We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Love it” 5 of 5 stars
Review of U.S. Coast Guard Cutter Ingham Maritime Museum

U.S. Coast Guard Cutter Ingham Maritime Museum
Truman Waterfront, Foot of Southard St. By Ft. Taylor, Key West, FL 33040
+1 305-292-5072
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #5 of 69 Attractions in Key West
Type: Military Museums, Museums
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: 327 Foot museum ship from WWII and Viet Nam. It is a National Historic Landmark. INGHAM served our country from 1936 to 1988 and in 1985 was the most decorated ship in United States Service as noted in a letter from President Ronald Reagan in the exhibit room.
Useful Information: Stroller parking, Bathroom facilities
Key West, Florida
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Love it”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 4, 2012

I absolutely love this place. Came here with my Uncle and Aunt while on their visit. Fantastic ! I would definitely recommend this place for a family event. Very interesting and I learned so much.

Visited July 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

351 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    245
    92
    14
    0
    0
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Nashville, Tennessee
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
7 attraction reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Coast Guard Cutter Ingham”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 4, 2012

Great tour to do and you are supporting a piece of maritime history. The ship is just as it was left when decommissioned. A grand old lady. It is a self guided tour so take your time. Ingham is the most decorated ship.

Visited December 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
USA
Top Contributor
107 reviews 107 reviews
32 attraction reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
119 helpful votes 119 helpful votes
“Do not miss”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 3, 2012

This is a great stop, the ship is exactly as it was left when the sailors departed. It is a self guided tour, but it is a place that you will recall, it can take you a few hours to tour. Be sure to visit the Eco Center next door - it is FREE!!!

Visited November 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
new smyrna beach
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
6 attraction reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“love the history”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 2, 2012

It is a beautful thing that not all ships are sunk for a reef. This is a wonderful piece of history, floating here in KW.

Visited February 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fredericksburg, Virginia
Top Contributor
56 reviews 56 reviews
14 attraction reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
“A very well preserved piece of history”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 30, 2012

Our visit was solely due to seeing this museum rated very highly on TA and we were not disappointed. As previous reviewers have often noted, it isn't solely for 'boat' type people or for ex-service personnel. The Cutter has so diverse and long a history that everyone, even ex-pat Brits like us, will feel some connection to the ship. Atlantic convoy protection during World War II is only a small part of its history but a huge lifeline to Britain at that time.

We were amazed at how complete and functional the ship is still and enjoyed talking with one of the volunteers working in the radio room on maintenance. It really is not a rusting hulk stripped of its contents! Nothing is missing and you really feel the volunteer's jesting about being ready for action if needed in the future really is a viable option.

It costs a huge amount per year just to sit there with lights and fans working so needs more visitors and donations to ensure its continued service as a museum and reminder of USCG valor.

Just a word of advice - we found it easier and safer to climb down the stairs backwards as they are so steep and cope with longer feet that way around!

Visited November 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed U.S. Coast Guard Cutter Ingham Maritime Museum also viewed

 
Key West, Florida Keys
 

Been to U.S. Coast Guard Cutter Ingham Maritime Museum? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage U.S. Coast Guard Cutter Ingham Maritime Museum, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.