We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Key West Vacation” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Silver Palms Inn

Save Saved
You added Silver Palms Inn to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Silver Palms Inn
3.5 of 5 Motel   |   830 Truman Avenue, Key West, FL 33040   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Click for Summer Special
Ranked #17 of 41 hotels in Key West
Yardley, Pennsylvania
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Key West Vacation”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2013

My husband and I went to Key West for our anniversary and had no idea that it was such a popular time of year to visit. Needless to say, I searched Trip Advisor for a hotel that work for us and found the Silver Palms Inn. The hotel was lovely, set in a neighborhood 3 blocks off Duval we loved it. I am a clean freak and this hotel lived up to my high expectations, the room was very clean. The beds comfortable and balcony fantastic. Though we never used the pool, it looked beautiful and the people at the front desk were very helpful. We would absolutely stay at the Silver Palms again!

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jennifer S, General Manager at Silver Palms Inn, responded to this review, November 28, 2013
Dear KFoll:

Happy Anniversary to you two! Key West is such a wonderful place to celebrate such a special occasion. We're happy that you chose us for your accommodations. Maybe next year you can celebrate your anniversary with us again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

857 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    451
    300
    77
    10
    19
See reviews for
173
440
13
8
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (198)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 4, 2013

My husband and I stayed at the Silver Palms Inn as part of our honeymoon in June! We loved our time at the hotel. We were upgraded to a gorgeous room overlooking the pool and given a complimentary bottle of bubbly as we were celebrating our honeymoon. The accommodation was very clean and the breakfast that was included was lovely. We loved the location of the hotel as we were close enough to all the bars and restaurants of Key West, but far enough away from Mallory Square - fun to visit, wouldn't stay there unless you're on a stag or hen trip. The staff were all friendly and helpful if you needed anything. The pool area is small, but very well looked after and comfortable. All in all this was a great addition to our dream holiday!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jennifer S, General Manager at Silver Palms Inn, responded to this review, November 28, 2013
Dear gck1982:

On behalf of the entire staff at the Silver Palms Inn, we'd like to say congratulations on getting married! We wish you all the best and good luck for the future. We are ecstatic that you chose us for celebrating your new journey in life together. We hope that if you ever decide to come to Key West again, you'll choose to stay with us to make even more memories!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
1 review
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 30, 2013

The hotel is modern and quiet. The staff was very friendly and went out of their way to help in anything you asked for. It is within walking distance of everything and I have no hesitation in recommending this hotel.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jennifer S, General Manager at Silver Palms Inn, responded to this review, November 23, 2013
Dear JHS20132013:

We are glad that you enjoyed your tropical getaway with us. Thank you for the very nice review. Our staff members always enjoy going that extra mile for our guests. They love their jobs-and it shows! While you will be recommending our hotel to others (which we appreciate VERY much), we hope that you will come back and see us again too!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minneapolis, Minnesota, USA
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 28, 2013 via mobile

We were at the Sheraton trying to treat ourselves. Did not like it and hated the location. Went online and found this gem. Cheaper even factoring in our penalty from the Sheraton. Not fancy but very clean, nicely decorated and in a much better location for us. Breakfast included and a salt water pool. Loved it

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jennifer S, General Manager at Silver Palms Inn, responded to this review, November 23, 2013
Dear Kornopp:

We're delighted you loved our hotel and we loved your review! It's sad to hear that you were disappointed with your previous accommodations but in actuality, it worked out better for all of us! Make sure you come back and visit us again soon. We will be waiting to welcome you back!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charleston, South Carolina
2 reviews
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 27, 2013

