We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great, family friendly place to stay in Key West” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Fairfield Inn and Suites Key West

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Fairfield Inn and Suites Key West to your Saves list
Fairfield Inn and Suites Key West
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   2400 North Roosevelt Boulevard, Key West, FL 33040   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Free Parking
Ranked #32 of 41 Hotels in Key West
GreenLeadersBronze level
Royal Oak, Michigan
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
“Great, family friendly place to stay in Key West”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2014

Key West is not a cheap place to find a hotel. I’d guess that you came to this Trip Advisor page after experiencing some sticker shock at the hotels right in Old Town or near Southernmost Point. This hotel is like a little resort on the north side of the island, but at much lower cost. It’s absolutely the place where I will stay on any future trip to Key West, assuming it’s not sold out!

Desk staff was super friendly and very welcoming. They can and will answer any questions about the area and offer up some unsolicited tips. The hotel grounds map has a simple map of Key West on the back, which they use to tell you where to find all the cool things to do. For instance, we arrived on July 3rd, so they told us about the fireworks off White Street Pier on the 4th. There are also local newspapers and magazines in the lobby, which have great info on events going on while you are there.

The grounds are excellent, centered around one of the best pool areas a “chain hotel” could have this side of Disney. The deep end (or corners, I probably should say as the pool is vaguely cloverleaf shaped) is 4’ 8”, so good if you have younger kids. There is a good tiki bar right next to the pool. It’s so easy to spend the heat of the day by the pool with a drink in your hand, waiting for the evening to come to head to Duval Street.

The free breakfast was great, also served poolside by the tiki bar. Again, the staff is extraordinarily friendly. They’ll bend over backwards to help you and even offer to clear your table for you. They certainly treat you as well as any high end resort treats their guests. My only complaint was that the breakfast offerings were identical every day, and there was only package oatmeal. But that’s a small issue given how great everything else was.

As mentioned in a lot of reviews, the regular rooms are quite small. A family of four can just fit in the rooms with 2 double beds. You’ll certainly be in close quarters, so hopefully you are on good terms with your traveling companions! But since, you would likely spend most of your time down at the pool for breakfast or to relax before heading out on the town, this shouldn’t be a deal breaker.

Locationwise, you are a little bit of a distance from Duval Street and all the attractions. But Key West is not a big island. If you really wanted to, you could walk from here to all the attractions in probably 45 minutes to an hour. But, you don’t have to because you can rent bicycles from the place by the pool. Or, what we did was drive less than 5 minutes to the Caroline and Grinnel parking lot ($2/hour or $13/day or the Key West Bight lot ($2.50/hour or $16/day) and walk everywhere from there. This hotel is also one of the Old Time Trolley stops, but the pamphlets said they stop running at 5PM, and who wants to come back to the hotel before sunset in Key West?

Other smaller things-the exercise room looked great with new machines and free weights. I had intended to use it, but never really had the time. We had to do laundry while we were there, and the washer and dryers were $1 each. That’s an amazing steal, especially considering most hotel laundry is at least $2.50.

This is a very family friendly hotel. It's certainly not geared for the couple looking for a romantic getaway, or the group looking to find a place to crash after barhopping all night. But for the rest of the "middle of the road" travelers, this is an excellent place to stay. If you’re going, you’ll be in great hands here!

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jjdru429, General Manager at Fairfield Inn and Suites Key West, responded to this review, July 18, 2014
Hello-

Thank you so much for the great review! I'm really glad that you got to enjoy all our amenities. We are actually going through a full renovation right now, expected to finish by end of October. I'm excited to have you stay with us again the next time you are back in Key West. We redoing all the rooms and upgrading all the public space. It's going to look amazing!

Thanks again!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

915 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    290
    331
    179
    76
    39
See reviews for
264
367
18
34
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (211)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Denham Springs, Louisiana
Top Contributor
178 reviews 178 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 94 cities Reviews in 94 cities
100 helpful votes 100 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 2, 2014 via mobile

Rooms were quiet, had a good view, and very comfortable. We really enjoyed our stay. The breakfast buffet was good. The bar was GREAT, had banana coladas (great). The staff was very friendly and pleasant to deal with. Parking is limited, but it's accessible to everything on the island. Prices seemed a bit high, but not unbearable.

Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jjdru429, General Manager at Fairfield Inn and Suites Key West, responded to this review, July 3, 2014
Thank you for your review! I'm glad you enjoyed our amenties during your stay.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hertford, North Carolina, United States
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 28, 2014

The people whining about this hotel are spoiled brats. Yes, the rooms are small, but why would you spend that much time in your room at Key West. The rooms are perfectly adequate with the bonus of a mini-fridge and a microwave. The service is on par with 5-Star hotels. Our AC went out one night and we received a written apology and free drinks at the Tiki Bar. The pool is lovely. The staff is the best I have EVER seen and I have traveled widely within and without the US. If we ever come back to Key West, we will book again.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FFIKEYWESTMgmt, Manager at Fairfield Inn and Suites Key West, responded to this review, June 29, 2014
I am glad you had such an outstanding time while visiting the hotel! Thank you for your great comments about the customer service! Thank you for your review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint louis
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 28, 2014

The pool/bar and lobby area are very nice including the breakfast area by the pool. The staff was friendly.
The rooms were extremely small and basic which is ok because we spent most of our time outside the room. The bathroom was tiny with only a shower. But one of our rooms was infested with bugs all over the bathroom. I mean 50 or more flying and crawling bugs.

