We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Artist House

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Artist House to your Saves list
Artist House
3.5 of 5 Bed and Breakfast   |   534 Eaton Street, Key West, FL 33040   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #11 of 94 Key West B&B and Inns
Lancashire
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Wonderful.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 12, 2013

We stayed for 3 nights in the Artist House over New Year, and it was a delight.
The location is ideal, being handy for all the attractions of Key West but not so close as to be noisy (and this was New Year remember..) The building itself is lovely, full of character and beautifully decorated, and really reflects the obvious pride the owners and staff take in it.
We had the smallest room (the Sun Room). I had been warned it was small when making the booking, particularly the bathroom. There's no doubt it is small, but I'm 6" 2 and it wasn't a problem - I managed two showers a day!
Happy hour was great, (free drinks, what's not to like...) and a good way to meet other guests, all of whom were lovely company. We found the breakfast to be extremely good - plenty of choice, and very fresh.
We received plenty of help and advice from both Jo, the owner, and various staff, including helping us find a dinner booking for New Years' eve, and I have to say all the staff involved in running the Artist House could not have been more accommodating.

Some previous reviews have found criticism in things like the narrow wooden staircase up to the Sun room and the small bathroom, but frankly, if you really are that bothered by bathroom size and staircase width, as opposed to character, charm and friendliness you probably are better off in the Marriott.
For us, it was perfect.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

617 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    494
    98
    12
    9
    4
See reviews for
53
421
17
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (170)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Sarasota, Florida
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 10, 2013

Our Ragnar FLK relay team took over the whole house from January 5-7, booking every room. The folks at the B&B were extremely accommodating, from the beginning when we were booking reservations back in June 2012, to confirming details in December. Once we arrived, they worked with us to get access to the rooms early if we needed them to shower before we met our team at the finish line. The service is perfect. The location is perfect. I stayed all the way upstairs in the Turret Suite with Robert the Doll. The bed was comfortable, but I didn't like having to walk down the spiral stairs to use the bathroom at night. I peeked into all the rooms at the Inn, and they are wonderfully spacious and beautifully furnished. The hot tub area is perfect for small groups to socialize. I would definitely stay here again, though I'm not sure what it would be like if I didn't know everyone else in the house.

Room Tip: The Turret Suite has two full bathrooms and can accommodate two couples. The only bad thing is that...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Madison, Wisconsin
Top Contributor
89 reviews 89 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 42 cities Reviews in 42 cities
105 helpful votes 105 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 7, 2013 via mobile

The staff is stellar, a cople from overseas that really know about customer service. The rooms are quaint and the beds all new and very comfortable. If you are in the keys, and thinking key west, this place is for you

Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Coral Springs, Florida
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 25, 2012

I visited Key West in December 2011 and I loved the slower pace the weekday stay provided, so I booked 4 nights at the Artist House on Eaton Street for the same time period. I had learned about the house on my last visit to East Martello Museum when I met Robert. Of course I had to book the Turret Suite. Upon arrival early afternoon on Monday the 10th I parked across the street. Getting to the house is as simple as it gets just follow North Roosevelt Blvd as you enter Key West, hang a right on Palm Ave which eventually turns into Eaton Street, stop at 534. We went in to check in after climbing a short flight of stairs to the lower front porch. There is seating out front and a couple immediately struck up a conversation with my wife and I, nice start to meeting people. I went in and met Jo one of the owners. She followed me and my wife across the street to my car, popped the trunk and pulled out the luggage. Jo directed me to my prepaid parking for my stay which is $20 per night, it is located about a block & a half away, 3 to 5 minute walk. My wife and I pack heavy and the stairway to our second floor room was steep, keep this in mind if you can't carry a load up steep stairs. You can also access the second floor from an outside staircase to the second floor porch which has tables and chairs with cushions. This stairway is wider for big bags.

As we first entered the room I found it unusual and it actually took a little while to get used to it, but it's pretty functional. There is a nice Queen size bed with nightstands as you first enter. A large dresser is on the wall to your left and just past that is bathroom number 1. It has a toilet and clawfoot tub with a shower. Very nice for middle of the night trips for the person who occupies the bed on the entrance side. Then there is a door leading to the outside, at night the home is illuminated with flood lights and the light shines in. Close the two hinged shutters which cover the door and the light is blocked. Just next to that porch door is a coffee pot with a table to put keys, sunglasses and such. The you enter the living room area which has a sleeper couch, a coffee table and a chair. Its a unique curved room which fronts Eaton street with nice wood blinds. As local workers race to work in the morning it can get a bit noisy at 7am or so then it quiets down again. Just next to the chair & AC unit is a set of double doors which open to a closet which houses an nice sized refrigerator and a microwave. I always travel with craft beers and wine and it kept them plenty cold. Next to that is a storge space with door which is under curving staircase. This houses iron & board, suitcase rack and a space to hang clothes. Continuing around the room is bathroom number two, this has toilet and chair and a large shower with sliding glass doors and two shower heads, one at each end. Showering two at once is easily possible. Now just outside the bathroom next to the bed is a wonderful curving stair case that leads up to the turret. This has a double bed with chair, this has many windows which look down on Eaton St, Roberts favorite spot for glowering at passing school children.

