We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good Hotel in Key West” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Banana Bay Resort - Key West

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Banana Bay Resort - Key West to your Saves list
Banana Bay Resort - Key West
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   2319 North Roosevelt Blvd, Key West, FL 33040   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #44 of 46 Hotels in Key West
Carrollton, Georgia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Good Hotel in Key West”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 7, 2013

We were very pleased with our stay at Banana Bay. It was very clean and nice. Everyone on the staff treated us well. It is an adults only resort simply so that those who do not want to share their space with children do not have to. It pretty much had a family feel even though no children were allowed. I was disappointed that they no longer have a business center with a pc guests can use. That is probably the current trend since most people have devices to connect with wifi. I just haven't caught up with that trend yet.

Room Tip: Didn't try restaurant or room service while there.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

520 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    80
    177
    119
    65
    79
See reviews for
51
278
9
8
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (80)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Long Island,NY
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 7, 2013 via mobile

Originally booked for their sister hotel the Bayside Inn but they had issues so sent us here. Tons of construction going on around hotel so difficult to get find and get into. The rooms were big and clean but carpet had tons of big stains so i never took off my flip flops- yuck! didn't realize until the next morning that they had a gym or beach area since they just checked us in w/out talking to us or giving us a map if the resort. Continental bkfast was very basic and no one can get waffles done correctly or drink the watered down juice. Pool was nice and beach area wasn't for jumping into. If not planning to stay in resort it's ok... Otherwise find another place.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hollywood
2 reviews
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 2, 2013

I had a very bad room with smell of mold, carpet was so durty and old, AC too noisy, kitchen did not have any silverware, bathroom had rusted spots on the flore. No management on weekends. Look like very cheep motel, but cost... Stay away, dont waste your money.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brooksville, FL
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 27, 2013

Dear Travelers, Stay AWAY from this hotel--was absolutely horrible. We rented 3 nights for mini-lobster season, and the only positive thing about this--is having a boat-slip for your boat. However, during our stay, another boat kept taking our boat-slip, and we had to complain to manager until it finally got straightened out last day. Had a window air-conditioner that would not cool room down. The bathroom water decreased to a "dribble" if your next door neighbor was showering. Toilet clogged & had to retrieve a plunger from office.The fabric on the "so-called pullout sofa queen bed" was all stained and uncomfortable. Maid service dropped off towels and shampoo but no fresh linens. The oven was so OLD could not read the dials that control burners & oven--surprised the oven even worked--the so-called stocked kitchen had 3 plates, 3 bowls, & 3 coffee cups. The kitchen was stocked with 1 fork, 1 knife, and 3 each plates, bowls, and cups. We grilled our lobster behind the hotel, and there was a couple IN pool that looked like they were having sex...Very shocked & disappointed that there are such hotels as this these days--couldn't have been more disappointed--and paid $500.00 for 3 nights thru Orbitz--was shocked.....Reservation made last minute.

Room Tip: Be specific about having a room with central air--The pictures on their website, show the newly reno...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Myers, Florida
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2013 via mobile

at the last minut at the last minute and got a suite for the regular price. The room was a decent size  and the grounds were cool. Pool allows naked swimming if you want. They have a hot tub and seats on the bay that you can enjoy. Lots of road construction right now. Free breakfast was good enough. You will have to taxi or drive downtown. The fridge was nice to keep beer. More like a motel but it was ok to sleep in.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mount Pleasant, South Carolina
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 13, 2013

Beware - we were so horrified by Banana Bay in Key West that we couldn't stay there (and we are not picky people) and are now fighting to try to get our money back from the third party online booking site. When we saw the room, we immediately contacted the front desk that we would be leaving, then spent the next hour on hold for the online booking site, another half hour talking with them, then left. We found another hotel on our own, right on Duval and for only $30 more. Banana Bay is telling the online booking web site that we stayed the entire night, so we are having a big dispute to get a refund. We are not picky people but this place has some really really bad rooms. The front desk person told us that there are nicer rooms but they were all booked. So, don't take a chance and risk not getting your money back - avoid Banana Bay at all costs!!!

Room Tip: Do not book with Banana Bay!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mims, Florida
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 13, 2013

My husband and I have been staying at Banana Bay for over 15 years mostly because we can bring one of our dogs with us. I haven't been there in about 18 months, and was pleasantly surprised by the appearance of Banana Bay. It is looking very clean and "fixed up" - you can tell the staff is doing a great job on the overall maintenance of the resort. I'd even say it's looking the best it has in over 5 years. The rooms are very fresh smelling and the beds have been improved, including the linens and lamps, etc. The bathrooms could use a update, but everything still worked just fine. I would highly recommend Banana Bay if you want to stay away from "old town" and get a good value for your money. There is major construction on the road out front, but that was no big deal.

Room Tip: We always use a wheelchair accessible room (107 or 108). The view from all the rooms is very pleasa...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Banana Bay Resort - Key West? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Banana Bay Resort - Key West

Address: 2319 North Roosevelt Blvd, Key West, FL 33040
Location: United States > Florida > Florida Keys > Key West
Amenities:
Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#13 On the Beach Hotel in Key West
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Banana Bay Resort - Key West 2.5*
Number of rooms: 48
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Two-Story Hotel situated directly on the Gulf of Mexico in a tropical garden setting. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Odigeo, EasyToBook, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com and Hotels.com so you can book your Banana Bay Resort - Key West reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Banana Bay Resort - Key West Hotel Key West
Banana Bay Hotel Key West
Banana Bay Key West

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Banana Bay Resort - Key West, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.