We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice Hotel. A Little Pricey. So-So Location” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Silver Palms Inn

Save Saved
You added Silver Palms Inn to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Silver Palms Inn
3.5 of 5 Motel   |   830 Truman Avenue, Key West, FL 33040   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Click for Summer Special
Ranked #16 of 41 Hotels in Key West
Palos Hills
Top Contributor
66 reviews 66 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 40 cities Reviews in 40 cities
51 helpful votes 51 helpful votes
“Nice Hotel. A Little Pricey. So-So Location”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 22, 2013

This hotel was chosen by my son as a gift to my wife and I. He made the reservations through a 3rd party travel agency. Room was a junior suite at $350.00 per night. Hotel required an additional $15.00 per night and said it was a "fee" for not booking directly with the hotel. That sucked considering the cost of the room.

The room was nice and well designed with a sitting area separate from the sleep area. Bathroom/shower was really nice. Wash area was a little tight. Nice Key West style decor throughout the room. A small balcony that we never used (except for dying our swim suits.

The entire hotel was well maintained. Very pleasant staff (I think everyone was French). Breakfast room was nice with a good selection of foods. The pool area was very nice but it looked bigger in the website pictures.

This hotel is located on Truman Street about 5 walking blocks from Duval Street. If you walk left off Truman on to Dual you will be about 4 blocks from the Atlantic ocean. If you walk right you are about 1 1/2 miles to the Gulf harbor.

Halfway between the hotel and Duval Street was a CVS Pharmacy which we used everyday for one thing or another (sunscreen, bottled water, etc.)

The hotel offered free parking if you drove. Truman is a main street so expect a little more traffic than other side street.

I don't think I would book this hotel again simple because of the location. Price seemed high and I think hotels closer to the downtown activities could not have been much more. All-in-all, not bad.

Room Tip: Try to get a room away from Truman St
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jennifer S, General Manager at Silver Palms Inn, responded to this review, April 26, 2013
Dear westwoodrick:

It was very thoughtful of your son to book a getaway to tropical Key West for you and your wife. We are happy that he found us. Thank you for taking the time to share your experience. We are disappointed to hear that we did not meet all of your expectations. Although you mentioned that you will not be staying at the Silver Palms Inn the next time that you visit Key West, we still would like to wish you a wonderful visit no matter where you decide to stay.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

867 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    456
    305
    77
    10
    19
See reviews for
174
445
13
8
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (198)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Tennessee
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 21, 2013

I am pretty picky when it comes to accommodations. I travel often and do lots of research on the location, price, and the place I will lay my head. I grew up within 2-3 hours of Key West. If i did stay overnight it was in a campground or on a different and cheaper Key. I was extremely impressed with Silver Palms and really can't understand some of the negative comments. The staff was friendly and informative. Very clean and updated room. Comfy bed. The room was spacious. You can hear some strret and parking lot noise with loud vehicles (like motorcycles). The only real negatives I found was it was a little far for my taste to walk to the beach or the action of Duval. And, the balcanoy was rather small. This is not a hotel for sitting on the balcony. Actually other than using it to dry out towels and bathing suits, it is not worth having. I did not find having a pool in the parking area was a problem. You can hardly tell when you are the pool. You can only smoke at the pool...my boyfriend felt as a smoker that ths was not really a problem. Free parking is a PLUS. And if you rent a scooter or electric vehicle you are allowed to park there. They do not have charging facilities. As for breakfast......very simple and not any different from most major brand hotels. Overall.....I would recommend this hotel without hesitation and stay again.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jennifer S, General Manager at Silver Palms Inn, responded to this review, April 26, 2013
Dear andykatTennessee:

We truly appreciate the pleasant review about your recent stay with us. Thank you for giving our future potential guests great feedback. We noticed that you said you were picky when it comes to finding accommodations so we are thrilled that you found us! We are delighted that we were able to meet your expectations. Hopefully you will come relax with us again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hamburg, Germany
Top Contributor
60 reviews 60 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 17, 2013