Just out side the room is a case with books and a nice small couch for relaxing with a book. Down the staircase is a hallway leading from the entrance back to the kitchen area. Every morning is a nice breakfast with coffee, juices, and various pastries from a French shop on Duval Street. They also have a variety of cereals with milk. Champange is also available for those so inclined. Just outside and down from the kitchen are many small tables and chairs for enjoying the breakfast. There is a nice heated pool/tube a focal point the area is secluded and has a bricked walking area. This same area is also home to the 4pm to 5pm happy hour. Mixed beers domestic with Coronas were the choices along with 3 different wines. We met many wonderful couples of all ages during our stay. We actually looked forward to out breakfasts and happy hours to chat with our new aquaintances.

The house is very close to Duval Street (maybe 50 yards), and on the corner of Eaton & Duval is a wonderful really old Episcopal Church, which is opened to all to visit or to say a prayer, wonderful experience. I hear the back area burial behind the church is the final resting place to some spirits who have been know to scare Duval drunks who tried to disturb the peace.

Continuously throughout the day and evenings the trolleys stop for a minute and tell a quick history of the house, they do not bother you at all. At night walking ghost tours sit across the street and tell the interesting history of the house. Take the time to go on a ghost tour either walking or by trolley and do visit Robert at the Fort. I've heard that Anne still walks the house at night and Jo told me a woman whom had stayed in our room the night before was awakened by the dresser drawers opening & closing. My stay was quiet but then again me and Robert are tight.......lol

Room Tip: Read above, rooms toward front have some morning noise associated with locals going to work on noisy...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Artist_House_KW, Manager at Artist House, responded to this review, January 1, 2013
We sincerely thank you for your glowing review! We're so happy that you enjoyed so much about the house and we appreciate you sharing your experience! We're also happy to hear that you and Robert got along! We hope to see you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cincinnati, Ohio
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 23, 2012

My wife and I are starting to knock things off our bucket list and going to Key West was a must do. We have never stayed at a B&B so we decided to give it a try and knock 2 items off our list. Well, we were not disappointed with either choice as we had just an awesome time in Key West. What was even better though was our experience staying at The Artist House. Absolutely everything we had read about it on Trip Advisor was true. First of all the location is by far the best, just a block and a half off Duval and maybe 5 or 6 to Mallory Square. Second, the rooms are clean, spacious and comfy. We stayed in the Morning Room which had its on private balcony which was great for morning coffee or a late, late night drink. Finally, the staff is excellent and very accommodating. You have a question or need a suggestion? Just ask. They were all very helpful. So, look out Key West because I think you may become a regular stop for us and The Artist House will be the only place we would ever stay.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Artist_House_KW, Manager at Artist House, responded to this review, January 1, 2013
Congratulations on knocking some items off your bucket list! We're thrilled to have been a part of that! Thank you for staying with us and sharing such great compliments! We hope to see you again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tamarac
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 21, 2012

The Artist House was recommended to us by our son and my husband and I have since stayed there on three visits to Key West. The Owners and all of the employees are so warm and friendly they make it a pleasure. Breakfast is delicious, the rooms are beautiful and it is so convenient to walk to everything in town. We love it here and pass is on to all of our friends.
Thank you.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Artist_House_KW, Manager at Artist House, responded to this review, January 1, 2013
There's no greater compliment than repeat guests! We enjoy having you as our guests and can't wait to see you again next time! Thank you for the great review!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 9, 2012

We stayed at the Artist House for 3 nights at the end of November and thoroughly enjoyed our stay. My title of this review sums it up really and I would completely recommend this guest house to anyone staying in Key West.

A few other points to mention are; Laura, she was so helpful, she welcommed us when we arrived and helped us get settled and then recommended restaurants, bars and entertainment to try giving us vouchers that got us free drinks at some restaurants if we dined there. The breakfast is lovely, plenty of choice. The happy hour (free limited bar) was great and I don't think people took advantage of it enough. Finally, the plunge pool/jacuzzi was lovely to sit in and sip a frozen cocktail.

If it wasn't so far away from home I would go back every year!! Enjoy.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Artist_House_KW, Manager at Artist House, responded to this review, January 1, 2013
We're so happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us! Thank you for sharing your experience! We're glad to hear that we helped make your vacation that much more enjoyable!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Artist House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Artist House

Address: 534 Eaton Street, Key West, FL 33040
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Florida Keys > Key West
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 94 B&Bs / Inns in Key West
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Artist House 3.5*
Number of rooms: 7
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Artist House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Artist House Hotel Key West

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Artist House, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.