We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great customer service but look at the rooms first.” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Fairfield Inn and Suites Key West

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Fairfield Inn and Suites Key West to your Saves list
Fairfield Inn and Suites Key West
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   2400 North Roosevelt Boulevard, Key West, FL 33040   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Earn Rewards Points
Ranked #36 of 46 Hotels in Key West
GreenLeadersBronze level
Buckeye, Arizona
1 review
“Great customer service but look at the rooms first.”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 4, 2012

This stay was paid with Marriott Reward points. The room was clean and seemed renovated in the last few years, I would rate the room a 2 star.. The outside of the hotel needs to be renovated, now! The staff was friendly and very informative. Our first room's air conditioner cooled at first but soon grew warmer and warmer. The maintenance staff came and played with the control panel. The A/C began cooling but soon produced the same warm air. We asked and were given another room with a working air conditioner but all they had were 2 double beds. If I had to pay for the room, I would not pay their rates. This must be the going rate for rooms in Key West. This would be a $59/night hotel any where else in the US.

Room Tip: Ask for a room in the rear of the hotel. Roosevelt St. is a busy thoroughfare.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, General Manager at Fairfield Inn and Suites Key West, responded to this review, June 22, 2012
We appreciate your assessment of our product and services. They are a great tool for us to use to move our overall package forward. Thank you for responding.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,017 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    334
    373
    191
    79
    40
See reviews for
294
414
18
38
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (248)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Brooklyn, NY
Top Contributor
99 reviews 99 reviews
42 hotel reviews
Reviews in 50 cities Reviews in 50 cities
66 helpful votes 66 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 3, 2012

In Key West primarily to take a side trip to the Dry Tortugas, we tried the Fairfield Inn and Suites; we sought reasonably priced accomodation convenient to the early morning (7:15 AM) check in time for the ferry to the National Park. In that regard, the Fairfield Inn & Suites couldn't have been much better unless we'd sprung for much more expensive accomodation within walking distance of the "Historic Marina". At about 7:00 AM, it took us only 7 minutes to drive to a parking garage convenient to the ferry office! (We found Dry Tortugas one of the most unusual National Parks we've ever visited, incidentally, and, for us, worth the expensive ferry trip of over two hour each way!)

Back at the Fairfield Inn, our room was clean and comfortable, and the hotel surrounds an attractive pool. The breakfast room is adjacent, so one can enjoy the included breakfast in pleasant surroundings pool-side.

That breakfast, though, is not one of the Fairfield Inn's better features. It's the typical Fairfield Inn breakfast, which we find inferior to it's main mid-range competitors, Holiday Inn Express and Hampton Inns. Fairfield Inns "feature" Jimmy Dean breakfast sandwiches, ready-to-microwave little bundles of egg, salt and saturated fats. Esthetics apart, at least at the competition one can choose what to have with one's eggs, leaving out or consuming whatever (breakfast meat, cheese, toast, etc.,) one chooses, while Jimmy packages them all together!

Also unlike those other chains, which offer 24 hour hot beverages in the lobby, this Fairfield Inn offers only very limited hours for beverages in the lobby. That seemed to us to symbolize a certain cheapness of the operation.

While the Fairfield Inn does have one elevator, it is quite far from many of the rooms. (Of course it's still welcome compared to many properties that have none!) The Fairfield Inn has free (unsecured) WiFi, which worked well during our stay; but, if important to you, note that no wired (and more secure) broadband is available.

Our (king bed) room was quite small. It had a stall shower, but no tub. The sink was outside the toilet/shower room, (an arrangement with advantages and disadvantages; one can use the sink while another uses the toilet or shower, but anyone using the sink will certainly disturb a partner still asleep). Incidentally, any suggestion that the Fairfield Inn is adjacent to water or a beach is something of an exageration; the property is on the land side of busy N. Roosevelt Blvd; lounging, sunbathing or swimming will be done in or around the pool,although, as already noted, it is an attractive pool.

To sum up, this may not be the luxury resort some of it's promotiol materials may suggest, but, to be fair, it also remains competitive with similarly priced and situated local accomodation, over-priced by the standards of less expensive locations, but not by Key West standards. A couple of pluses for this property; the free parking includes many spaces on the ground level, under the elevated building, which are shaded, no little benefit when the sun is bright and the temperatures soar. House-keeping of our room was well-done and consistent, with a clever refinement of the "do not disturb" sign; two are supplied, one requesting the room be made up later, the other requesting the room not be made up that day. We stayed during "spring break" period; during check-in it was gently but firmly made clear that disturbances would not be tolerated,and we had no problems during our stay, despite a number of college-age guests; some may have over-indulged, but they generally did so without inconvenience to others.

Staff were inconsistent; we were welcomed very pleasantly by the front desk staff who registered us, but some other desk clerks made it clear that guests' requests were a nuisance.

Room Tip: Rooms facing the beach have but partial water views across busy N. Roosevelt Blvd., but also will ha...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FFIKeyWest, Manager at Fairfield Inn and Suites Key West, responded to this review, April 10, 2012
Thank you for your extensive critique on our beautiful property. You certainly know what to look for. We hope that when you return to Key West, you will choose our hotel. It would be a pleasure to have the opportunity to serve you again and again.

