We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Blue Eyes, Blue Water and the Best Fishing Ever” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Blue Eyed Trader Private Charters

Blue Eyed Trader Private Charters
5555 College Rd, Sunset Marina, Key West, FL 33040
305-393-1799
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #2 of 326 Activities in Key West
Type: Tours, Gear rentals
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Enjoy a fun filled day in the Florida Keys. Spend a few hours sportfishing or family fun fishing. Plan a beach excursion, swimming, snorkeling, sight seeing,or a sunset cruise. See the annual powerboat races from the water. Design your day on the water with Captain Ron on the Blue Eyed Trader.
Useful Information: Activities for older children, Activities for young children
St. Petersburg, Florida
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Blue Eyes, Blue Water and the Best Fishing Ever”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 2, 2013

Ron and Nina LaDuc are two of the best in the keys when it comes to fishing. Located on Stock Island, for those of you who don't know ~ it just above Key West and easily accessed either by car or taxi. These two blue eyed beauties know what they are doing. They have tons of "honey holes" to bring you to, but if for some reason the fish aren't biting at one, Capt. Ron always has a backup plan. Sunset Marina has a ship store with the usual sundries, but bring your own lunch, drinks and sunscreen. If playing on your IPhone is your thing, don't bother coming because this charter is all about having fun and LANDING fish. This should go without saying but remember to tip their hard work.

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Captainron_11, Owner at Blue Eyed Trader Private Charters, responded to this review, April 4, 2013
Thanks for the kind review! I love when people get us, Nina and I love what we do and it makes it better when we have great people to share it with. I would love to take you guys out again and show you some more honey holes. Stay well and hurry back. Captain blue eye's
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

207 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    207
    0
    0
    0
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Washington DC
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Hard working boat”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 1, 2013 via mobile

Captain Ron and his son worked hard to put us on the fish during less than perfect weather. We caught fish, saw turtles and learned a lot about the various techniques employed. Ron obviously cares about providing a quality experience and he delivers. Even pointed us to a great restaurant where our catch was cooked to order.

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Captainron_11, Owner at Blue Eyed Trader Private Charters, responded to this review, April 4, 2013
Thanks. I'm glad you had a chance to fish with my son, he has the same passion for the sport as i do. When it comes to fishing the only thing we can gaurantee, is ''we will work hard''. Thanks for fishing with us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
“Epic day!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 30, 2013 via mobile

Wahoooooo! What a day! Great weather, huge fish, monstrous turtle and a Cuban raft! Thanks for an amazing day Ron and Nina.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Captainron_11, Owner at Blue Eyed Trader Private Charters, responded to this review, April 4, 2013
How about that raft!! Can you imagine bringing your loved ones over the ocean in that thing? It was an Epic day and were happy to have shared it wtih you guys. More fun to come!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Key West, Florida, United States
1 review
“Great memories fishing”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 30, 2013

Captain Ron and Nina where awesome.
The knowledge and gear were top notch.
We caught Dolphin, yellowtail snapper, Bonito and a 40lb Amberjack. We hooked up way more fish than we boated. We had some amazing fish fights with the unknown.
I can't imagine a better day on the water.

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Captainron_11, Owner at Blue Eyed Trader Private Charters, responded to this review, April 4, 2013
What a fun day that was! We are very happy to take the local people out for a day of fun, sun, and fishing. We are also happy to have met all ya''ll and can't wait for your return to fish again. I have more tricks to show you so hurry back.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
“Best Charter I've Ever Been On”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 28, 2013 via mobile

Captain Ron and Nina were absolutely wonderful. My friend Loren and I went out early one morning with them and caught everything from Mutton Snapper to Kingfish to Amberjacks to Yellowtail. He has "spots" all over the area where he'll get fish for you and is a great teacher as well.

He might be captain in name but Nina runs the show! This is the charter you should take.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Captainron_11, Owner at Blue Eyed Trader Private Charters, responded to this review, April 4, 2013
Now that was a fun day. I'm glad that Nina did a great job for you guys. She does run the show, as does your guy Loren! Thanks for sharing your special wedding day with us! Captain Ron.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Blue Eyed Trader Private Charters also viewed

 

Been to Blue Eyed Trader Private Charters? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Blue Eyed Trader Private Charters, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.