Stayed June 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FFIKEYWESTMgmt, Manager at Fairfield Inn and Suites Key West, responded to this review, June 29, 2014
I am glad to hear you enjoyed the pool area are so much. I am sorry to hear that you experienced some pest in your room. We work closely with our national partners in pest elimination to maintain our rooms on regular basis. Thank you for your review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Augustine, Florida
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 27, 2014

This hotel is nice and clean. It is not luxurious. Well, except for the pool. The pool is one of the best, but be advised there is no hot tub. The staff is very friendly and the rooms are nice and clean. The bed is a little hard, no pillow top mattresses. But that's the only thing I could say was wrong with it. I would stay here again.

Room Tip: Just be advised of the few items it doesnt offer: No bathtub in the room, no hot tub by the pool. No...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FFIKEYWESTMgmt, Manager at Fairfield Inn and Suites Key West, responded to this review, June 29, 2014
I am glad to hear you enjoyed the pool so much, it is a great place to relax by. I am sorry that your bed was too hard, we actually just replaced all of the beds earlier this year with brand new pillow top mattresses. Thank you for taking the time to write your review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cleveland, Ohio
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2014

We stayed at this hotel from June 18-20 2014. We were very surprised with this Fairfield Inn because it felt like a mini-resort. Check-in was fast and friendly, and they gave us sample fruity beverage to taste. Parking is free. The pool is not deep, but it is very relaxing; I just wish they had more chairs by the pool.

Our room had a small fridge and a microwave. I am especially liked that it was very clean, and that they provided toiletries and crispy clean towels every day. Very comfortable bed! The A/C worked perfectly, not too noisy, it was very easy to adjust, and it did not give us a headache, like in some other hotels.

This hotel can be a little bit far from downtown, especially if you are planning to party every night. Some people rent bicycles, but we rented a scooter from a place located on the same street [Sunshine scooters], and we actually enjoyed riding back and from the downtown, where parking is usually free for scooters, and sometimes you just park next to the bicycle racks. The parking at the hotel was free for both our rental car and our scooter. However, it may be a little bit difficult to park your car at night because it can be very full.

What we like the best about this hotel was the staff. They were always very nice. Special thanks to Veronica for helping us send out our dry clean at a weird time, and to the staff in the dining area.

Overall, we enjoyed our stay, and look forward to come back!

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FFIKEYWESTMgmt, Manager at Fairfield Inn and Suites Key West, responded to this review, June 29, 2014
It is convenient to rent scooters during your stay as the are the preferred method of travel on the island. I was excited to hear you had such a great interaction with Veronica at the front desk. She is truly an asset to have for our guests. Thank your for taking the time to write your review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maryland Heights, Missouri
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2014

this was the 2nd time we had stayed here and we just love the place,they were one of the only hotels that seemed to want to work with us on pricing since we had 20 plus people going to Key West for our wedding. Great value, Wink and Lisa at the pool bar were awesome and the rest of the staff were very friendly. I would recommend this place to anyone going to Key West for vacation. Its my understanding they are closing in a month to under go complete renovations so can't wait to see what its going to look like when they are done. Also understand they are opening another Fairfield Inn in KW when you 1st come into KW off of US 1...

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jjdru429, General Manager at Fairfield Inn and Suites Key West, responded to this review, June 20, 2014
Thank you for the great review! I have an amazing team all around especially Wink and Lisa. I'm really glad you enjoyed your stay and look forward to having you back after the renovation to check out our beautiful new property.

Best Regards,

Jeremiah Drummond
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Fairfield Inn and Suites Key West? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fairfield Inn and Suites Key West

Address: 2400 North Roosevelt Boulevard, Key West, FL 33040
Location: United States > Florida > Florida Keys > Key West
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Green Hotel in Key West
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Fairfield Inn and Suites Key West 2.5*
Number of rooms: 106
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Marriott's signature style and service meet island-style living in a tropical atmosphere at the Marriot, Fairfield Inn & Suites- Key West. Boasting high quality island accomodations at an incredible value, our Key West hotel is located just minutes away from beaches, restaurants, shopping, entertainment and everything else you could possibly want to do on our 8 square mile island paradise. Featuring a beautiful 72,000 gallon free formed pool, Complimentary Breakfast Buffet served poolside, Complimentary Business Center with printers, Free Wifi, On-site Scooter, Bicycle and Electric Car rental. All guest rooms offer a New LCD Flat Screen TV, Microwave & Refrigerator. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Hotels.com, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Fairfield Inn and Suites Key West reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Fairfield Inn And Suites Key West Hotel Key West
Fairfield Inn Key West
Fairfield Key West
Key West Fairfield Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Fairfield Inn and Suites Key West, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.