We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Stay away!” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Fairfield Inn and Suites Key West

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Fairfield Inn and Suites Key West to your Saves list
Fairfield Inn and Suites Key West
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   2400 North Roosevelt Boulevard, Key West, FL 33040   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Double Rewards Points!
Ranked #36 of 45 Hotels in Key West
GreenLeadersBronze level
Belleair Bluffs Fl
Level Contributor
15 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Stay away!”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed November 17, 2012

I travel for business quite extensively and I have to say that this is THE WORST Marriott property I've ever seen. I've stayed at Fairfield Inns before and realize that they are the lower end of the Marriott brand, but they have always been clean and comfortable. Don't let the website photos fool you. Although the pool and bar area appeared to be OK, my room was appalling. My spartan college dorm room in 1982 was a palace compared to this. Do they rent these rooms by the hour? I didn't even unpack my bags. I immediately called the Marriott reservation line and was thankfully able to get into the Courtyard down the street for $7.00 more per night. I'm still scratching my head trying to figure out how this Fairfield Inn (it's more like a flea bag motel by the way) is operating under the Marriott name.

Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FFIKEYWESTGM, General Manager at Fairfield Inn and Suites Key West, responded to this review, January 9, 2013
I apologize if our hotel did not meet your expectations. Thank you for takling the time to share your thoughts.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,133 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    373
    428
    205
    85
    42
See reviews for
348
445
23
42
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (266)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
19 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 14, 2012

My husband and I stayed here for 4 nights. Rooms were small, but that is what we expected from the reviews and pictures online, but other than that, there were no issues. Rooms were clean, beds were comfy, pool area/bar was WONDERFUL and relaxing. Breakfast was nice and spread out, never felt cramped standing in line. The breakfast attendants kept the area clean and were extremly friendly. Same with the front desk staff and the bar tenders at the bar. Loved the daily special, had it every day! My husband and I were able to walk to Duval Street from the hotel a few times and it really was not that bad of a walk at all. Considering all the eating and drinking you do in Key West, it was good for the both of us. We took a cab a few nights as well. We had a great time. I am at work now writing my review dreaming of being back poolside : )

Room Tip: Just know you are getting a smaller room with not much drawer/closet space. Go into your stay with t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FFIKEYWESTGM, General Manager at Fairfield Inn and Suites Key West, responded to this review, November 19, 2012
I am very glad that our staff delivered a clean, comfortable, and friendly experience. Thank you for your response.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Linden, Michigan
Level Contributor
47 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 14, 2012

My husband and I stayed 3 nights at the Fairfield Inn, Key West. We chose this hotel because of Marriott's commitment to quality and we were not disappointed. The staff at the hotel were just outstanding, from the front desk, to the breakfast staff, to the househkeeping staff. Everyone greeted us with a smile and a positive attitude. The pool area is beautiful - great way to relax before or after your day, and they even have a Tiki Bar area by the pool that stays open until 8 pm. The Hop on/Hop off trolley makes a stop at the hotel as well so it makes it very convenient to reach Duval street and other points of interest in Key West.

Rooms are nicely appointed and done in a Caribbean theme. There is a sidewalk on both sides of the road so if you are ambitious, you can walk to Duval Street - only about 2 miles and an interesting walk (we did it with no problems). You can also rent bicycles at the hotel and it appears scooters as well.

Our only suggestion would be to add indoor/outdoor runners in the rooms (all the floors were tile so a bit noisier than we are used to, plus tile outside - you can hear everyone rolling their carts by).

Room Tip: Choose a high floor at the end towards Checkers restaurant (north end)- overlooks the pool and would...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FFIKEYWESTGM, General Manager at Fairfield Inn and Suites Key West, responded to this review, November 19, 2012
So happy to hear that you enjoyed your visit. We are very proud of our team. Thank you for the suggestions. Much appreciated.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sanibel
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 7, 2012

The staff of this hotel is very responsive to all the needs of the guests. No detail is left to chance.
It is very clean and well maintained. I will definitely chose this as my exclusive place to stay in Key West.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FFIKEYWESTGM, General Manager at Fairfield Inn and Suites Key West, responded to this review, November 19, 2012
Clean, friendly, and well maintained is our creed. I am very glad that you felt that we hit the mark! Thanks very much!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enfield, Connecticut, United States
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 7, 2012