Kind Regards,

Nick Durso
Sales Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greenville, South Carolina
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 1, 2012

Upon arrival I was warmly greeted and felt at home. The entire staff was attentive and cordial taking time to ask if everything was satisfactory and meeting expectations. My expectations were met and exceeded. Two staff members need honorable mention Pete the bartender and Beata front desk. Pete was very knowledgeable about the area and took the time to make recomendations for restaurants never disappointing. Beata always made time to ensure my stay was enjoyable and satisfactory. She went the extra mile to take the time to make me feel welcome. The atmosphere provided a relaxed and enjoyable vacation.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FFIKeyWest, Manager at Fairfield Inn and Suites Key West, responded to this review, April 2, 2012
Bill, thank you for your comments! Our team has been hand picked and given the ability to take ownership and implement executive decisions with confidence and a genuine concern. I am proud to hear these principles in action. We enjoy positive feedback from our guests, as it is a critical tool in measuring the success of our company. Thank you for taking the time to express your opinion for the world to see.

Kind Regards,

Nick Durso
Sales Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Austin, Texas
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 30, 2012

From the front desk greeting to the attendants at the breakfast bar, ALL employees were gracious and helpful

Room Tip: The front desk will help when and if they can
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FFIKeyWest, Manager at Fairfield Inn and Suites Key West, responded to this review, April 2, 2012
Thank you for your kind words, as it is truly our pleasure.

Kind Regards,

Nick Durso
Sales Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Clair Shores, Michigan
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 29, 2012

Staff was very friendly. Bar tender (I think his name was Peter) was excellent. Gave us recommendations for places to eat everywhere from Key West to Key Largo. We took him up on all of them and were never disappointed. Location is good. Very short drive to Duval or charter boats. Pool and free breakfast were great. Room had separate sitting room with TV. Good for early riser. AC was not window unit so was relatively quiet. Water pressure was low, but I have no issue with conservation. The only negative with this place was the lumpy bed (room 235). We did not get a great night's sleep on this bed.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FFIKeyWest, Manager at Fairfield Inn and Suites Key West, responded to this review, April 2, 2012
Scott, Thank you for bringing your room’s mattress issue to our attention. We apologize for any inconvenience. We will surely look into it! Pete has lived here for quite some time so would certainly know the hot spots. We encourage all our guests to express their Key West desires with our staff, as there are some things in town that we have coupons for at the Front Desk. We have reached out to many Key West restaurants and bars to extend discounts to our guests, just for staying with us. Thanks again and hurry back!

Kind Regards,

Nick Durso
Sales Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vineland, New Jersey
1 review
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 26, 2012

The first room we went to looked like it was from a relatively clean welfare hotel. The first thing you see as you enter is a ironing board hanging on the wall and tV and appliances just stacked up. The shower had no separation from the bathroom floor and a dirty looking curtain. The water in the upgraded room was barely enough to shave with. My worst hotel experience in many years.

Room Tip: Stay somewhere else.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FFIKeyWest, Manager at Fairfield Inn and Suites Key West, responded to this review, March 27, 2012
Thank you for your comments. It was unfortunate that you were unsatisfied with the accommodations we provide our guests, I apologize for any inconvenience you may have endured from staying at our wonderful property.

Kind Regards,

Nick Durso
Sales Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
fort worth
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 26, 2012

Overall found this hotel very clean and well maintained. We posted the magnet used to indicate no required maid service daily but upon our return each evening our room had been made up anyways. Not really a comlaint, just found it odd. We enjoyed the close proximity to all the local spots in town from this location. Front desk service was excellent. Upon our arrival the first night, the female clerk was very accommodating in allowing us to park our trailer and motorcycle in one spot and our truck adjacent. This has been an issue in the past when we have trailered our bike on other trips. Lots of places to rent bicycles and mopeds for touring town. We would definitely recommend this hotel to anyone staying in Key West!

  • Stayed March 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FFIKeyWest, Manager at Fairfield Inn and Suites Key West, responded to this review, April 2, 2012
Thank you for expressing your pleasant experience with our Front Desk Staff. They truly go the mile to make every guest as comfortable as humanly possible.

Kind Regards,

Nick Durso
Sales Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Fairfield Inn and Suites Key West? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fairfield Inn and Suites Key West

Address: 2400 North Roosevelt Boulevard, Key West, FL 33040
Location: United States > Florida > Florida Keys > Key West
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Green Hotel in Key West
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Fairfield Inn and Suites Key West 2.5*
Number of rooms: 106
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
NEWLY-RENOVATED! Fairfield Inn Key West Hotel has just completed a renovation! Experience new rooms with bright decor, plenty of natural light and perks such as in-room microwaves and mini-fridges. Our top-rated hotel features luxury amenities such as resort-style pool, cabanas and outdoor Tiki Bar at the Fairfield Inn value. You'll still get the convenient perks you've come to love including free WiFi and hot breakfast. Just minutes from Old Town and Duval Street, guests appreciate the quick ride using our onsite bike and scooter rental. Perfect for families, our suites offer extra space to spread out and some rooms even have private balconies! Enjoy the island life at Fairfield Inn Key West Hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Marriott, Booking.com, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Hotels.com so you can book your Fairfield Inn and Suites Key West reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Fairfield Inn And Suites Key West Hotel Key West
Fairfield Inn Key West
Fairfield Key West
Key West Fairfield Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Fairfield Inn and Suites Key West, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.