We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“No soul, but no surprises.” 3 of 5 stars
Review of DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Grand Key Resort - Key West

Save Saved
You added DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Grand Key Resort - Key West to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Grand Key Resort - Key West
3.5 of 5 Resort   |   3990 S Roosevelt Blvd, Key West, FL 33040   |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Book now and save 20%
Ranked #18 of 41 hotels in Key West
GreenLeadersBronze level
Cypress, Texas, USA
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“No soul, but no surprises.”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 4, 2012

My wife and I stayed here for two nights during our recent anniversary trip to the Keys. This is a typical DoubleTree Hotel, which could be located anywhere in the world by the design of the place. If you want character and local charm, you won't find it here. The shuttle bus to Duval street is the lifeline to doing anything in Key West, and it runs on the hour. We ate breakfast one morning at the hotel and it was forgettable - lukewarm hashbrowns and gummy pancakes, eww. If you walk out the front door, you can walk, jog or bike ride along the seawall, but won't get anywhere for miles - unless you count the Benihana by the entrance to the airport. We did get a couples masssage by the pool, which was a bit breezy in the portable shelter set up there, but we were pleasantly surprised by the gratis hot stone treatment given to keep us warm - that was very nice. We stayed at a B&B it the Truman Annex closer to Duval and were able to walk everywhere on the first two nights of our vacation, which we much prefered for a the romantic flavor, local vibe and convenience. Did not like the routine of having to be a slave to the shuttle buses at the Doubletree.

Room Tip: Much better options to give you the Key West vibe than this hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,895 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    900
    636
    222
    81
    56
See reviews for
514
742
51
87
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (299)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Springfield Illinois
Top Contributor
72 reviews 72 reviews
41 hotel reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 4, 2012

We have stayed at this property five times and it is a wonderful spot from which to explore Key West. Dont' worry about it being away from Duval Street because Jose or Miguel or one of the other dirviers will make sure you get where you want to be and back safely. Being near the airport is a huge plus for us.
The property is exactly what one expects from an affordable, tropical location. Great pool, clean rooms and a good restaurant.
The staff however is what makes this resort special for us. We travel a lot and when we come here and see the same people working we know it is a stable place.
If you want to see or do something special see Debbie. Billy at the pool bar will fix you the best drink and Mike works the pool area. Unfortunatley Mike is leaving which saddend us as he has been there since our first visit and we enjoyed not only his service but his company. We will miss not seeing him next year.
Glad the huge Iguana that roamed the pool area is gone. It was getting to big and was a distraction. I am sure another one will take its place.

Room Tip: Since the resort is not on the water try to stay in a pool view room. The Jr. Suites are really nice...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
fife
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 3, 2012

i ve just returned from key west where i stayed in the doubletree resort what a lovley hotel staff very friendly and helpful food breakfast excellent it was a buffet also had thanksgiving dinner their which was great thay had a shuttle bus every hour to take you into town and back and put on an extra bus if it was busy the rooms are very comfortable and the bed was to die for i didnt want to get out of it and they had an excellent gym so no complaints from me and when i go back id definatley stay their again so thanks for a lovley time

Room Tip: ask for pool view or balcony
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oslo, Norway
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 1, 2012

Stayed here for 3 nights and could have easily stayed there longer, as we had a nice time.

Great location not far from Duval street. The shuttle service works good although it was very busy during the day and evening. At one point some hotel guests had to stand in the bus as there weren't enough seats. Next night they had two shuttles driving back from town. Bob, one of the drivers made us feel very welcome with a quick history lesson driving around and pop quiz'es with cookies as prizes!

The hotel equally made us feel welcome. Check in went quick with cookies being handed out at the end. In the lobby area there are plenty of chairs to sit in. The aquarium in the lobby is truly beautiful, worth a look! Throughout our stay, staff were polite and would always say hi wherever we went.

Our room was nice, facing a quiet parking lot. The hotel is close to the airport with planes passing by. I personally love planes so I didn't have a problem with this. If you however hate planes taking off, make sure to let reception know and they might be able to move you to a more quiet room. (we were in room 301 I think)
Our room had a great bed, flat screen and a good sized bathroom. We found are room to be very clean.

Pool area was great with staff giving out free ice water and really looking after you.
The jacuzzi was really nice and warm. Probably the warmest jacuzzi I've ever been in.

Business room was free to use and had a fax and printer. Nothing too fancy, but does the job.

Apart from some snack by the pool or bar we never ate breakfast/dinner at the hotel. Instead we ended up eating out.

My verdict: this is a hotel worth staying at. Rooms are nice, staff are friendly and I would really like to come back one day!

Safe travels!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milwaukee, Wisconsin
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 30, 2012

Very nice Hilton property...good breakfast options...will stay here again...Have a complimentary shuttle to Duval Street, though didn't use it as i had my own SUV but still its a good service. Pool was very clean and is open till late night. Very close to Smathers beach so no hassle to see the beach area in the morning or sunset..

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boise
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 27, 2012

Came to this hotel on Business and had a wonderful stay. Was treated well and felt at home. Took advantage of the complimentary shuttle which was useful. Clean and a good value. Will be looking for more Doubletrees in my travels.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cuyahoga Falls, Ohio
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 26, 2012

After searching many hotels in the Key West area before booking our Key West vacation the week of October 8, we decided on The Doubletree by Hilton and feel that we made an excellent choice! We were fortunate to have been upgraded from a King Size room to a Junior Suite overlooking the pool. (I did put in a request to book a room overlooking the pool, if possible, and my request was honored.) The room was spacious and clean and the property, including the pool area, was beautiful! The free shuttle bus was great, taking us back and forth to Duval Street daily. The only problem we had the whole trip was minor - we couldn't get our key cards to open up the door to our room after the housekeeping staff cleaned our room one day. The front desk attempted to take care of the problem the best they could, sending the maintenance man to put in a new battery, but the same thing happened the next day. They apologized and gave us extra cookies as we were leaving to ease our minor pain and we appreciated their concern. (Some people would have been upset by this, but we realize these things happen.)

We definitely plan to stay at this wonderful hotel the next time we come back to Key West!

Room Tip: Ask for a room overlooking the pool area!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Grand Key Resort - Key West? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Grand Key Resort - Key West

Address: 3990 S Roosevelt Blvd, Key West, FL 33040
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Florida Keys > Key West
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Key West
#7 Top resorts Hotel in Key West
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Grand Key Resort - Key West 3.5*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Amex, Tingo, Travelocity, Otel, Cheap Tickets, BookingOdigeoWL, getaroom.com, Despegar.com, Venere and Agoda so you can book your DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Grand Key Resort - Key West reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Doubletree Grand Key Hotel Key West
Doubletree Grand Key Resort

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Grand Key Resort - Key West, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.