We stayed for 2 nights in Oct 2012. We found 2 previous reviews to be true. The A/C is very noisy, had some trouble sleeping because of it and there is only shutters on the window that allow privacy but let in light. They need to add the usual light blocking curtains. Everything else: pool ,food, room, parking,location, staff were perfect. The outstanding cleanliness is most important to us and we will definately stay here again.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FFIKEYWESTGM, General Manager at Fairfield Inn and Suites Key West, responded to this review, November 19, 2012
I am very sorry that you were not completely comfortable. We certainly appreciate the feedback regarding the a/c and windows. We will take your comments into consideration as we look for ways to improve and grow.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami, Florida
Level Contributor
22 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 7, 2012

My husband and I chose Key West as our 1 Year Anniversary trip. The weekend landed on Parrot Heads weekend so most hotels on Duval street and in Downtown KW were booked. I found Fairfield Inn & Suites online, and after viewing their site and reading through the reviews, I decided they were a good choice. We were welcomed with colorful beads, and a welcome drink, which was a nice surprise. Our room was another surprise. It was smaller than expected; however, the king sized bed was huge, and very comfortable. The AC was very, very loud. And the location of the room was a disappointment. It faced the parking lot, which was right next to houses. The pool is very big (for Keys standard), and they offer pool towels, which is always appreciated. The breakfast is outstanding! They offer bagels, muffins, cereals...the usual, but then they also serve Jimmy Dean breakfast sandwiches, and have 3 waffle makers. We ate breakfast there each morning and were satisfied till lunch time. We would drive to Duval during the day, and take a cab at night. It's just a 5 minute drive into town. Next time we hope to stay closer to Duval, or downtown; however, if nothing is available, we would go back to Fairfield. Our overall experience was great!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FFIKEYWESTGM, General Manager at Fairfield Inn and Suites Key West, responded to this review, November 19, 2012
Thank you for the detailed feedback! We hope to see you again next visit!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2012

Hotel is kept nice and overall the stay was wonderful but the price didnt meet my expectations of the room. It was fairly small and the bathroom was tiny. Also while most hotels give you complimentary wifi this one only gives you 1 day to use it for free an still puts a $40 hold on your account for Internet usage. So while I reserved the hotel at one price when I showed up that's not the price they ran my card through for.

  • Stayed November 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FFIKEYWESTGM, General Manager at Fairfield Inn and Suites Key West, responded to this review, November 7, 2012
I am really sorry that you didnt feel that we were a value. The WI FI is actually completely free. You just need to log in every 24 hours. The hold for $40 is just a security deposit. It allows our guests to charge at the Tiki Bar, Movies, Phone, etc. to their room. It will drop off a few days after check out depending on your bank's policies. The remaining amount should be exactly what you were quoted. We do have a sign explaining this on the front desk. Again, I am very sorry if we didnt get the message to you clearly. Thanks for responding!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Key West hotels
0.6 mi away
Courtyard Key West Waterfront
1.6 mi away
Fairfield Inn & Suites Key West at The Keys Collection
1.1 mi away
The Inn at Key West
The Inn at Key West
#32 of 45 in Key West
4.0 of 5 stars 1,899 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.6 mi away
Key West Marriott Beachside Hotel
0.3 mi away
Parrot Key Hotel and Resort
1.5 mi away
The Gates Hotel | Key West
The Gates Hotel | Key West
#19 of 45 in Key West
4.5 of 5 stars 231 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Fairfield Inn and Suites Key West? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fairfield Inn and Suites Key West

Address: 2400 North Roosevelt Boulevard, Key West, FL 33040
Location: United States > Florida > Florida Keys > Key West
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Green Hotel in Key West
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Fairfield Inn and Suites Key West 2.5*
Number of rooms: 106
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
NEWLY-RENOVATED! Fairfield Inn Key West Hotel has just completed a renovation! Experience new rooms with bright decor, plenty of natural light and perks such as in-room microwaves and mini-fridges. Our top-rated hotel features luxury amenities such as resort-style pool, cabanas and outdoor Tiki Bar at the Fairfield Inn value. You'll still get the convenient perks you've come to love including free WiFi and hot breakfast. Just minutes from Old Town and Duval Street, guests appreciate the quick ride using our onsite bike and scooter rental. Perfect for families, our suites offer extra space to spread out and some rooms even have private balconies! Enjoy the island life at Fairfield Inn Key West Hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Marriott, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Hotels.com so you can book your Fairfield Inn and Suites Key West reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Fairfield Inn And Suites Key West Hotel Key West
Fairfield Inn Key West
Fairfield Key West
Key West Fairfield Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Fairfield Inn and Suites Key West, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.