We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Another great day with Captain Dan and Garrett” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Key West Fishing Connection - Private Charters

Key West Fishing Connection - Private Charters
Amberjack Pier, Slip 6, Key West, FL 33040
305.393.0566
Website
Improve this listing
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Davie, Florida
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 attraction reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Another great day with Captain Dan and Garrett”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2013

This is the second time I have fished with Cptn. Dan and Garrett. We wanted to do some live bait reef and wreck fishing. The pin fish traps were full but we also wanted some nice live baits for the surface. Captain Dan found the thread herring and Garrett worked the sabiki rigs and loaded up the live well and we headed offshore. The water was crystal clear but the fishing started out slow due to a lack of current. We had to move around a few times but Captain Dan and Garrett were persistent and eventually got our rods bending. We caught a nice mixed bag of fish including large mutton snappers, amberjacks, sharks, kingfish, barracuda, Bonitos and ceral mackerels. We also lost several fish to the predators lurking below which is expected. Thanks for another great day on the blue water!

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

144 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    140
    0
    2
    1
    1
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Tampa, Florida
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
7 attraction reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Great day in the blue water!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2013

Spent the day trolling in the beautiful blue water about 7-10 miles off of Key West with Captain Dan and First Mate Garrett. We had a great day and Dan and Garrett made it fun and easy. We caught mahi mahi, black fin tuna, a barracuda, and lots of bonito. Garrett filleted the fish for us and we had an amazing "eat your catch" dinner at the Roof Top Cafe. We will definitely be back to land some Marlin and Sailfish! Thank you Dan and Garrett! There are a lot of charter boats to choose from in Key West, but this one should be at the top of your list.

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
“Best deep sea fishing trip I have experienced.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 28, 2013

Great day in Key West. Capt Dan and Firstmate Garrett treated us with great service and great fishing experience. Biggest and most fish ever for me in deep sea fishing. Fish almost jumping in the boat. Mutton Snapper and Black Grouper. Capt Dan was even kind enough to tell us about Dantes Restaurant in Key West were we had some of our catch prepared for us grilled, blackened, and fried. All was great. What a great day and vacation.

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ringgold, Georgia, United States
1 review
“Awesome day with Capt'n Dan and Garrett”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 27, 2013

My first time on the water in 40 years. Needless to say I'm not a fisherman. My daughters boyfriend booked us with Captain Dan and his deck hand Garrett. These guys are awesome! My lack of experience was evident but with their patience and guidance I caught my share. Had to work hard to keep the sharks from eating our catch. Actually hooked one of those to. If fishing is your thing or if you're a rookie like me these are the guys! Thanks guys for a great and memorable experience! Charlie

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver, Colorado, United States
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Key Fishing”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 26, 2013

This was a quality experience, and turned out to be the highlight of the holiday. We had 2 days fishing with Dan and Gerrat- the second unplanned, but booked spontaneously following an incredible first day.

We caught 5 sharks- including bringing one on board for photos. Didn't expect to reel in such a beast, but Dan's know-how made it easy for this group of novices.

The other reviews accurately capture the euphoria of the trips- but 2 stand out features of the trip are the confidence of Dan that you'll catch fish, and the freedom that you have on the boat. Dan's very relaxed and flexible- time of departure, where you chill on the boat, what sort of fish you catch. There's no script, and you don't feel as if the clock is ticking. There is a plan B too, as we found out on day 2.

Just do it- 100 times better than eating Key Lime Pie in town, and better for you too.

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Key West Fishing Connection - Private Charters also viewed

 

Been to Key West Fishing Connection - Private Charters? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Key West Fishing Connection - Private Charters, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.