We stayed 3 nights in this hotel on a weekend. We arrived in the morning (4am) and we were worried if there will be someone to give us the keys. They had a 24 hours reception service. Rooms are clean, at least for me very important, NO CARPET!! The bathroom equipment is old, towels very much used and hard, but in general clean. We especially wanted a double bed, was not booked and we didn't have the strength to fight for it at that time of teh day. That's why we didn't really have much space with kid. Free parking is a big advantage, no doubt, but we were advertised like " pool view rooms" No one told us that the pool is in the middle of parking lot and simply your view to pool is the view to the parking which is no fun at all, OK, in key west you don't plan to sit on the balcony and watch the pool/parking lot, but still forget teh balcony and the view etc. This hotel is not for this. People are friendly, location is very good, close to duval street, but don't forget duval street is very long! In general, it was nice but more like a motel, breakfast with paper plates and cups etc. I will not be bad to say that it was like a "hostel" but a 4 star hotel no! It is a nice cute , clean hotel. If you keep your expextation at that level, you will be happy. If I go there again I would definetely book something with sea view on the bay, I know pricy but at least you can say I paid alot but I had teh sun set. We paid also relatively much and saw the cars.

Room Tip: Back side is looking to parking lot, front side to street.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jennifer S, General Manager at Silver Palms Inn, responded to this review, April 26, 2013
Dear esenjilg:

We are glad that you and your family chose the Silver Palms Inn for your weekend in beautiful Key West. Your feedback about your stay is much appreciated. The only part we found confusing about your review was the comment on the bathroom equipment being old. The Silver Palms Inn was built in October 2010 and the entire property, along with all of its contents, are new. We take great pride in our hotel so as to meet our guest expectations therefore we try to keep the hotel as fresh looking as possible. We are glad that you enjoyed your stay with us overall and that you return to Key West again one day.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sao Paulo, SP
Top Contributor
98 reviews 98 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
54 helpful votes 54 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 16, 2013

This hotel is new and centrally located in the city of Key West. But it looks more like a motel. The rooms are big, clean and comfy, but avoid the front rooms if you dont want to hear the traffic noise. The service is nice and friendly. There's a good parking space (motel) which is a necessity in Key West. The breakfast is on the reception, what means little space, noise, and dificulties on moving to serve yourself. It lacks fresh fruits also. Overall, this hotel is too pricey. Do not miss the Duffy´s restaurant nearby and their best Key Lime Pie ever!

Room Tip: Avoid the street front rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jennifer S, General Manager at Silver Palms Inn, responded to this review, April 25, 2013
Dear CeciliaLapertosa:

Thank you for your feedback about your recent stay with us. We are delighted to hear that you enjoyed your stay in one of our big, clean, comfy rooms. The staff has been told of your kind words of praise about their service. They truly appreciate being recognized for their work. We know that you may not be that close to Key West being that you're from another country but, we hope that you'll come back to island to visit again one day!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Knoxville,TN
Top Contributor
56 reviews 56 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 16, 2013

We stayed in 204 for two nights in early April. Front desk staff was very friendly. The free onsite parking was a plus. We were informed that we had been "upgraded" to a larger room with an extra sitting area with a couch and tv, etc. Didn't really need the extra space. The room was clean and comfortable. I never could really figure out the thermostat. Like it cool at night and kept hitting the down arrow. Just, I don't know, it was tied in to the balcony door and the lights were tied into a room card whatever. Too much. The SP was located within walking distance of most of the "stuff". The pool area was nice. The building looked like it had a pretty fresh coat of paint. The continental breakfast was fine, nothing fancy. Lots of interesting people in Key West. Many middle aged men riding bicycles, "looking for answers". Bottom line is.........Yes, we would stay there again. But around $313/night? Wow, you'd thing you were staying at the Bellagio or a place on the upper West side. We liked it.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jennifer S, General Manager at Silver Palms Inn, responded to this review, April 25, 2013
Dear IMTrue:

We are so happy to hear that you had a great stay in Room 204. Thank you for taking the time to share you thoughts on TripAdvisor. Please know that your stay with us occurred during our peak season here in Key West hence the price of the room. We find that our rates are competitive with the other hotels in the Old Town area of Key West given this time of year. Even though you felt that the price was high, we are pleased to hear that you would stay with us again. Since you would be a returning guest, you would be able to take advantage of our returning guest promotion rate that we recently rolled out. It's a great savings that we offer to our returning guests to thank them for their business. We hope that you take us up on the deal and that we can welcome you back soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Winter Haven, FL
Senior Contributor
49 reviews 49 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
50 helpful votes 50 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 14, 2013

Overall, Nice rooms and grounds:very pretty, comfortable, functional and clean. Website pictures are accurate. Plenty of on-site parking, especially for Key West - 2 entrances/exits - nice to pull through. Decent continental breakfast. Complimentary bottled water for guests - seemed thoughtful.

