We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Location and more!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Artist House

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added Artist House to your Saves list
Artist House
3.5 of 5 Bed and Breakfast   |   534 Eaton Street, Key West, FL 33040   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #10 of 94 Key West B&B and Inns
Leland, North Carolina
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Location and more!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 12, 2012

We chose to stay at The Artist's House because of it's location, but we ended up loving it for many reasons. It is only a block and a half from Duval Street, but is peaceful. Restaurants, Mallory Square, Truman's Summer White House and so much more are within walking distance. You can park your car (in a reserved lot for an additional $20 per night) and walk almost everywhere. We enjoyed breakfast on the terrace each morning socializing with the other guests, and cocktails each evening from 4:30 to 5:30. Laura was on duty during our stay and she is a gem. Not only did she recommend things to do but mapped out how to get where we wanted to be. She told us stories and we learned some history about the area. Be sure to ask about Robert! Our rooms were clean, gorgeous, and comfortable, and we had our own private bath and balcony. We will most definitely return to The Artist's House on our next visit. If you can afford a special dinner, be sure to visit Latitudes on Sunset Key. It is an experience you won't forget.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Artist_House_KW, Manager at Artist House, responded to this review, November 14, 2012
Thank you for the fantastic review! We're happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us and we helped make your vacation all that much more enjoyable! We look forward to seeing you again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

617 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    494
    98
    12
    9
    4
See reviews for
53
421
17
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (170)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Toronto, Ontario, Canada
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 11, 2012

Our room felt like home! The bikes we rented were the perfect way to go explore Zachary Taylor State Park and the beaches.
The Artist House B&B is beautiful to look at and wonderful to experience from the rooms to the reception desk to the complimentary happy hour. We were only there for one night and wished we could have stayed longer. The location is perfect- we walked to everything exciting, biked to take it all in and after an action packed day got the best sleep of our trip yet!
The breakfast was quite decadent for a B&B I must say and the garden in the back is the perfect way to enjoy this place.
Loved it!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Artist_House_KW, Manager at Artist House, responded to this review, November 21, 2012
We love the word "decadent" to describe our breakfast! Thank you for the taking the time to share your experience and for choosing the Artist House for your KW accommodations! We hope when you come back again you'll stay with us!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arlington, Virginia
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 10, 2012

We stayed three nights at The Artist House at the beginning of the Fantasy Fest (Halloween) festivities. The century-old plus house has been well-transformed into a bed and breakfast. There are three rooms each on the first and second floor hallway. The end rooms are quite large; the middle rooms (we stayed in the middle room on second floor, the Morning Room) are smaller, but are still large. Each room has its own bath. The room in which we stayed was reasonably large, well maintained, and clean. The bath was formerly part of a wrap-around porch. There is also a fourth room (Sun Room) on the back of the second floor that we did not see as it has its own exterior staircase.

There is a large room at the back of the first floor that has a kitchen for serving breakfast. A door from the kitchen leads to a large pleasant and shaded patio and a heated spa. The self-serve breakfast is quite good with a variety of selections. There is also a happy hour in the late afternoon.

The location is less than two blocks from Duvall Street. The downside is that street parking is limited. Artist House does have several spaces in a parking lot nearby for $20 per day. We chose this option so as not to worry about towing and/or tickets although we did not move the car while there.

Laura was the primary manager on duty when we were there. She is very pleasant and quite helpful.

Note: There is also an Artist House under the same ownership on Fleming Street.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Artist_House_KW, Manager at Artist House, responded to this review, November 14, 2012
We sincerely appreciate your review! We’re so happy that you enjoyed your stay with us! Our goal is to make our each of our guests feel like good friends and help them make the most of their time in Key West…and we love doing it! Thank you for staying with us and we hope to see you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 8, 2012

My husband and I had a great stay at the Artist House! The location couldn't be better! We even got lucky and found street parking two blocks away, which was FREE. We didn't move the car the whole time we were there, so that worked out great!

