We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful Place away from the crowd” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Banana Bay Resort - Key West

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Banana Bay Resort - Key West to your Saves list
Banana Bay Resort - Key West
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   2319 North Roosevelt Blvd, Key West, FL 33040   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #41 of 44 Hotels in Key West
Lisses
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Beautiful Place away from the crowd”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 21, 2009

Beautiful and relaxing place. We booked 4 nights in a deluxe guest room with a clean kitchen (fully equipped), comfy sofa and a tv set.In the next room, comfy bed, large closet.
I loved the "Bath and Body works" shower gel, shampoo, body lotions and soap we got every single day!
Tiki bar near the swimming pool/jacuzzi.
Book today!
Virginie Ars-Marini,France

  • Stayed February 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
kwbay, General Manager at Banana Bay Resort - Key West, responded to this review, June 29, 2009
Thank you for your wonderful review! We look forward to seeing you on your return trip to Key West!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

464 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    77
    156
    103
    58
    70
See reviews for
46
251
7
8
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (71)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Albuquerque, New Mexico
Top Contributor
119 reviews 119 reviews
51 hotel reviews
Reviews in 60 cities Reviews in 60 cities
74 helpful votes 74 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 20, 2009

Spent two nights here at the recommendation of a friend who stayed here before. It was just fine except that the bar is closed on Monday and Tuesday--the days we were there. But, really, who wants to drink at the hotel when there are so many places in town. It is over a mile from town, so it is quite a hike if you walk, but not impossible. Room was clean and large. Signs as you leave the pool area say that clothes are required "beyond this point" so I assume that the pool is clothing optional if that is what you want. Internet available only in lobby and the breakfast room.

  • Stayed April 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
kwbay, General Manager at Banana Bay Resort - Key West, responded to this review, May 7, 2009
Thank you for your comments on Banana Bay! You correct in that clothing is required every where in the hotel, we are however topless optional in the pool area. We look forward to seeing you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WNC
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 28, 2009

Beautiful and relaxing. Loved the tropical decor, bed was comfortable, bunnies on the property were so sweet! Nice to have a mini fridge and coffee maker in room and smoking on balcony with water view. Easy parking and away from the hustle of town yet only a quick drive to everything. Only one day out of three had any topless exhibitioners at the pool, would probably have been less happy with the stay if it had been more than that.

  • Stayed March 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
kwbay, General Manager at Banana Bay Resort - Key West, responded to this review, March 29, 2009
Thank you for your wonderful review! Here at Banana Bay we strive to offer quality service at an affordable rate and love to hear your feedback about your stay. We look forward to seeing you again soon and the bunnies say hello!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Asheville, North Carolina
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 24, 2009

After reading all the reviews and looked at tons of pictures of this hotel, I was a little skeptical, but I fell in love with this place!!! My boyfriend and I stayed here last weekend for one night (3/20/09) and were very happy. If you go to their website, you'll notice that there aren't really any pictures of the front or outside of the hotel- that's because it's not that impressive (I didn't expect much). All of the pictures are of the outside of the hotel (marina and pool), or the rooms which were all VERY nice! I mean, that's really all that matters, right? They could do some work on the front/outside of the hotel. When you drive up, you might think it's not gonna be great, but trust me, it is!! If you go there and don't expect to have a 5 star resort, you'll be happy with it. Once you get to the back of the hotel, there is a lot of shrubbery that give it a really tropical feel to it. The pool is super nice and so is the marina. The rooms have a great, tropical feel to them and the beds are really comfortable. Some of the cons: continental breakfast not anything great (typical cereal, muffins and donuts) and the jacuzzi reeked of clorine (but we still spent 20 minutes in it, so it wasn't unbearable). I would definitely go back to this hotel (and I wanted to after leaving)!! Definitely stay here and you won't regret it!!

P.S. The bed bugs posts are NOT true! I didn't have any bug bites when I woke up. :)

  • Stayed March 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
kwbay, General Manager at Banana Bay Resort - Key West, responded to this review, March 26, 2009
Thank you so much for your wonderful review! We look forward to seeing you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cleveland Ohio
Top Contributor
56 reviews 56 reviews
32 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 4, 2009

My husband and I recently stayed at this very quaint adult resort, we just disembarct from a seven day cruise from Hell aboard MSC Cruises (don't ever go on this cruise) and we stumbled upon this nice place. The room was nice with a balcony overlooking the pool. It was cold when we were in Key West but the hot tub was great. There is a private bay as well. The staff was great too!

  • Stayed February 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lincoln, ne
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 3, 2009

i was sceptical after reading the reviews, but after staying there i have learned that some people just need something to complain about. this place was great. its not the Hilton but then again your not paying the Hilton price. the service was great, loved the tiki bar, i do wish it stayed open longer than 7pm though. rooms were clean. i requested a room overlooking the pool and they accommodated me. the young lady at the front desk was very helpful and informing of the whole key west area, gave us the do's and don'ts. its an adult atmosphere so you dont have to worry about kids screaming and running around. it is a clothing optional pool area, which is a good thing, did not see any old men running around naked, which was good, only young ladies with nice bodies topless. great location away from the hustle and bustle, but only a $10 dollar taxi ride down to duval st. nice beach area with lawn chairs overlooking the bay. i will definitely stay there next time i am in key west.

  • Stayed February 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa, Ontario, Canada
Top Contributor
69 reviews 69 reviews
59 hotel reviews
Reviews in 58 cities Reviews in 58 cities
58 helpful votes 58 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed March 2, 2009

We had the "cabana" # 305 for 3 nights ($159 us/night). This is a one bedroom apartment with a kitchenette in the living room. The place is a complete run down (all beat up). Everything is either broken or filthy (or both). The bed with clean sheets was terrible. We are not usually picky. If it is clean and comfy, we'll take it. But this time the only positive points were; we had a (dirty) kitchen and the pool/lounge chairs were near the door. Even the pool was cold and not taken care of. With a tiny whirlpool. There is a sort of sandy beach above sea level (like a deck) but absolutely no swimming in this ocean. The fridge took hours to cool off. The door lock was smashed. The windows were broken, some screens missing. Blinds were not working either. Could not open them. Light fixtures broken. Wall papers stained and ripped. Rugs disgusting. Tons of mini ants did not help either. Rusty dirty tub/sink. It was really an expensive ( US $ versus canadian $ dollars) and frustrating experience.

  • Stayed February 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Banana Bay Resort - Key West? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Banana Bay Resort - Key West

Address: 2319 North Roosevelt Blvd, Key West, FL 33040
Location: United States > Florida > Florida Keys > Key West
Amenities:
Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#12 On the Beach Hotel in Key West
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Banana Bay Resort - Key West 2.5*
Number of rooms: 48
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Two-Story Hotel situated directly on the Gulf of Mexico in a tropical garden setting. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com, Otel, Booking.com, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Banana Bay Resort - Key West reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Banana Bay Resort - Key West Hotel Key West
Banana Bay Hotel Key West
Banana Bay Key West

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Banana Bay Resort - Key West, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.