We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Hotel” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Gates Hotel | Key West

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added The Gates Hotel | Key West to your Saves list
The Gates Hotel | Key West
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   3824 N. Roosevelt Blvd., Key West, FL 33040 (Formerly Quality Inn Key West)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Announcement
Brand New Hotel!
Ranked #23 of 46 Hotels in Key West
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Great Hotel”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed yesterday NEW

It was one of the least expensive in the area, so we were a little leery when we booked. When we arrived, our host Kevin made check-in super easy and sent us off with a nice glass of wine. The room felt like we were at a spa. I usually inspect and wipe down everything when I get to a hotel room but you could 'feel' this was a nice, clean room when you walk in ( I still inspected and wiped down though lol). The stay was pleasant and we will definitely book again if we're in the area.

  • Stayed April 2015, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

30 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    18
    7
    4
    1
    0
See reviews for
7
12
Solo
0
3
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed yesterday NEW via mobile

Newly renovated with very nice rooms and bathrooms. Nice pool and bar with live entertainment. The staff did an excellent job and were very courteous We really enjoyed the pool area, only concern would be to add a Hot Tub, Would definetly stay again.

Stayed May 2015, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami, Florida
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

Listen, I love a good B&B as much as the next gal. Truly. And Key West is chock full of 'em. Some stand out, while others, well...anyway. It's a roll of the dice––looks and service-wise. You know what I mean.

First thing you should know is that The Gates is *not* a B&B. It's a renovation of a former Comfort Inn. Don't freak out. There's nary a shadow of its former incarnation lingering about. I noticed the differences beginning with check-in, where I was greeted with a rum cocktail using liquor that had been distilled on the island (hat tip, Key West Legal Rum). The vibe in the lobby: Hamptons-esque. Whitewashed wood, wicker, and lots of natural light illuminating the space. Just a beach-y, light and airy feeling all the way around.

That same vibe continued into my room. Spacious. Well appointed. Clean. The bath products (Paul Mitchell Awapuhi) and Turkish cotton towels were incredibly luxurious. My bed featured a particularly firm mattress covered in deliciously crisp, cool white sheets. It was hell bent on convincing me to take a pass on the pool and linger inside all day.

While tempting, the lure of Rum Row proved to be too much. The staff kept the Champagne flowing, making sure my glass was in a perpetual state of "full." (Danger Will Robinson, Danger!!) They also provided my husband and I with a robust stogie from the island's oldest operating cigar manufacturer, Rodriguez Cigars. (And if you happen to run into David, the owner of Rodriguez Cigar, count yourself as hella lucky. Sit back and shoot the breeze with him for a bit. You'll see why.)

When I visited, the food and beverage program had yet to launch, but should be available by now. It's catered by a permanent food truck and has plenty of promising offerings (braised-beef arepas and pulled-pork sliders, hello).

Con: it's located in New Town, so the hike down to the action could get cumbersome. Maybe an opportunity for shuttle service? Until then, rent yourself a scooter and vacation the heck out of Key West.

  • Stayed March 2015, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chelsea V, Manager at The Gates Hotel | Key West, responded to this review, 3 days ago
Jackie G,
Wow! Delighted to hear that you enjoyed our hotel- both the rooms and the welcome drink! Would love to have you back again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 6 days ago NEW

Good rooms and brand new. Very comfortable beds. And a very friendly barman who prepares the best drinks. Thanks Jesus. Unfortunately constructions on the other side of the street. No breakfast, just coffee in the lobby. No food available at the moment.

Stayed April 2015, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chelsea V, Manager at The Gates Hotel | Key West, responded to this review, 4 days ago
Enjoygoodlive,
I am happy that Jesus took good care of you at Rum Row! We are working on a food option that will be ready very soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

This is a new hotel that was fantastic! The rooms are well appointed, clean and comfortable. The bed, linens and pillows are a dream. The staff was helpful and unforgettable. You are two miles from Duval street which is a plus when you want to escape the traffic, noise for a relaxing evening. They have live entertainment every evening during the week with a fantastic pool and bar. The price is reasonable, we will stay here on our next visit. the only downfall is not having a restaurant.

Stayed April 2015, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chelsea V, Manager at The Gates Hotel | Key West, responded to this review, 6 days ago
csglassford,
Thank you for the great feedback! Glad you were very comfortable in our rooms! We have some great food options that are coming very soon! I apologize that they were not up and running for your stay. Please return and let me know so I can ensure you can experience this!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Fresh and clean rooms topped off by an excellent staff. We will be back for sure and the fact they are dog friendly is a bonus. The pool and Rum Row Bar are a great place to unwind and relax with friends.

  • Stayed April 2015, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chelsea V, Manager at The Gates Hotel | Key West, responded to this review, 6 days ago
superhawk996,
I hope your travels bring you back here soon! Fantastic that you got a chance to relax and enjoy our pool and Rum Row!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tallahassee, Florida
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

The welcoming lobby is adorable, chic and very boutique. I arrived in the late evening, the lobby was very ambient and the staff was welcoming, and very helpful.

The rest of the week, the entire staff was amazing. Nice, friendly, extremely helpful, checking in and asked about our stay whenever we saw them around.

Although a bit on the smaller side (because the hotel is the shell of an old Quality Inn), the rooms were pristine and had the most amazing decor. And I was obsessed with the bathroom products provided! I would 100% come back to this hotel, with friends or on a romantic trip.

  • Stayed April 2015, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chelsea V, Manager at The Gates Hotel | Key West, responded to this review, 6 days ago
Taylor N,
Thank you for the great feedback! Happy you liked the products we use in the bathroom- we love them too! Please return again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to The Gates Hotel | Key West? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Gates Hotel | Key West

Address: 3824 N. Roosevelt Blvd., Key West, FL 33040 (Formerly Quality Inn Key West)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Florida Keys > Key West
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Best Value Hotel in Key West
#10 Luxury Hotel in Key West
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Gates Hotel | Key West 4*
Number of rooms: 245
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Gates is a new lifestyle hotel in Key West offering an intimate setting that invites guests to celebrate the island's colorful history and creative spirit. Mixing contemporary design with retro Floridian flair, The Gates Hotel features 100 guestrooms with modern amenities that uniquely combine upscale sophistication and polished service with the island's casual laid-back vibe. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA and Booking.com so you can book your The Gates Hotel | Key West reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Quality Inn Key West Hotel Key West

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Gates Hotel | Key West, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.