We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Cruising Key West Style” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Schooner Appledore

Schooner Appledore
205 Elizabeth Street Unit I, Key West, FL 33040
+1 305-294-5687
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #40 of 325 Activities in Key West
Type: Boat Tours, Sightseeing Tours
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Experience the romance and mystique of Tall Ship sailing aboard Schooners Appledore II & V . II was launched in 1978 and circumnavigated the globe. V was designed and built for Antarctic exploring. These traditional authentic ships provide intimate Reef Sail Adventures, Day Sails, Sunset Sails, Private Charters, Weddings and Catered Event Sails. A complimentary selection of fine wines, premium beers, homemade sangria, and soft drinks are included on all sails. For 25 years Schooner Appledore has been sailing Key West's turquoise waters and is the island's premiere sailing experience. With the addition of Appledore V we are now sailing year round in Key West.
Useful Information: Activities for older children
Ware, Massachusetts
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
4 attraction reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Cruising Key West Style”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 31, 2013

Spent last evening on a lovely sunset sail with great winds and the awesome Captain and his crew aboard the Appledore V. The perfect weather and the very accommodating crew made for a great adventure and left us with many memories to relive over the coming winter months. Highly recommend this small schooner for a pleasant sail, many libations and delicious appetizers, don't miss out on the fun........

Visited October 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

212 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    179
    29
    3
    1
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Brenham
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 attraction reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Wonderful Time”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2013

My Husband & I just want to thank you for a wonderful time on the Schooner Appledore. The crew & snacks were top notch & the weather couldn't have been more perfect. We even saw the space station fly over. The sunset was spectacular also. What a nice way to end an evening just before the flight home the next day.
Thanks again for everything.
The Couple from Texas

Visited October 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mechanicsville, Virginia
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Don't leave Key West without a sunset cruise on the Appledore!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 13, 2013

The beautiful Appledore schooner was one of the best experiences we had in Key West! If you want to set yourself apart from the typical "party boat" cruises, join Captain Dave, Gill and Joe on the Appledore. The cruise included wine, homemade Sangria, beer, shrimp, cheese and nachos .. all delicious!! The crew invited us to join in putting up the sails and really made the evening better than we ever expected. Peaceful and not overly crowded and the most beautiful sunset you will ever see! It was like floating on an old time vessel ... would make the trip again just to book the Appledore...

Visited October 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Palm Beach, Florida
Top Contributor
72 reviews 72 reviews
6 attraction reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
“Perfect way to capture sunset magic!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 5, 2013

The 2 hour sunset cruise is an absolute must .......don't miss it! The wine, beer, and champagne flows nonstop throughout the Full sail powered cruise . The boat is comfortable and holds 24 people and never felt crowded. I highly prefer it to the other cheaper but much more crowded choices. The captain and mates are very friendly and hospitable. Worth every penny!

Visited October 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Baltimore, Maryland
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
10 attraction reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“Sunset Sail”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 5, 2013

We had a wonderful time on the Appledore. The crew was friendly and accommodating. Light snacks and alcohol were provided. Such a beautiful night to sail the Gulf with friends. Pure heaven. They even let me help hoist the sails That is tough work!

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Schooner Appledore also viewed

 
Key West, Florida Keys
 

Been to Schooner Appledore? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Schooner Appledore, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.