We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Kinda nice, kinda not nice...” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Fairfield Inn and Suites Key West

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Fairfield Inn and Suites Key West to your Saves list
Fairfield Inn and Suites Key West
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   2400 North Roosevelt Boulevard, Key West, FL 33040   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Earn Rewards Points
Ranked #36 of 46 Hotels in Key West
GreenLeadersBronze level
Wiscasset, Maine
Top Contributor
93 reviews 93 reviews
41 hotel reviews
Reviews in 48 cities Reviews in 48 cities
94 helpful votes 94 helpful votes
“Kinda nice, kinda not nice...”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 15, 2013

This Fairfield Inn offers what you'd expect for the brand, though I think the property they took over was previously a run-of-the-mill motel, with outside entrances along the corridors. They've spruced it up a bit, and the hotel was very clean, considering its age. And not a hint of mildew, also a surprise considering. Breakfast was typical, but unique to this property was breakfast trays already prepared with plates, napkins and utensils. Nice touch, and the people at breakfast were VERY friendly. Almost way too friendly for people just waking up! (Just kidding, who can be faulted for being too friendly?)

What I found off-putting was the signs on the elevator informing guests that the (only) elevator was out of order. I witnessed a bus load of seniors, many of whom were walking with canes or walkers arrive, and were directed to the stairs to walk up one, two or I don't know, maybe three flights of stairs to their rooms, while the staff used the "out of order" elevators to bring up their luggage. I spoke with one of the passengers the following morning, after witnessing he and his wife struggle to walk down the stairs. I told him that I saw housekeeping using the elevators, even though the sign said they were out of order. He told me that the group was told when they arrived that the elevators were out of order, so they'd all have to use the stairs.

I find it very odd and seemingly cruel to require these particular guests to use the stairs while the staff allowed themselves the luxury of using the elevator. Odd.

Room Tip: Pool side rooms are best, try to stay away from Rt. 1 facing rooms
See more room tips
Green Features: Typical "reuse your towels", low flush toilet type of things.
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FFIKEYWESTGM, General Manager at Fairfield Inn and Suites Key West, responded to this review, October 17, 2013
We certainly appreciate your concern. The elevator was in fact unfit for public use at the time the group arrived. We most definitely would have no reason not to let the group use the elevator if it was fit for service. We honestly were only acting with everyone's best interest in mind which is why we voluntarily carried all luggage to the rooms for the group. We also posted personnel at the staircase to assist any and all that needed help. Again, I am sorry if you or anyone else was inconvenienced. We are absolutely grateful that you took the time to share your thoughts.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,014 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    332
    372
    191
    79
    40
See reviews for
294
411
18
38
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (247)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Annapolis, Maryland
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2013

This hotel was just fine for what we needed. A nice sized pool with a bar next to it for those times before you head down to Duval street. A rather good breakfast which was included in the room rate. Location was fine, not really walking distance downtown but an easy taxi ride for about 10 bucks. Although its a mile and a half to Duval street so I suppose you could walk. My recommendation for those coming to key west is to plan on taking a taxi around. Theres not much parking downtown, and there will be plenty of drinking going on, so leave the car at the Fairfield. Plenty of parking at the hotel, and much of it covered. The staff was super friendly, especially front desk and the breakfast team. Only negative I can think of right now was that the A/C in the room was super loud! But after a long day/night of partying, that wont really matter.

Room Tip: The rooms on the back side face a residential neighborhood, and for some reason there are a bunch of...
See more room tips
Green Features: I like that the toilets were low-flow and there was a note on the lid that explained it.
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FFIKEYWESTGM, General Manager at Fairfield Inn and Suites Key West, responded to this review, October 17, 2013
I am sorry about the chickens. They are a protected species in Key West. We do have a service that traps and relocates them for us. Sometimes it takes a few days to get them rounded up. I certainly appreciate your patience!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sarasota, Florida
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2013

This is an older hotel and you may be disappointed if you are a frequent Marriott traveler (the towels were old and thin), but it was certainly clean and overall ok, although the rooms are indeed small. There is an excellent pool and tiki bar, and the breakfast was actually very good and certainly worth the stay, since the hotels downtown are all so expensive.
It is located mid-island, and no hotel shuttle to Duval Street, so you need to have your own car, or take a taxi or rent a moped (I think there was a bus stop also). I found the front desk staff very helpful. There is construction on the main road (N Roosevelt Blvd) and sometimes you hear a truck at night, but it was really not a problem. I am fussy, but the price was right, and you don't spend much time in the room with so much to see in Key West! There is plenty of parking, and an easy commute to Duval once you learn the streets! (back way to hotel is Truman to First, then east on Patterson and left on 7th!).

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FFIKEYWESTGM, General Manager at Fairfield Inn and Suites Key West, responded to this review, October 17, 2013
I'm glad you felt we were a value. Thank you for your feedback!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami, Florida, United States
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 30, 2013

Fairfield is a good place to stay if you are on a budget traveling to Key West. Most hotels are super expensive, and this place is reasonably priced and gets the job done. The rooms aren't too impressive, but they are clean enough and are comfortable. There is a pool and tiki bar. Also, there is a nice breakfast included, which is an added perk. About a 5-10 minute drive from the center and Duval Street. Nice stay overall.

