We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Glorified hotel” 2 of 5 stars
Review of The Inn at Key West

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added The Inn at Key West to your Saves list
The Inn at Key West
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   3420 North Roosevelt Boulevard, Key West, FL 33040   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Stay Longer & Save...
Ranked #28 of 46 Hotels in Key West
London
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“Glorified hotel”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 22, 2013 via mobile

This is no more than a glorified motel. Our room was small, dark and opened out straight onto a car park. Wouldn't have minded but we paid nearly $700 for a two night stay....definitely not worth it. The first night was also spoilt by someone in room 146 trying to break the door down at 1.30am in the morning. Reception were apparently told but it still went on for over 30 mins. Will not be returninh

Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jon H, General Manager at The Inn at Key West, responded to this review, February 25, 2013
Thank you for taking the time and providing us with your feedback. Please reach out to me at the hotel as I was able to speak to many of our guests that morning about the incident at the hotel.

Jon Hosey
General Manager
jonhosey@remingtonhotels.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,772 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    847
    561
    190
    92
    82
See reviews for
413
875
24
40
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (381)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Key West, Florida
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 22, 2013

As soon as we checked in the man at the desk (Chad) was unhelpful, grumpy and ignorant. The room and adjacent bathroom were mildly infested with little bugs roaming around the counters. Our room was out of range from the 'free Wi-Fi' and with businesses back home to care of, this was especially irritating. The noise level at night was intolerable to say the least with guests arriving often loudly and in a disorderly manner. Roadworks directly outside the hotel was an extra inconvenience where traffic was directed in one-way with little signage. Overall, our stay was very poor value for money and we would definitely not recommend this hotel to anyone looking to stay in the Key West area.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jon H, General Manager at The Inn at Key West, responded to this review, February 25, 2013
Thank you for taking the time in responding and providing us with your feedback. Please reach out to me as your comments are very concerning about Chad. I would also like to know your room location so we can fix the WiFi issue.

Jon Hosey
General Manager
jonhosey@remingtonhotels.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lockport, IL
Top Contributor
69 reviews 69 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 19, 2013

we stayed at the Inn for 6 nights from 2/6-2/12. The experience started a bit bumpy...we were early for check in and our room was not ready but again were early so that was fine, when we got our keys and went upstairs, the key did not work, after 2 more keys, they called maintenance and they were able to fix it..it really only took about 15 minutes....a little annoying but it seems like the locks are a problem for others too.....they did give us vouchers for free breakfasts so that was good. The rooms are spacious..bathrooms a bit tight but not bad--the rooms was nicely furnished, clean and up to date! Also, the rooms were very quiet--we were in a room (2nd floor) near the pool and also close to the lobby---we did not hear a thing. One weird thing is that there is no elevator...I guess by law they do not have to have one...was a pain to carry our luggage up and down...they did have someone who would help but not readily available.
The restaurant was cute..small but nice. The food was good..not gourmet but everthing was fresh and presented well. The pool bar was great too! The staff at both places was good--we especially liked talking with Lynn!
The BEST thing about this place is the pool----it was wonderful! There was plenty of chairs and loungers and the pool service was good too! the had these floating bean bag like chairs that were really cool---had not seem these before! AGAIN, the pool is awesome!!
The worst thing about this hotel is the location....it is right across from the ocean but there is no access and there was alot of construction...obviously not the hotels fault! The area surrounding the hotel is just OK and it is far from Duval street--we did ready about this and maped it out before we came so it was not a surprise...however, we thought there would be a way to walk to Duval.. (we are active people)...it is about a 30 minute walk. We did rent bikes and that was great---it was still a 20 min bike ride but that is the only way to go in my opinion! Also, every place is bike friendly and one of the best ways to get around and also work off some of the food and drinks!! We did take a cab a few times and it was about 20 bucks each way....so for people who want to cab it everyday it will get expensive. I think the hotel should get a shuttle to and from Duval...I saw other hotels that had them...maybe limited service but even if one way was free I think guests would appreciate it.

Room Tip: second floor in the main hotel--room 214-216 are great!
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jon H, General Manager at The Inn at Key West, responded to this review, February 21, 2013
Thank you for taking the time in responding and providing your valuable feedback. I will be using your feedback as training tools here at the hotel. Thank you for the kind comments regarding Lynn! We appreciate your business.

