Key West” 4 of 5 stars
Review of DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Grand Key Resort - Key West

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Save
You added DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Grand Key Resort - Key West to your Saves list
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Grand Key Resort - Key West
3.5 of 5 Resort   |   3990 S Roosevelt Blvd, Key West, FL 33040   |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Book now and save 20%
Ranked #21 of 44 Hotels in Key West
GreenLeadersBronze level
Fontana, California
Top Contributor
95 reviews 95 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
47 helpful votes 47 helpful votes
“Relaxing Stay in Key West”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 24, 2013

We stayed 2 nights, March 19-20, during our kid's spring break. The staff was very friendly and knowledgeable. Overall, the hotel is in good shape, however we did notice some parts of our room were showing signs of wear. The breakfast was good and had many options. The shuttle was convenient as parking can be difficult on Duval Street, however it can be very crowded during peak hours. The staff had a good recommendations for restaurants on and away from the touristy Duval Street. We enjoyed stopping by the front desk for extra Double Tree cookies :)

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,128 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,011
    732
    242
    85
    58
See reviews for
603
840
54
105
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (329)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Sturgis, Michigan
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 22, 2013

The front desk staff and the shuttle staff are friendly and courteous. Those are the highlights. The breakfast crew has apparently had zero training. Service is slow, slow, slow. Once finally waited on, it takes forever to get served and until we sat there for several minutes after finishing the meal of way overcooked eggs and cold, hard burnt toast, the waiter finally returned for the first time since taking our order. This is the same service we have had each morning so we will be doing something different for the remainder of our stay. The room smelled terrible of paint when we arrived and the room with a balcony that we paid extra for was overlooking the roof with standing water on it so that the mosquitos had a great breeding ground. I recommend the Sheraton across from Smathers beach. It is far, far superior in service and overall facilities and you can tell that they care about their patrons.

Room Tip: Ask them to describe the "balcony" view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WeCareInKeyWest, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Grand Key Resort - Key West, responded to this review, March 26, 2013
Thank you for your feedback. We’re sorry the food quality didn't meet your expectations. At our property, we want to serve fresh, tasty dishes with incredible service and the caring touches of home. We work continually to improve our menu offerings and service levels and your comments will help us improve. Our maintenance team has also been notified about the unpleasant smell and standing water. We hope you’ll stay with us the next time you’re in the area and let us know how we’re doing.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ringoes, New Jersey
Top Contributor
84 reviews 84 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 41 cities Reviews in 41 cities
64 helpful votes 64 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 21, 2013

They scrimped when they tries to renovate this hotel, whenever the renovation occurred. Large gaps everywhere, poor caulking jobs, harsh compact fluorescent lighting, paper-thin walls, noisy AC, all gave the hotel a cheap look and feel, even though the room is large and clean, staff is super friendly and shuttle service is convenient. I would say this is a typical Double Tree hotel, aspiring to be more than it is. Even for a key West hotel, it is over-priced.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, GA
Top Contributor
101 reviews 101 reviews
49 hotel reviews
Reviews in 61 cities Reviews in 61 cities
163 helpful votes 163 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 19, 2013

Took awhile for me to sit down and write this review just due to the fact that it was just an average experience. Do agree with other reviewers that the hotel does appear to be in need of some TLC as the room furniture is quite tired and worn. While we were staying here though, the lobby did get some new furniture. We were lucky enough to be able to use Hilton Points to stay here for the week, otherwise I wouldn't be too happy paying the going room rates of nearly $ 300 per night. Especially since we did have a problem with the bathroom exhaust fan not working and whenever someone in either another room or another floor smoked (we had a non-smoking room) it would waft into our room when the fan wasn't working. It took at least 3 phone calls to the front desk (and about 2 days) until it was finally fixed.

What was great about this Doubletree was the shuttle into old town. The shuttle drivers were terrific and the shuttles were quite timely. Never had an issue at all. Great feature about staying here.

Did eat in the restaurant a couple of times since we had a breakfast plan and they had a lot of nice choices.

Location of the hotel was good - very accessible to things - from grocery stores, restaurants, drug stores, and various sites throughout Key West.

