We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best Value In Key West” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Banana Bay Resort - Key West

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Banana Bay Resort - Key West to your Saves list
Banana Bay Resort - Key West
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   2319 North Roosevelt Blvd, Key West, FL 33040   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #44 of 46 Hotels in Key West
Galloway, Ohio
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Best Value In Key West”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 8, 2012

The Banana Bay Resort is certainly not the Ritz-Carlton. However, this resort provides the best value for a Key West vacation that I have yet to experience. Quiet, with a friendly staff and a nice little beach offering wonderful views. The pool area is wonderful as well. The rooms could certainly use some TLC, but, they are spacious and very clean. The bed's are very unique. It would be my suggestion to call ahead and request that your room have a private deck and poolside if possible. This is a resort that I definitely intend to return to. An additional suggestion would be to rent a scooter as the hotel is a bit off of the beaten path. We used Tropical Rentals as they offered the best scooter's for the price and have great early week deals.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

516 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    79
    175
    118
    65
    79
See reviews for
51
275
9
8
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (79)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Meriden, Connecticut
Top Contributor
81 reviews 81 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 30, 2012

The area has road construction right now that will be lasting for nearly 2 years that made getting to this hotel a nightmare. The office was hard to find once there because it is not connected to the building. The room was clean but needs updating. Bathroom very dated, had to buy allen wrench to tighten lock screws on room door because maintenance never responded. Did see a couple of bugs in bathroom one night. The location is very quiet. The pool is gorgeous with a jacuzzi and a private beach area and gazebo. Nude sunbathing at the pool if desired since it is very, very private. Pool hours say until sunset but we used the Jacuzzi later with no issues. For the price it is a good value since other hotels in this area with less amenities are more than 30-50% more $$. There was an adequate continental breakfast and a small fitness room. Wi-FI is only available near the pool or in the continental breakfast room since they only have simple wireless router. Overall for the price we would stay there again.

Room Tip: 2nd floor has better view of pool and grounds.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Key West FL
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 28, 2012

We stayed here in July. I had no issues with the A/C and our room was clean, short of a hair inside the tub (I've seen a lot worse in my travels).

Clothing optional pool area.

Wish they had the tiki bar open, but we just went up to the store and brought our beers in.

Cannot beat the price

It is very quiet area tucked away on N. Roosevelt, far from the loud noise and crowds downtown

Room Tip: Get a room facing the pool, it has a nice balcony
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 25, 2012

We arrived and were greeted by a rather sullenly lady who barely cracked a smile. we needed a crib for our little boy to which she said there wouldn't be one in the room and she wasn't even sure if they had one. The maintenance man thankfully brought us one quickly but we had to chase up a sheet for it. I have to say though that the lady who was on in the mornings when we were there was lovely and helpful.
Our room was right at the front overlooking the road but shielded by the undergrowth, it smelt of smoke and my initial thought was that it looked quite tired all around, with stains on the carpet, dated fixtures and fittings, peeling wallpaper, etc. at least the bed sheets were all clean and the towels. The aircon was noisy but that didnt worry us too much.The tiki bar and restaurant was all closed which the lady who booked us in had failed to tell us. The pool was a good size but we didn't spend any time there.
Glad we only stayed there a short time.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tampa, Florida
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed November 8, 2012

I stayed for one night last week and experienced a bad, sleepless night. first when i went for check in, receptionist took 45 min to give room keys though i booked the room a week before. I got a suite though i booked a regular room as they were NA that day and the blinds for the windows are in a very poor condition and the outsiders can view clearly bedroom. And in the middle of the night, a stranger under ?alcohol influence banged my door and i called the Security, but he could not manage him and we ended up calling local sheriff and bottom line my family had a sleepless night. And next morning the hotel manager was reluctant to talk to us about the night's issue. So i think this hotel is not a safe place for families. So be careful before you decide to spend a night there.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Key Largo, Florida
Top Contributor
67 reviews 67 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2012

I had purchased thru a website that didn't know the name of property until you provided a credit card. But was excellent price for Key West Hotel. Banana Bay rooms were tropical or island decorated with wicker/bamboo type furniture, complete with canapy bed with mosquito netting 'decor'. Room had balcony, mini fridge, microwave and a sink/counter combo in the room making close to an effeciency. Pets were allowed as we saw many guests walking theirs. Waterfront with pool and included continental breakfast. Not far from Old Town in Key West, near the Historic Charter Row of fishing boats.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Top Contributor
117 reviews 117 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 45 cities Reviews in 45 cities
77 helpful votes 77 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

This is a very nice hotel for couples and adults (no kids) and most of the room with pool view. Bed, bathroom, parking all good. Breakfast not bad.. but the best part that it is on the water and you can sit while having breakfast or evening facing the water. Bar was close because it was October an not too busy. On the other side of the building there are other units also on the water. The only nad thing was there was no WIFI in the rooms, even though when we booked online it indicated wifi, but it turn out to be the wifi is only available near the front desk, which is in another building and not close to the rooms. It wan't convineance not to have WIFI since we needed to explore the area and find out more about our next destination. 4-star only because there was no WIFI, othewise all was nice.

Room Tip: As far as i remember rooms 210->up over loking the pool.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Banana Bay Resort - Key West? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Banana Bay Resort - Key West

Address: 2319 North Roosevelt Blvd, Key West, FL 33040
Location: United States > Florida > Florida Keys > Key West
Amenities:
Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#14 On the Beach Hotel in Key West
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Banana Bay Resort - Key West 2.5*
Number of rooms: 48
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Two-Story Hotel situated directly on the Gulf of Mexico in a tropical garden setting. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com, Hotels.com, Odigeo, EasyToBook and TripOnline SA so you can book your Banana Bay Resort - Key West reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Banana Bay Resort - Key West Hotel Key West
Banana Bay Hotel Key West
Banana Bay Key West

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Banana Bay Resort - Key West, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.