We were recently stayed at the Silver Palms Inn , The room was up to date ,not a bad size and the complimentary breakfast was nice . Now the other problems were..... We paid for our room in advance but we had to pay an extra service fee $ 15.00 a night when we got there. We thinking it for bug spray . The had ants in our room and reported the next morning to the front desk . Of course we were asked if we left food out (the ants were on the ceiling) that was a No. They said they would send some up to spray. when we got back that afternoon at 3:15pm no one add sprayed or cleaned our room. The maid showed to clean at 3:30 . At 11:00 that night the ants were so many and growing in number we called the desk and ask to be moved. They said No(again we were ask if we had food ) because they were full and sent someone to out room at 11:00 pm to spray . So they did and we got to smell the insecticide all night look . The next morning the ants were back so again we reported it . They said they would send maintenance
up to take our room apart and fumigate . we got back 7 hours later to find yes they did fumigate and they left all the windows and the door to our balcony open the whole time we were gone so that anything that could fly or craw could come in . We were left to stay in that room the smell from all the chemical were overwhelming till the next morning when we check out and yes the ants were back and we now had a lizard that morning. we travel a lot and have stayed in many 5 star hotel even in other countries never have we been treated like we didn't matter till the Silver Palm Inn . Who leave you in a room they just fumigated ???? Oh we do have pictures of these problems.

Room Tip: don't go for the room with a balcony over looking the pool because you will have to look for it...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jennifer S, General Manager at Silver Palms Inn, responded to this review, November 23, 2013
Dear dorichd:

Thank you for taking the time to write such a candid review about your recent stay with us. We are disappointed to hear that your stay did not meet your expectations. Please understand that when booking through a third party website (i.e. Expedia, Travelocity, etc.) a $15.00 service fee is due to the hotel upon check-in. This is stated on the confirmation letter that you receive from the third party website. As for the issue you had with the ants, we deeply apologize for the inconvenience. Please know that an issue like this does not normally occur at our hotel. We pride ourselves on the level of service and comfort we provide to our guests and it saddens us to hear that your stay was unsatisfactory. Despite what you encountered, we hope you enjoyed Key West overall and hope you come back to visit the island again one day.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Lauderdale, Florida
1 review
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 25, 2013 via mobile

We enjoyed our stay here. The only complaint I have is I had booked through bookit.com, and upon checkin I was informed there would be an additional $15 per night "hotel service fee". Plus tax. I was aggravated about this. I felt if you already paid over $200 per night, everything should have been included up front.

  • Stayed October 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jennifer S, General Manager at Silver Palms Inn, responded to this review, November 22, 2013
Dear Swad999:

Thank you for taking the time to share your experience about your stay with us. While it sounds like you enjoyed your overall stay at the Silver Palms Inn, we are disappointed to hear of your aggravation with the service fee. Please understand that whenever a guest books a reservation through a third-party website (i.e Bookit.com, Expedia, etc.) we, the hotel, collect a service fee upon check-in. We apologize that Bookit.com was not more clear about this. If you ever plan on returning to Key West, please contact the hotel directly. Being that you would be a return guest, we will be able to offer you the best rate possible as well as not charging a service fee. It's our way of saying 'thank you" for coming back to see us!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greece, New York, United States
1 review
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 24, 2013

Room was very nice, clean, modern. Staff was accommodating , polite.. Rented bikes on site. Convenient location to Duval st. We really enjoyed our stay, and would recommend this hotel to our friends and family.

Room Tip: Parking was good. Although we were on 3rd floor, there is an elevator and were able to park close to...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jennifer S, General Manager at Silver Palms Inn, responded to this review, November 22, 2013
Dear Tina H:

We truly appreciate the very nice review you wrote about your stay with us. We're happy you enjoyed pedaling around Key West on our rental bikes. It's so much fun to explore the island that way! We are thankful for your future recommendations. Come back and visit us soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Silver Palms Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Silver Palms Inn

Address: 830 Truman Avenue, Key West, FL 33040
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Florida Keys > Key West
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #17 of 41 hotels in Key West
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Silver Palms Inn 3.5*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Orbitz, Tingo, Travelocity, Otel, Expedia, BookingOdigeoWL, Priceline and Venere so you can book your Silver Palms Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Silver Palms Hotel Key West

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Silver Palms Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.