Would we stay at this Doubletree in the future. If using Hilton points - yes. If paying on own going rates? We wouldn't unless the hotel rooms have been refurbished.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WeCareInKeyWest, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Grand Key Resort - Key West, responded to this review, March 22, 2013
Thank you for your feedback about the bathroom exhaust fan. I'm glad it was fixed, but am very sorry for the delay in service and that it wasn't resolved sooner. We're also looking into amenity enhancements and cosmetic updates to our interior and appreciate your suggestions. Thanks again for your review and we hope you stay with us the next time you return to Key West.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tupelo, Mississippi
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 19, 2013

The rooms are well kept. The staff was very accomodating to anything we needed. The breakfast buffet was delicious and well worth the price. My favorite thing about this hotel was the shuttle that runs downtown, my husband and I didn't get a rental car, and we were able to see everything on our list and not have to worry about parking. The shuttle is especially nice for those that indulge in the "Duvall Crawl!" And the cookies, as always, are awesome!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, GA
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 18, 2013

I found the service at the hotel to be very friendly. Our room was a decent size with 2 queen beds and had a balcony overlooking the pool. The balcony was small, but did seat 2 and had a table. The beds were very comfortable. The room had a fridge and decent coffee. We had 2 complaints about the room. The most annoying was the air conditioning unit, which made a huge booming noise evrytime it came on. Second was the fact that the sliding door to the balcony was difficult to open and close.

The hotel appeared to be full during our visit and it was challenging to find lounge chairs at the pool. But once we did have seating, the pool experience was great. Both days there was a man playing the steel drums, and 'singing' in a way that was quite entertaining. A waiter was available and we ordered drinks and food right from our chairs. The prices were reasonable and the food was good. There was also a self serve area for ice & water near the restrooms.

The hotel is near the airport, and they came to get us within minutes of our call. The hotel is @ 20 minutes from the downtown area and they have small buses that leave on the hour.

This was our first visit to Key West and we will be back. However, we will look for a hotel downtown so that we can come and go on our own schedule and not when the bus is running.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WeCareInKeyWest, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Grand Key Resort - Key West, responded to this review, March 22, 2013
Thank you so much for choosing to stay with us during your first trip to Key West. We're so fortunate we that we had an opportunity to make it great. I've shared your compliments and constructive comments with our team and personally thanked them for their dedication to hospitality. I'm terribly sorry to hear about the AC unit noise that disrupted your sleep and the maintenance issues you encountered with our sliding glass door. We're always looking to ensure our guests are comfortable and satisfied. Your feedback will surely help us to continue offering a great experience. Come back and see us again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minneapolis, Minnesota
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed March 16, 2013

The hotel appears a little "tired" and is need of a little TLC. I purchased a room (3 days, 2 nights) on line and added a balcony, for more money. For nearly $300 a night I expected more than a room next to the laundry room and a balcony that barely fit one chair at the end of it (you couldn't move the chair since the balcony was so small). The balcony overlooked the parked shuttle vans and back parking lot. I was disappointed. If you want a massage by the pool, your experience is behind old looking curtains, you can hear the vacuums from the rooms being cleaned and the people in the pool, for it's a couple of feet away. It didn't appear to be kept up and I saw no one there in the three days of my stay. On the upside, the bed was comfortable and the shuttle vans in to town were convenient & easy to use.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled solo
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WeCareInKeyWest, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Grand Key Resort - Key West, responded to this review, March 18, 2013
Thank you for your review of our hotel. We are very sorry that you weren't happy with your guestroom during your recent trip. We try to accommodate all reservations but occasionally we can’t meet every room request. Please let us know if you have any additional suggestions that would make your next stay better and we hope you give us a second chance if you return to the area.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Grand Key Resort - Key West? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Grand Key Resort - Key West

Address: 3990 S Roosevelt Blvd, Key West, FL 33040
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Florida Keys > Key West
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Key West
#8 Top resorts Hotel in Key West
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Grand Key Resort - Key West 3.5*
Number of rooms: 216
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Hilton Hotels, Cheap Tickets, Expedia, TripOnline SA, HotelTravel.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Agoda, getaroom.com, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Grand Key Resort - Key West reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Doubletree Grand Key Hotel Key West
Doubletree Grand Key Resort

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Grand Key Resort - Key West, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.