We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Average older hotel good value” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Banana Bay Resort - Key West

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Banana Bay Resort - Key West to your Saves list
Banana Bay Resort - Key West
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   2319 North Roosevelt Blvd, Key West, FL 33040   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #45 of 46 Hotels in Key West
Alexandria, Louisiana, United States
Top Contributor
127 reviews 127 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 40 cities Reviews in 40 cities
51 helpful votes 51 helpful votes
“Average older hotel good value”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 3, 2013 via mobile

We spent 4 days during Fantasy Fest & the Banana Bay is a good value for the price in Key West.
Wi-Fi is only available in the lobby, grounds are kept clean & did enjoy the Spa coming back late 1 night from Duval Street which is 1.8 miles distant but a very easy ride on the little 50cc Scooter we rented

Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

527 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    81
    180
    120
    66
    80
See reviews for
52
282
9
8
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (81)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Mumbai
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 31, 2013

The hotel looks old from outside.The room smelled due to old furniture. also the bathroom was old.The real beauty was the bay front. We did not see this as it was raining when we checked in..but next day morning, it was clear and looked very beautiful..Breakfast is served in the hotel..they do not have too much options but you cant complain either..hotel is far from Duvval street and you will need a car to get there..its quite expensive like anything else in Keywest..

Room Tip: choose a bay facing room on the second floor..above the place where breakfast is served.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Meriden, Connecticut
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 29, 2013

We've stayed all over and have read all kinds of reviews about some of the places we've stayed, but I'm glad I didn't book our trip based upon all the negative comments people have posted about this place.

Being from New England, let me inform people that ocean air ruins everything from metal to wood, to painted surfaces. Have you ever been on a cruise and not seen the crew always painting something?

We were greeted with a smile when we checked in well before our check-in time, and given a room with a view of both the pool and the bay. Our room and bathroom were clean, the A/C worked well and the bed was comfortable. What more could you ask for?

The front desk was helpful, and called a cab for us when we asked. They let us store our luggage after checking out so we could use the pool before catching our late flight. The pool and hot tub were cleaned each morning.

Each morning we started our day with our juice, bagels, waffles fresh off the iron, coffee and danish. They were great at restocking items as needed.

Was it the Ritz? No. But it was what I would expect at a seaside hotel/motel, a clean and comfortable hotel with

Room Tip: Room 117 was fantastic!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fernandina Beach, Florida
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 21, 2013

The hotel it self isn't bad... however they somehow charged us 4 different times for our room. They were all so unwilling to help! We go there every year and this is the first time weve had a problem with them. We will not be going back. The manager confused herself to the point that she had to get her boss involved & even then we still got charged yet another time! The problem still isn't fixed and we are now having to get our banks involved.

The night security guard also made us leave the pool at 11 because apparently the pool closes at 10. Its fantast fest week and we are already paying triple the normal rates! On top of them charging our cards 4 times! Again, we will not be going back.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oslo, Norway
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 20, 2013

We stayed there for on night. Before arriving we had ordered and prepaid a twin bed room.
The resort didn't give us a twin bed room when we arived and when I complant about this they said that didn't have twin bed rooms at all and that it was a mistake made by the page we have ordered the room from.

This made me so angry that I went out to find another place to stay. When i came back to cancel our room they suddenly had a twin bed room even through they earliere proclaimed that they didn't and that they would not give any refund if we choose to cancel the room.

So we choose to stay for a single night even though we would have prefered to move to another hotel. In general it is not a bad place, just bad service.
But in my opinion way to expensive in comparison to the hotel standard and location.

Room Tip: Check your booking and don't settle for less than ordered.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2013

We stayed in room 209 with a small view of the pool and waterfront. The pool/jacuzzi area is nice and clothing-optional. The waterfront is good for relaxing briefly but there is no sand or water activity here; it is NOT a beach. Breakfast is included but limited to bagels, muffins, cereal, and a waffle machine; they were out of coffee both mornings we went. The room included a cute canopy bed, TV, fridge, microwave, and small balcony. The bathroom was small with a stained counter and fidgety sink faucet. There was free wifi in the lobby but no wifi at all in our room. The walk to Duval is a bit long so we ended up renting a scooter (which I highly recommend!!). There are no obvious good food or grocery options within short walking distance (the closest was a Checkers across the highway). Overall, we enjoyed our stay and the pool/waterfront area, but next time we will probably spend a little more to be closer to Duval.

Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Crystal River, Florida
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 5, 2013

Stayed at this resort last spring and I can't understand why it only gets three stars. It's an excellent resort which is close to the downtown district. The rooms are large. Great view of the pool and gulf from our room. The beach area was clean and well maintained. the other nice thing for us being retired is that there are no children allowed under 16. Free continental breakfast. My only minor complaint was that the only wi fi reception is in the breakfast room.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...

Been to Banana Bay Resort - Key West? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Banana Bay Resort - Key West

Address: 2319 North Roosevelt Blvd, Key West, FL 33040
Location: United States > Florida > Florida Keys > Key West
Amenities:
Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#13 On the Beach Hotel in Key West
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Banana Bay Resort - Key West 2.5*
Number of rooms: 48
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Two-Story Hotel situated directly on the Gulf of Mexico in a tropical garden setting. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Hotels.com and getaroom.com so you can book your Banana Bay Resort - Key West reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Banana Bay Resort - Key West Hotel Key West
Banana Bay Hotel Key West
Banana Bay Key West

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Banana Bay Resort - Key West, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.