Two gripes:

One, we discovered an additional "deposit" on the paperwork after we prepaid over the phone. That's after taxes and "resort fees". Afterwards, we were told it was for possible incidentals and "its in the confirming email", but it was not mentioned before we committed to paying - later we were told "it's on the website", and it may be - but not real evident - looked again. It just seems petty and might be a problem for some. Made me feel like doing a "walkthrough" when we checked out.

2. Really annoying - under an Eco-friendly premise, when we opened the door to the balcony (just long enough to go in or out), the A/C cut off for several minutes. There is a sensor, presumably to prevent people from running the A/C with the door open. Each time when it finally kicked back on it was set to a higher temperature than we had originally selected. We had two rooms and for some reason one just didn't cool down well, and it was presumably due to this wonky A/C sensor.

When paying $300.00 a night for EACH room, don't nickle and dime me with A/C sensor nonsense and holding onto funds without clearly saying something first. Otherwise the place was great, albeit a little pricey. Also, it seems that some hotels charge resort fees and some don't.

Final note: For some unknown reason many, many hotels in Key West would not allow 3 people in a room (my wife and I and 21 year old daughter) - even rooms with 2 queen beds - duh? Silver Palms was fine with it. It closed the deal for me.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jennifer S, General Manager at Silver Palms Inn, responded to this review, April 23, 2013
Dear Day_Tripper_2008:

We truly appreciate you taking the time to write a review about your recent stay with us. We are happy to hear that overall you enjoyed your stay at the Silver Palms Inn, however, we did want to address the two gripes you had about the stay. As for the first gripe about the additional deposit that we charge every guest upon check-in, please understand that this is not an actual charge. It is simply a deposit for incidentals that is released upon check-out. As for the second gripe about the issue you had with the eco-friendly air conditioning, we do want to apologize for any inconvenience it may have caused. We pride ourselves in being a green property and it is disappointing to hear that the air conditioning wasn't working to your satisfaction. Given the two issues you mentioned, once again we'd like to say we are happy that you enjoyed your stay overall. It was our pleasure to be able to accommodate you with allowing three people in the room. Hopefully we can welcome you back again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 7, 2013

My wife and I (30+) stayed here for two night in connection with a trip to Florida and the Caribbean. The hotel is conveniently located just outside the main buzz of Key West. It has lots of complimentary parking spots and a professional and friendly check in staff. The hotel appears clean but somewhat clinical, and does not invite to long hours by the pool (if at all). We did not need the facilities and therefor this was not big blow for us. The breakfast had the same touch, fast and efficient but impersonal and simple. You don't enjoy the last sips of your coffee at this place. The room was spacious, clean and had all the necessary emenities. Don't waste your money on a balcony, the view of the pool and parking area is not much to hang around for. In stead; enjoy the great town of Key West. The hotel has plenty of rental bikes, which is great way to experience Key West. You are provided with lights and locks, so that the bike can bring you back and forth to the center day and night.

Room Tip: We stayed in a room with balcony, but never used it. Unless you bring kids, you would rather enjoy t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jennifer S, General Manager at Silver Palms Inn, responded to this review, April 23, 2013
Dear Henrikhh:

Thank you for taking the time to share your experience with us and the TripAdvisor community. The feedback from your and your wife is much appreciated. We are happy to hear that you enjoyed exlploring Key West on the rental bikes we have here on the property. We always think the bikes are the best way to get around the island. We hope you enjoyed your stay in Key West and hope you return again one day!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Silver Palms Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Silver Palms Inn

Address: 830 Truman Avenue, Key West, FL 33040
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Florida Keys > Key West
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Free Parking Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #16 of 41 Hotels in Key West
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Silver Palms Inn 3.5*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Orbitz, Booking.com, Expedia, Tingo, Travelocity, Priceline, Otel, Odigeo and Venere so you can book your Silver Palms Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Silver Palms Hotel Key West

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Silver Palms Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.