The Artist House is only a block and a half away from Duval Street, which is nice because it's close enough to walk, but not so close that you get all the noise.

We were in Anne's Suite on the second floor and loved it. The room has very high ceilings and is very spacious, and it also has lovely bay windows. There is a fridge in the room, and all the modern conveniences are there as well. The property has lots of history, and is very charming. I really love that the rooms aren't decorated with "tropical" decor like a lot of others... our room had a very cozy feel to it.

The courtyard in the back of the house is a lovely spot for enjoying the continental breakfast in the morning and planning the day. Laura gave us wonderful recommendations, three of which we ended up using and we had a great experience.

The house overall is well-kept. We found it to be clean and comfortable, but we did think there were a couple of things here and there that could have been fixed and taken care of to really take the property to a level where there is ZERO wrong with it, and would give the impression of even better overall cleanliness. These were small things like vacuuming the carpeting better, dusting the blinds and fans and replacing a broken lampshade. These are very small considerations that didn't really make a difference in our opinion. We thoroughly enjoyed our stay and would definitely be back, but if I owned it, those are things I would do.

Room Tip: We were on the second floor, but I can imagine that the rooms on the first floor may have creaky noi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pembroke Pines, Florida, United States
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 7, 2012

The Artist House is a fantastic B&B! Warm, cozy, friendly, beautiful and full of character are just a few words to describe the atmosphere here! And, it's only 2 blocks from Duval St! My girlfriend and I had a wonderful time, everyday(Fri-Mon) was perfect. The front desk staff (Laura) made our trip even more amazing with her helpful advice on places to eat and see. She was great! Our room was beautiful, breakfast was great and "Happy Hour" was very cool as well. We're already talking about a return trip back! The Artist House is not just a place to see and stay, but a great EXPERIENCE!!

Room Tip: The Parlor Suite is spacious and beautiful, however, it's in the front of the house and faces th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Artist_House_KW, Manager at Artist House, responded to this review, November 21, 2012
We're so happy to hear you had such a wonderful stay with us! Thank you for taking the time to post your review and we hope to see you again next time!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Buffalo, New York
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

I have seen the Artist House on Eaten Street many times in my travels to Key West, and finally, I stayed there last week. I have never stayed at a more beautiful bed and breakfast, and my room was exquisite. The huge four poster bed was so comfortable, the fireplace and the wood furniture so very elegant. I felt like I was in a bygone era!! The owner and workers there were most helpful and recommended a great massage place, (best massage I ever had!!!), my favorite sunset cruise, a bakery across the street with scrumptious cupcakes, and were helpful for every question I had.
There was a great variety of food and fruit for the breakfast, so I started each morning eating very healthy there.
The Artist House - the most beautiful place I have ever stayed at!!!

Room Tip: Every room is easily acessible to breakfast and pool.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Artist_House_KW, Manager at Artist House, responded to this review, November 7, 2012
We're so happy to read this! Thank you for staying with us...it was nice getting to know you and we're glad that you were still able to make it down despite Sandy!! We'll see you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mystic, Connecticut
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

We stayed at the Artist House in May 2012 and had a wonderful time. We got to meet the innkeeper and other employee, but the best was Trevor who claims to know everything about Key West. He was fantastic and gave excellent advice when the options were too many. Our room was the first one on the left as you enter into the beautiful building and even though it was closest to the road, it was still nice and quiet. Breakfasts were great and we loved the evening drink sessions out on the patio. Location couldn't be better!

Room Tip: Look at all the pictures and decide which one you like most!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Artist_House_KW, Manager at Artist House, responded to this review, November 7, 2012
We're so happy to hear you enjoyed your stay with us! Thank you for the great review and for being our guest! We're glad to hear that you liked Trevor's recommendations! Please come back again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Artist House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Artist House

Address: 534 Eaton Street, Key West, FL 33040
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Florida Keys > Key West
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 94 B&Bs / Inns in Key West
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Artist House 3.5*
Number of rooms: 7
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Artist House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Artist House Hotel Key West

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Artist House, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.