We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect for Families!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Grand Key Resort - Key West

Save Saved
You added DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Grand Key Resort - Key West to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Grand Key Resort - Key West
3.5 of 5 Resort   |   3990 S Roosevelt Blvd, Key West, FL 33040   |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Book now and save 20%
Ranked #19 of 41 hotels in Key West
GreenLeadersBronze level
Atlanta, Georgia, United States
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Perfect for Families!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 6, 2013

We had such a great experience at the Doubletree over New Years. I was a little worried about being so far away from the main areas, but it was no trouble at all. The shuttle runs constantly, and when it was full, they'd just start running a second one. The staff was truly phenomenal. Probably the best customer service we've had at a hotel in a long time. The kids thoroughly enjoyed the pool and the movie nights they offered over the Holiday week. The concierge was very knowledgeable and helpful and the food was quite good. We had such a terrific trip. I know we'll stay at the Doubletree the next time we're in Key West.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,949 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    916
    669
    227
    81
    56
See reviews for
558
764
51
90
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (308)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Northbrook, Illinois
Top Contributor
148 reviews 148 reviews
29 hotel reviews
Reviews in 54 cities Reviews in 54 cities
88 helpful votes 88 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 6, 2013

We just returned from a great stay at this Doubletree property. Upon arrival to the hotel each day we were offered warm cookies, always a positive! The decor is beach-themed with big ceiling fans, wainscoting, plantation shutters, etc.- perfect for an island hotel. Across the street from the hotel is the beach. The hotel offers a free shuttle to the main part of Key West, leaving the hotel every hour on the hour. This is super convenient since parking on the island is very limited and very expensive. The rooms are very nice and comfortable. The breakfast buffet is reasonably priced and includes many items. It was great to sit outside for breakfast, overlooking the pool. We did not use the pool area but it was beautiful with a lot of available chairs and a huge outdoor bar. The best part of the hotel was the staff. Everyone at the front desk, no matter what shift, couldn't have been more helpful or friendly. We had much better service here than many other more expensive, upscale places. If I were to return to Key West I would for sure stay here again.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Des Moines, Iowa
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 6, 2013

We have been here 2 years in a row for New Year's. The staff is excellent in every way. The property is beautiful and very well maintained. We park our car and never have to drive to Duval St. The shuttle service is awesome....leaves every hour on the hour and and has a couple of pick ups in good central locations. This place is a gem... we love it here and will be back

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 6, 2013

The Hilton DoubleTree is a great hotel .The staff are friendly and knowledgeable, and very accommodating. (Shannon at the front desk was especially helpful). The rooms are very comfortable and very clean. The hotel offers a shuttle bus service, so we did not drive at all on Key West. The food at the hotel is good.

Best of all, we went to Key West over the Xmas holidays, so this was definitely an economical option. Great hotel for families.

One thing to note, however, this hotel is on the outskirts of the island (i.e. not walking distance from any of the attractions. So, if you are in Key West to party, you may want to think twice).

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 4, 2013

In four days here there was not a single person who failed to do exactly what he or she was supposed to do. It was all done well and extremely politely. Other than the fact that most rooms face the parking lot, this place is terrific for families with kids.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
effingham kansas
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 4, 2013

Really enjoyed staying here-nice clean rooms-thanks Angel-and the warm cookies-wow-the pool area very nice had music on Sunday but not to loud-just nice background .Loved the shuttle-didnt have to worry about parking.Would stay there again.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Top Contributor
62 reviews 62 reviews
31 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 4, 2013

This property is well situated near the main road, but it is about a 20 minute ride on a very crowded bus to get to the action in Key West. Many folks were left at the bus stop waiting for another bus to arrive to pick them up later. The rooms are old style, but clean and the bed is comfortable. I was surprised to find that breakfast was not included in the price of the room, given the high price of the room in the first place. The staff were nice enough, but I found the desk clerk to be very abrupt when I asked about the breakfast not being included. He simply said that I didn't go through them so get with Expedia. It could have been handled better.

Room Tip: Try to get one far from partiers who slam doors all hours of the night!
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WeCareInKeyWest, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Grand Key Resort - Key West, responded to this review, January 7, 2013
Thank you for sharing your feedback with us. I apologize that the location was not quite what you were expecting. I'm also sorry for the experience you had with our front desk staff regarding the breakfast cost. Unfriendly behavior is not typical or tolerated at our hotel. I'm addressing the situation and apologize for the poor representation of our friendly hospitable staff. Thank you for bringing your concerns to our attention and we hope you give us another chance.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Grand Key Resort - Key West? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Grand Key Resort - Key West

Address: 3990 S Roosevelt Blvd, Key West, FL 33040
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Florida Keys > Key West
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#4 Green Hotel in Key West
#7 Top resorts Hotel in Key West
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Grand Key Resort - Key West 3.5*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Amex, Tingo, Travelocity, Otel, Cheap Tickets, BookingOdigeoWL, getaroom.com, Agoda, Venere and Priceline so you can book your DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Grand Key Resort - Key West reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Doubletree Grand Key Hotel Key West
Doubletree Grand Key Resort

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Grand Key Resort - Key West, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.