We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place and value” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Banana Bay Resort - Key West

Save Saved
You added Banana Bay Resort - Key West to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Banana Bay Resort - Key West
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   2319 North Roosevelt Blvd, Key West, FL 33040   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #38 of 41 hotels in Key West
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Great place and value”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 1, 2013

After reading several positive reviews and comparing prices we decided to stay here and am glad we did. The hotel is not near Duval Street so if you don't like walking this isn't the place for you however it's 1.5 miles and its an easy walk. Getting a cab was easy and it cost 10 bucks which we did to come back to the hotel. The hotel is adult only which we loved, it was secluded with it's own beachy area on the bay side with lounge chairs. the rooms were big and clean. They use bath and bodyworks soaps and shampoos. They had canopy beds and private lanai's. We were very satisfied with the hotel and would stay here again for sure. The only gripe is the construction they are doing in front of the hotel (could not hear anything however) and it was difficult to get around that part of the area.

Room Tip: request a room overlooking the pool, you'll also get a view of the bay
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

430 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    72
    147
    87
    56
    68
See reviews for
41
229
7
8
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (66)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Richmond, Virginia
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 14, 2013

When our dog sitter backed out on us we booked all our rooms through bringfido.com. Banana Bay Resort was one that would accept our pet. We had a blast. The room was great. Loved the island decor. Opend over the pool and beach. All the staff was friendly and helpful. Morning breakfast was more than plenty. Yes they are doing quite a bit of constrution - but that is not the fault of Banana Bay - they have done their best to make getting to their hotel as easy as possible. I am sure the staff at Banana Bay are not happy with thier road being torn up either. It is an easy trip from Banana Bay to all tourist locations and lower keys. We look forward to returning in the future. FYI - We have a 15 lb (13 year old) Pom named Bear. He had a blast too and loved all of the attention from the staff!

Room Tip: Be specifice about view and type of room. We were able to select our room on the website - BringFid...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Paul, Minnesota
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 8, 2013

We paid just under $200 a night at a very busy time of year: a very good price compared to surrounding properties. Room was well cleaned and we were upgraded to a 'suite'. Despite the description offered on the site we booked we also got a basic breakfast (think Hilton garden inn, disposable plates and cutlery) was included. But:

Like others our room had a strong smell mildew - gradually got used to that
The in room air conditioner was about to throw its bearings and *very* noisy. Bad sleep because you're hot or noise - pick your poison
The building we were in 'marina suites' was showing its age: holes in dry wall, loose & leaking faucets etc.

The construction on Roosevelt is scheduled for another two years apparently - that didn't really bother but might some. Pool was open when we were there (although not heated so bracing)

So, if you're a heavy sleeper or it's cool, maybe worth it if you get a good price. Definitely rent bikes so you can get into old town. Would I stay again? Probably not, the price would have to be extremely competitive to tempt me and I would plan as many off site activities as possible!

Room Tip: Ask for one with a decent quiet air con unit!
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chapel Hill
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 7, 2013

Key West during the winter has been historically difficult to find hotel availability in. Banana Bay did have availability, whereas other locations did not. However, all other aspects of our stay were unpleasant. North Roosevelt Blvd in Key West is under construction during the time of our stay and made the property somewhat difficult to get into, which although annoying, is not something that the establishment can control.

The entrance, or lobby, is poorly and shabbily decorated and does not appear to have been updated in over 30 years. There was only a single staff member on duty who neither greeted us and decided to answer a telephone after being asked a direct question, without so much as an "excuse me" or other pleasantry. The pool area in the pictures is apparently under construction and was not available and could not even be seen as it was behind an 8 foot tall wooden fence. The grounds were not kept up and there was a great deal of loose construction and boating hardware strewn around the property. The buildings appear to have been originally constructed in the 1950's or 60's and also appear to have been updated only once during the intervening years. The front door for our room had a bathroom style handle along with a deadbolt lock which were opened with keys, not cards. If the deadbolt lock had not been present, a strong push would have opened the door even while locked. Both the deadbolt and the door handle were badly corroded, having been exposed to the elements for a great many years. The exterior paint was also showing signs of years of exposure to the elements. The interior was shabby with a mildew smell and a very noise window unit air conditioner. The bathroom fixtures also showed signs of extreme use and had many stains. One of the towel racks in the bathroom appears to have been torn out of the wall and the bolt holes and sheet rock were obvious. The entire feel of the property is something akin to a Motel 6 or other economy establishment and had the charge for our room been in the forty dollar range, this review would not have been necessary. I have to laugh at the photographs of the property as I cannot tell that they are even the same location.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chapel Hill, North Carolina, United States
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 7, 2013

