We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not recommended” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Fairfield Inn and Suites Key West

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Fairfield Inn and Suites Key West to your Saves list
Fairfield Inn and Suites Key West
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   2400 North Roosevelt Boulevard, Key West, FL 33040   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Earn Rewards Points
Ranked #36 of 46 Hotels in Key West
GreenLeadersBronze level
Johannesburg
Top Contributor
89 reviews 89 reviews
30 hotel reviews
Reviews in 41 cities Reviews in 41 cities
54 helpful votes 54 helpful votes
“Not recommended”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 2, 2010

I stayed at the Fairfield Inn and Suites in Key West for two nights during a holiday last year, as part of a group traveling down and up the keys for a wedding. Most of the group stayed close to the beach and the city, but we decided to go budget and stay at the other end of town.

Big mistake.

The room was tiny, we barely fit in with two + luggage. Breakfast was pure plastic horror, the pile of packaging from just some bites was huge and the barely any service staff to clean up. Maybe this is a typical "Continental Breakfast" in the States, but as a well-traveled German this was the worst breakfast I ever had. The second morning we decided to rather visit our friends in the other hotels, where breakfast was also included in the price but much nicer.

The pool area was okay, parking free, not much noise - but far away from everything, so we had to drive everywhere we went.

Worst part was that some items I gave for dry cleaning came back without the stains removed, and when complaining the manager made clear that he didn't care and we had to pay anyway.

No thanks, never again.

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,036 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    341
    383
    193
    79
    40
See reviews for
300
422
20
39
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (254)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Pordenone, Italy
Top Contributor
102 reviews 102 reviews
102 hotel reviews
Reviews in 92 cities Reviews in 92 cities
126 helpful votes 126 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 16, 2010

We have just checked out from the F.I. and I must say that we enjoyed our short stay at this motel. Our studio (1 king) was basic and not luxurious at all but we liked it because of its lovely Carribean style, which reminded me of some hotels I had been in Cuba and Dominican Republic. We then loved the swimming pool which was truly beautiful! We spent some lovely time there. Staff was then very kind and helpful. Breakfast buffet was ok, it was nice to have the chance of eating by the pool.. The only spot was the price: 139 USD ++ is little bit too much for a basic motel, even in the Keys!

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Winter Springs, FL
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
53 helpful votes 53 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 11, 2010

We chose this location because we were trying to stay out of the excitement, as we had our kids with us. The hotel is about two miles from Duval Street and the sunset at Mallory Square, which is a very easy ride. The facility was very nice, especially as compared to other Fairfield Inns. The pool was beautiful, with nice fountains and a great outdoor bar, and the bartender Mike was a super guy. The lobby was very classy, and the free breakfast offered more choices than most similar places. The rooms looked fresh and were clean.

We actually used Marriott points for this one - so the room was free, and I'm not sure what the price would have been.

We did not do it, but I would have felt safe leaving the kids in the room and hitting the town for a few hours at night time.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Lauderdale
1 review
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2010

We stayed at this hotel and our room was illegally entered and our personal items stolen while we were out to dinner. The hotel has no idea how the door was opened and there are no safes in the rooms. Do not stay at this hotel! The staff at night is only one desk clerk, the hotel property is wide open with nothing to keep criminals from walking right to your room, and they have no cameras outside of the lobby to record any illegal acts. This hotel has a lot of security concerns and wouldn't even reimburse us for the stolen items from our room. Beware of these problems before staying here.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FairfieldInnKeyWest, General Manager at Fairfield Inn and Suites Key West, responded to this review, July 30, 2010
Unfortunately, our hotel and several others in Key West were targeted on this particular weekend according to the local police department. The incident at our hotel was an isolated one. Historically, this was the first incident of personal items missing from a guestroom at this hotel in at least 10 years. I have been working here for more than 6 of those 10 years. As a precaution I have reviewed our security procedures with my staff to ensure the safety and security of our guests and associates is foremost in their minds. Rest assured we are focused on providing you with the level of safety, security and comfort that you have grown accustomed to from the Marriott brand.

Chris Majchrowicz,
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne
Top Contributor
68 reviews 68 reviews
47 hotel reviews
Reviews in 43 cities Reviews in 43 cities
66 helpful votes 66 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 20, 2010

We stayed for two nights and the hotel was comfortable. The room had free wifi, and a good shower with a place to hold shampoo and conditioner off the floor of the shower area (a rarity in many hotel rooms).

The breakfast area was large but if the hotel was full, it could be a challenge to find a table at busy times. The pool was a good size for the number of rooms in the hotel but it was 3' - 4'6" so if parents had little kids, they would need to hold onto them at all times (no paddling area where they could just watch).

Parking was free and was either just in the parking lot out the back of the hotel or was under the 1st floor rooms so they were undercover (in a carport sense, not a fully enclosed garage). Still, in the heat of summer, undercover parking is a good thing!

Hotel staff were very helpful and friendly at check-in.

Air-conditioning was far too loud so it was startling when it cut in at 5:30am and made a heck of a racket. Once we turned it off until a more reasonable hour, there were no issues.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 1, 2010

This was a great value considering the cost at some of the other places you can stay on the island. You will feel welcome as soon as you walk in. Free lemonade and a sample drink from the pool lounge. Pictures from the website are pretty accurate. The rooms aren't that big or fancy but they are very clean and the air worked great. The workout room is a joke but you're in the Keys; run OUTSIDE!!! Used the pull out couch in the suite with the king bed so my parents could have the bedroom. There is not a mattress at all but once I laid down I was able to sleep soundly with my 5 year old son next to me. If you need a safe, comfortable place to crash after sightseeing and shopping, this place is a good choice.

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
conn
Top Contributor
119 reviews 119 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 58 cities Reviews in 58 cities
66 helpful votes 66 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 27, 2010

Stayed at the Fairfield Inn Key West and found it clean,well maintained and a staff that went well above normal to be friendly and helpful. They really made the stay special.

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...

Been to Fairfield Inn and Suites Key West? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fairfield Inn and Suites Key West

Address: 2400 North Roosevelt Boulevard, Key West, FL 33040
Location: United States > Florida > Florida Keys > Key West
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Green Hotel in Key West
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Fairfield Inn and Suites Key West 2.5*
Number of rooms: 106
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
NEWLY-RENOVATED! Fairfield Inn Key West Hotel has just completed a renovation! Experience new rooms with bright decor, plenty of natural light and perks such as in-room microwaves and mini-fridges. Our top-rated hotel features luxury amenities such as resort-style pool, cabanas and outdoor Tiki Bar at the Fairfield Inn value. You'll still get the convenient perks you've come to love including free WiFi and hot breakfast. Just minutes from Old Town and Duval Street, guests appreciate the quick ride using our onsite bike and scooter rental. Perfect for families, our suites offer extra space to spread out and some rooms even have private balconies! Enjoy the island life at Fairfield Inn Key West Hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Marriott, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Hotels.com so you can book your Fairfield Inn and Suites Key West reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Fairfield Inn And Suites Key West Hotel Key West
Fairfield Inn Key West
Fairfield Key West
Key West Fairfield Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Fairfield Inn and Suites Key West, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.