We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful last minute booking!!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Artist House

Save Saved
You added Artist House to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Artist House
3.5 of 5 Bed and Breakfast   |   534 Eaton Street, Key West, FL 33040   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #10 of 98 Key West B&B and Inns
Port Dover, Canada
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Wonderful last minute booking!!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 24, 2013

A last minute plan to head down to the Keys landed us at Artist House for the night. Three of us shared a room (Eugene's Studio) which was all prepped for our arrival (even on short notice) and we arrived in time for "happy hour" . . . .complimentary cocktails (beer or wine) and munchies served on the quaint little patio.
Although this spot is super handy & located right in the center of it all, the bikes available to rent are the way to go!!
Laura was most helpful offering tonnes of great advice from where to find the best Key Lime Pie to how to find the nicest local beach.

Room Tip: We stayed in Eugene's Studio. King sized bed & queen pull out couch. Bed was comfy if you...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Artist_House_KW, Manager at Artist House, responded to this review, May 7, 2013
Thank you for the glowing review! We're happy that you found us and thrilled that you enjoyed your stay so much! We're glad that we were able to accommodate your group and hope that you can make it back down to Key West!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

565 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    451
    90
    11
    9
    4
See reviews for
49
386
16
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (154)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Weston, Florida
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 22, 2013

Great place in great town. Clean, convenient to everything, courteous. The stafff could not do enough to tell you about places to eat and things to see. Breakfast was plentiful, fresh, and good local baking.

Room Tip: The Anne Room was great.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Artist_House_KW, Manager at Artist House, responded to this review, May 7, 2013
Key West is a fantastic place and we're happy you enjoyed your time here! There's so much to do and we want our guests to really get to enjoy all that the island has to offer! Thank you for the review as well as being our guests!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dusseldorf, Germany
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 21, 2013 via mobile

We booked a three night stay at the Artist House and felt welcome right from the beginning when we received the email confirmation which already told us which room we would be staying in. We stayed in the Parlour Suite - boy, what a room! The bathroom is fantastic, the four-poster-bed is cosy. The room is a little loud in the morning - but that was to be expected since the Artist House is just one block of busy Duval Street.

The breakfast was very nice - even the coffee (which is always a nightmare for Europeans traveling in the US always hoping for the next Starbucks). Only thing that was a little bit disappointing was the not-so-good orange juice. Could be fresh - just a wish for the future :)

The staff was more than friendly and welcoming.

Stay at the Artist House if you can - worth every penny.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Artist_House_KW, Manager at Artist House, responded to this review, May 7, 2013
Thank you for the amazing review! We're happy to hear that you enjoyed so much about the house as well as the wonderful island! We do hope that if you find yourself planning another trip to Key West that you'll stay with us!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, England, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 21, 2013

My partner and I stayed here for two nights in April. We had a wonderful experience here, staying in a typical Key West house. Just off the main street, we were in the thick of the action without being disturbed by any noise. The staff were extremely friendly and welcoming, and helped us book a trolley ride on our first morning. The room was clean and very homely and breakfast and the Happy Hour every day were nice touches. I would definitely recommend this to anyone going to Key West, I only wish we were able to stay longer.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Artist_House_KW, Manager at Artist House, responded to this review, May 7, 2013
Thank you for the great review! We're so happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us! The house does have a lot of history and we love telling the story! Thank you for being our valued guests and please come back again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, England, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 14, 2013

We returned to The Artist House after 15 years and were delighted to see what a wonderful job Jo and Ray have done since taking it over. It is a wonderfully charming, relaxed place to stay and the staff can't do enough for you, even offering us champagne for breakfast! We would not hesitate to return again. Thank you so much, it was so lovely to meet you all.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Artist_House_KW, Manager at Artist House, responded to this review, April 16, 2013
Thank you so much for the great reviews! Jo thanks you personally for the kind words. She also says "Thanks for the cat" :) We're all glad to hear you enjoyed your stay with us and do hope to see you again one day!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 14, 2013 via mobile

We stayed in this house 15 years ago so coming back was a bit of a nostalgia trip. It has changed owners since and is all the better for it. Very close to Duval and walking distance to most of the islands sights. The house is part of various historic and ghost tours (Search Robert the Doll) and is apparently one of the most photographed houses on the island which says something if you have seen how many beautiful houses there are on Key West. There is happy hour each day (free beer wine soft drinks and snacks) and a free continental breakfast.

Very nice and helpful staff.

Not the cheapest place to stay but worth it and if you fancy splashing out on dinner then check out Latitudes whilst here. A restaurant on the beach on an island, you have to get a boat to.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Artist_House_KW, Manager at Artist House, responded to this review, April 16, 2013
We're so glad that you made it back to Key West and stayed with us! We're very flattered by your review and would like to thank you for taking the time to write it! It's very rewarding to hear that we helped make your trip all that it could be!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mount Kisco, New York, United States
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 10, 2013

This was our second time at the Artist House in Key West. It did not disappoint. We stayed in the Parlor Suite and had a large and comfortable bed in a room of a nice size. I had been concerned it might be loud as it faced the street and was near the front door and stairs, but we didn't hear anyone else during our stay. The bathroom has dual shower heads which was a treat. A ghost tour stopped in front of the hotel while we were there, and it was fun to sit on the porch and hear some of the tales regarding the history of the house. The staff could not have been more helpful. We will definitely stay there again.

Room Tip: The Parlor Suite is large and airy with a comfortable bed. It faces the street.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Artist_House_KW, Manager at Artist House, responded to this review, April 16, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to share you opinion! We're happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us and that we were a part of that. We'll see you next time...thank you!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Artist House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Artist House

Address: 534 Eaton Street, Key West, FL 33040
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Florida Keys > Key West
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 98 B&Bs / Inns in Key West
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Artist House 3.5*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com, Tingo, Travelocity, Despegar.com, BookingOdigeoWL, Hotels.com and Agoda so you can book your Artist House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Artist House Hotel Key West

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Artist House, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.