As soon as we saw the hotel we said OMG as we paid $270 per night. The room was hard to describe. As soon as we entered in the room we felt the heavy smell (I was afraid to find a death animal). The room was filthy and very old. I don't think that they ever repaired the room since it was built 50 years ago. There was a whole on the wall. One good thing was the bed sheets !! IT WAS CLEAN. The restroom was filthy ..I don't think that anybody cleaned the toilet seat before us. The bath top was also dirty and old.
Since it was a busy weekend we had to stay in the hotel (besides we didn't sleep 30 hours before our night in Banana Bay Resort). So, we stayed. We only saw the receptionist. She wasn't very responsive or friendly. So, never stay there..

Room Tip: It is over priced.If the hotel was $20 dollars per night it will be reasonable price. I was afraid...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shelbyville, Michigan
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 5, 2013

We made a late decision to visit Key West, and most of our first choice hotels were already booked (we had been to Key West about 5 times before, and always enjoyed staying within walking distance of Duval). About two weeks before our planned visit, we finally booked a room at this resort, which is a big mile from downtown...not within walking distance for us. The person who took my reservation wouldn't guarantee a pool side room...which was pretty important to us. She said she would put down that we "desired" a pool side room.

We arrived at 8:30 am on our first scheduled day hoping our early arrival would get us a pool side room. SInce the hotel was filled from the previous night, we couldn't check in early. We told her we'd be back in a few hours, and reminded her of our request for pool side. She still wouldn't guarantee it saying that we'd get whatever was available at the time.

We called back about 11:00 am to inquire about the status of a room. To our pleasant surprise, she said she had a pool side room that was ready. (As a side note, most of their "pool side" rooms simply overlook the pool...you don't just walk out of your room onto the pool deck.)

Anyway, our room had a great view (room 211) of the pool area and you could even see the bay thru the trees. We were happy with the location of the room, and as it turns out, it's proximity to Duval.

Here's the pluses from our stay:
-quiet and peaceful atmosphere
-outdated, but clean room
-pretty well maintained pool area and "beach" area. Groundskeeper was there every day tidying up these areas.
-close to a Publix and K Mart (for beer, food, and personal need items at reasonable prices)
-strong security presence at night....the security person was on constant patrol around the grounds, checking behind building, bushes, etc with his flashlight.
-got immediate response to an issue with our TV even though it was 9:00 pm

Here's some opportunities:
-bell assistance for getting bags to rooms...especially for the second level rooms (no elevator)
-updating rooms and/or minor maintenance on existing (loose wall paper in bathroom)
-we were disappointed that the Tikki Bar wasn't open, but understood why...there were never enough guests around to justify having a person there tending bar.
-"do not disturb" tags for the door handles. Housekeeping simply knocked on your door, not knowing if you were sleeping, or if you even wanted service.

If you're looking for a quiet, laid back, Key West experience, this is the place for you. It's a short distance to Duval, but probably not within walking distance for most people. The beach is pretty much shaded all day, and you wouldn't want to swim there....too many rocks, weeds, etc. The pool area is nice and offers sunshine most of the day. Even though it's advertised as an "adults only" resort, we didn't experience any "jaw dropping" behavior...just a few women suntanning without their tops. I would go back to this resort.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Clovis, California, United States
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 4, 2013

We had a great time on the Florida Keys. Banana Bay was a good location for us to enjoy up and down the Keys in three days. The resort was nice with a nice pool area. Our room could have been nice but the carpets were not very clean. Also our room was pretty dark so if you stay there be sure to ask for a room with a balcony that will give you more light.

Room Tip: Ask for a room away from the highway and with a balcony.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Banana Bay Resort - Key West? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Banana Bay Resort - Key West

Address: 2319 North Roosevelt Blvd, Key West, FL 33040
Location: United States > Florida > Florida Keys > Key West
Amenities:
Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#12 On the Beach Hotel in Key West
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Banana Bay Resort - Key West 2.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Two-Story Hotel situated directly on the Gulf of Mexico in a tropical garden setting. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Booking.com, Tingo, Travelocity, Priceline, Hotels.com, getaroom.com, BookingOdigeoWL, Otel and Venere so you can book your Banana Bay Resort - Key West reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Banana Bay Resort - Key West Hotel Key West
Banana Bay Hotel Key West
Banana Bay Key West

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Banana Bay Resort - Key West, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.