We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Simply marvelous!!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Artist House

Save Saved
You added Artist House to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Artist House
3.5 of 5 Bed and Breakfast   |   534 Eaton Street, Key West, FL 33040   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #10 of 98 Key West B&B and Inns
Pembroke Pines, Florida, United States
1 review
“Simply marvelous!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 7, 2012

The Artist House is a fantastic B&B! Warm, cozy, friendly, beautiful and full of character are just a few words to describe the atmosphere here! And, it's only 2 blocks from Duval St! My girlfriend and I had a wonderful time, everyday(Fri-Mon) was perfect. The front desk staff (Laura) made our trip even more amazing with her helpful advice on places to eat and see. She was great! Our room was beautiful, breakfast was great and "Happy Hour" was very cool as well. We're already talking about a return trip back! The Artist House is not just a place to see and stay, but a great EXPERIENCE!!

Room Tip: The Parlor Suite is spacious and beautiful, however, it's in the front of the house and faces th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Artist_House_KW, Manager at Artist House, responded to this review, November 21, 2012
We're so happy to hear you had such a wonderful stay with us! Thank you for taking the time to post your review and we hope to see you again next time!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

565 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    451
    90
    11
    9
    4
See reviews for
49
386
16
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (154)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Buffalo, New York
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

I have seen the Artist House on Eaten Street many times in my travels to Key West, and finally, I stayed there last week. I have never stayed at a more beautiful bed and breakfast, and my room was exquisite. The huge four poster bed was so comfortable, the fireplace and the wood furniture so very elegant. I felt like I was in a bygone era!! The owner and workers there were most helpful and recommended a great massage place, (best massage I ever had!!!), my favorite sunset cruise, a bakery across the street with scrumptious cupcakes, and were helpful for every question I had.
There was a great variety of food and fruit for the breakfast, so I started each morning eating very healthy there.
The Artist House - the most beautiful place I have ever stayed at!!!

Room Tip: Every room is easily acessible to breakfast and pool.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Artist_House_KW, Manager at Artist House, responded to this review, November 7, 2012
We're so happy to read this! Thank you for staying with us...it was nice getting to know you and we're glad that you were still able to make it down despite Sandy!! We'll see you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mystic, Connecticut
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

We stayed at the Artist House in May 2012 and had a wonderful time. We got to meet the innkeeper and other employee, but the best was Trevor who claims to know everything about Key West. He was fantastic and gave excellent advice when the options were too many. Our room was the first one on the left as you enter into the beautiful building and even though it was closest to the road, it was still nice and quiet. Breakfasts were great and we loved the evening drink sessions out on the patio. Location couldn't be better!

Room Tip: Look at all the pictures and decide which one you like most!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Artist_House_KW, Manager at Artist House, responded to this review, November 7, 2012
We're so happy to hear you enjoyed your stay with us! Thank you for the great review and for being our guest! We're glad to hear that you liked Trevor's recommendations! Please come back again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Flemington, New Jersey
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

I based my selection of this bed and breakfast on recent reviews, cost and location. I found these reviews did not dissappoint. This place was everything I read in the reviews and more!
A great find..friendly service..the room was extremely comfortable and conveniently located near Duval St. The happy hour and breakfast were excellent and the perfect opportunity to meet new friends. I will definitely return with my wife and tell my friends about this place.

Room Tip: Sun room has exterior entrance if you desire privacy
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Artist_House_KW, Manager at Artist House, responded to this review, November 7, 2012
We sincerely appreciate the kind review! It was nice meeting you and we hope you've gotten your power back at home after Sandy! We look forward to your return, and meeting your wife! Thank you again, and see you soon!!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 4, 2012

The Artist's house was a lovely treat for a first timer (me) and my boyfriend, (a seasoned veteran ;-) ) when we arrived in Key West on the final Saturday eve of Fantasy Fest. It was such a beautiful residence and well-maintained. They had a place for our bikes, next to the beautiful backyard garden, and enchanting Wallace Frost wallpaper in the main room/foyer. Laura was the manager on staff who greeted us, and who was tremendously accommodating despite our late arrival. parking was easy and close, breakfast in the backyard lovely, and they were even understanding when we had to cut out early (having reserved second night) and cutting us a break on the price. They didnt have to do this, and in my mind, is the kind of quality that makes a B&B one that I would like to visit again!

Room Tip: I think its the "Anne" room on the second floor that is the most beautiful.....
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Artist_House_KW, Manager at Artist House, responded to this review, November 7, 2012
Thank you for the nice review! We're happy you stayed with us! Laura does love making our guests feel welcomed! We hope you can come back again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
White Plains, New York
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 2, 2012

We stayed at Artist House Fantasyfest week. A great location less than a block from Duval. Very friendly staff and nice rooms. All looked good,,but if you looked closely , not that clean. Our floors were never swept all week,,nor was area rug vaccumed. Mirror stayed spotted all week,,,stuff like that. Also tiny ants in bathroom all week, and once in bedroom.
But aside from that,,decent price for the expensive week, and nice continental breakfsat out back each morning. And great location. Small pool / spa..really to small to enjoy. Would we go again...yes, Been to other places on Key West,,this is one of the better ones.

Room Tip: If you don't want to hear late night revelers..or street traffic in morning definatly stay in a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Artist_House_KW, Manager at Artist House, responded to this review, November 7, 2012
Thank you for the review! We're glad to hear you enjoyed your stay. If there was anything in the room that you noticed, we do wish you would have brought it to our attention. We would gladly have addressed it immediately...especially considering the length of your stay! Our housekeeper, Aggie, works very hard to keep the entire house spotless, although rooms are a bit more challenging during Fantasy Fest. We’re happy to hear that this did not affect your opinion on the house and do hope you come back again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eagan, Mn
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 2, 2012

Can't say enough about the Artist House, what a lovely place to stay! The rooms are all immaculate, warm and inviting. The staff was probably the most helpful and inviting we have ever encountered. Great recommendations, even had coupons ready for us. But the house itself, just gorgeous! Looking forward to our next visit. Don't know where we could find better!

Thanks to all!

Room Tip: I poked my nose in to all the rooms I could just to get a feel. They are all beautiful! The stairc...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Artist_House_KW, Manager at Artist House, responded to this review, November 7, 2012
Such a great review...thank you! It means a lot to us! We're happy to hear you loved the house. Thank you for being our guests!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Artist House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Artist House

Address: 534 Eaton Street, Key West, FL 33040
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Florida Keys > Key West
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 98 B&Bs / Inns in Key West
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Artist House 3.5*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com, Tingo, Travelocity, BookingOdigeoWL, Hotels.com and Agoda so you can book your Artist House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Artist House Hotel Key West

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Artist House, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.