Jon Hosey
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tampa, Florida
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed February 18, 2013

My Wife and I stayed for valentines.
The hotel supervisor Chad was very rude. He ignored us at the counter he stood with his back turned leaning against the counter while discussing the scent of hand scrub sold at the hotel gift shop with another employee. When we checked-in the girl helping us was grumpy and acted like we were bothering her. not to mention her underwear sticking out of the back of her pants. Our room had not been cleaned yet so I was told it would take 20 minutes so we took our bags and went to the pool for 30 minutes. When I returned I was told it would be another 20 to 30 minutes, so we walked to the grocery store a couple of blocks away, when we came back an hour later and still nothing. Chad called housekeeping over the walkie talkie 4 times and no response the girl working the counter just shrugged her solders and said I haven't been able to get a hold of them all day. Then chad said he would go check the room himself after a while he returned telling me that it wasn't and I could just wait (WOW) check-in wasn't until 3 pm finally we got a room that smelled like mildew and the fridge was leaking on the carpet floor but I wasn't going to ask for help or a different room after the 2 hour seen up front.

Then after my wife and I got ready and were walking out to go for dinner a staff member at the front desk told me I needed to go see the pool bartender I had left without paying! (I never went to the pool bar) Chad comes and tells her it wasn’t me he had already dealt with it. Her response was I just assumed it was him from the description…

You'll have to take a cab to go anywhere and there is so much construction around the hotel you cant go straight there so the cab ride costs more than usual about $20.00 each way

Welcome to The Inn at key West!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jon H, General Manager at The Inn at Key West, responded to this review, February 19, 2013
I do appreciate you providing us with your feedback. I am concerned with the comments you have posted. I have spoken to Chad and JJ about this. Please reach out to me to discuss further as there are two sides to every story.

Jon Hosey
General Manager
jonhosey@remingtonhotels.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wellington, Canada
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 18, 2013

We stayed here for 2 days and wished we could stay longer, very clean, beautiful large pool, extremely friendly staff! Definitely plan to stay there again in the future. We will most certainly reccommend this inn to our friends and relatives heading to Key West area.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jon H, General Manager at The Inn at Key West, responded to this review, February 19, 2013
Thank you for your valuable feedback. We appreciate your business.

Jon Hosey
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 16, 2013

Stayed at this hotel for business. Just overnight, but it was a wonderful experience. Friendly staff, prompt service, great room, wonderful TV. It is a little far from Old Key West, but a great stay nevertheless. If they add some kind of transport to Duval, this would definitely be the NUMBER ONE spot to stay in Key West.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jon H, General Manager at The Inn at Key West, responded to this review, February 19, 2013
Thank you for taking the time in responding with your valuable feedback. We appreciate your business!

Jon Hosey
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Whitby
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 15, 2013

Great hotel, friendly staff.

Room was very clean, beautiful amenities. Very pretty pool area, and great Tiki bar and lunch service.
We booked last minute and this hotel was one of the few available, it was a little pricey, but in the end it was worth it.
The bathroom was beautiful with double shower heads - rain head and regular. Beds had several pillows, so you could choose which type of firmness you preferred.
The staff were very helpful with where we could park our car closer to Duval Street and recommended some great sightseeing tours.
It is within walking distance to some stores and restaurants, and when the construction out front is finished, will have a nice view.

Room Tip: Had a great room on the gound floor with a private patio. Rooms around the pool are quieter as the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jon H, General Manager at The Inn at Key West, responded to this review, February 19, 2013
Thank you for sharing your valuable feedback with us. We appreciate your business!

Jon Hosey
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to The Inn at Key West? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Inn at Key West

Address: 3420 North Roosevelt Boulevard, Key West, FL 33040
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Florida Keys > Key West
Amenities:
Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 On the Beach Hotel in Key West
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Inn at Key West 3.5*
Number of rooms: 106
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Sabre Hospitality Solutions, Otel, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, Hotwire and Hotels.com so you can book your The Inn at Key West reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Inn At Key West Hotel Key West
Hotel Key West
Inn Key West

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Inn at Key West, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.