Room Tip: Rooms on the pool are a little more comfortable in terms of relative location and view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FFIKEYWESTGM, General Manager at Fairfield Inn and Suites Key West, responded to this review, October 7, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to respond!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shifnal, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 29, 2013 via mobile

We had just come from an excellent night in the Courtyard in Key Largo which I have reviewed separately. We drove up from the back and to be fair it didn't look at its best and there were road works going on on N Roosevelt Blvd. My wife was a little concerned that we had not chosen wisely for our 3 nights in Key West. After a quick check in we went to our rooms to check what they were like with a little trepidation even though we had been upgraded.

They were great and this was handicapped friendly with a slight ramp if needed, there was another on the first floor and there might be more - worth checking. We would also recommend getting a room facing the pool rather than one facing the back. The bed was good and had been designed with disability in mind.

The pool is substantial and was a welcome break as it was hot in Key West nearly touching 100. The breakfast area was good also and we would recommend that you get one of the porch seats, it really does start the day off well to eat outside and start to feel relaxed.

It is conveniently placed and there is a trolley bus that can take you into town and bring you back (this runs early am and finishes around 16:30.) As parking can be a problem in the town centre a taxi ride back to the hotel will cost you around $12.

Service was good and it was nice to see 2 of the front desk team where from the UK. We suspected that they felt they had won the lottery on such a great posting to such an idyllic area. Also there was Joe from Durban who was also very helpful. A good team.

We did have a problem with the lift once when someone had wedged it open and the 2nd more serious when the lift did not operate at all, this was reported and dealt with quickly as my wife who is disabled had to get up the stairs to our room on the first floor and I had to help a gentleman with a prosthetic leg up to the 2nd floor. It would be of use for the management where there are people with disabled issues to identify how they can reach upper floors if one lift is not working on their maps.

A small design issue, the washbasins didn't have a plug in them which we were informed was common to all and a real surprise as we had never come across in any Marriott around the world. I therefore had to use a flannel to stop the water going out when I was washing and shaving in the morning. Also from a sustainability point of view it isn't good to waste water. I realise that there is little at present that can be done, but I d recommend that this is an area that is addressed at the next refurbishment.

Although this is not an issue that the Marriott can do anything about the roadworks on N Roosevelt Blvd are going on for the next 18 months and mean a slightly longer detour round (not really a major concern on such a small Key) Also we had no problem with excessive noise/dust whilst this work was going on.

All in all a little haven of a place to stay on Key West with good staff and a place to chill and unwind

Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FFIKEYWESTGM, General Manager at Fairfield Inn and Suites Key West, responded to this review, October 7, 2013
Thanks again for your feedback. Much appreciated.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 26, 2013

Stayed at this hotel recently on visit to the Keys. From the street it look as many other motels and inns but behind it all a lovely pool and Tiki area very sunny. Reception was very good upon check in offered us lovely cool refreshing drinks and met all our needs we were early but the room was ready.
Room was ok had a suite,only downside was a mechanical noise all night maybe from air con or bathroom extractor ducts. No carpet therefore any movement of chairs etc very noisy especially from the above floor.
A lot of roadworks in front at the moment, need a car for Duval street and all attractions. No restaurants or shops nearby thus car journey for lunch or dinner.
overall I would highly recommend this hotel.

Room Tip: get room with pool view and take floors 1 or 2
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FFIKEYWESTGM, General Manager at Fairfield Inn and Suites Key West, responded to this review, September 27, 2013
Thanks very much for sharing your experience!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Lafayette, Indiana, United States
Top Contributor
57 reviews 57 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2013

On my recent honeymoon to Key West, we stayed in the Fairfield Inn at Roosevelt and Seventh Street. I chose that primarily because of the central location and reasonable price, and found it to be an exceptional place for the money. The pool is wonderful, but avoid the overpriced tiki bar. We were upgraded to a suite, and it was very nice and offered plenty of room. We didn't have much of a view, but we did have a nice little balcony. I would strongly consider this hotel when returning to Key West.

Room Tip: The suites in the southeast corner building are very nice, but there is no elevator to that area. To...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FFIKEYWESTGM, General Manager at Fairfield Inn and Suites Key West, responded to this review, September 25, 2013
I am sorry to hear you didn't feel our Tiki Bar was a value. I honestly don't know where you can drink more economically in Key West. We are significantly lower priced than the Duval St bars and on par (or less) than the like establishments on the island. We certainly appreciate your feedback. Thanks for taking the time to respond.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Fairfield Inn and Suites Key West? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fairfield Inn and Suites Key West

Address: 2400 North Roosevelt Boulevard, Key West, FL 33040
Location: United States > Florida > Florida Keys > Key West
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Green Hotel in Key West
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Fairfield Inn and Suites Key West 2.5*
Number of rooms: 106
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
NEWLY-RENOVATED! Fairfield Inn Key West Hotel has just completed a renovation! Experience new rooms with bright decor, plenty of natural light and perks such as in-room microwaves and mini-fridges. Our top-rated hotel features luxury amenities such as resort-style pool, cabanas and outdoor Tiki Bar at the Fairfield Inn value. You'll still get the convenient perks you've come to love including free WiFi and hot breakfast. Just minutes from Old Town and Duval Street, guests appreciate the quick ride using our onsite bike and scooter rental. Perfect for families, our suites offer extra space to spread out and some rooms even have private balconies! Enjoy the island life at Fairfield Inn Key West Hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Marriott, Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Hotels.com so you can book your Fairfield Inn and Suites Key West reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Fairfield Inn And Suites Key West Hotel Key West
Fairfield Inn Key West
Fairfield Key West
Key West Fairfield Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Fairfield Inn and Suites Key West, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.