We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Restores my faith in consumerism...” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Silver Palms Inn

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Silver Palms Inn to your Saves list
Silver Palms Inn
3.5 of 5 Motel   |   830 Truman Avenue, Key West, FL 33040   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Announcement
Click for Super Savings
Ranked #19 of 44 Hotels in Key West
Atlanta, Georgia
Top Contributor
90 reviews 90 reviews
30 hotel reviews
Reviews in 47 cities Reviews in 47 cities
75 helpful votes 75 helpful votes
“Restores my faith in consumerism...”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 6, 2013

I didn't stay here, but I booked the hotel in November for a guy's trip in January/February. I put down a 25% deposit, refundable until 72 hours before arrival. Another friend got involved and we booked another property. It wasn't until about 4 hours past my time, I realized I hadn't cancelled my reservation. I cancelled it via email without any forfeit of deposit. KUDOS to the Silver Palms for being honorable in refunding my deposit. I will definitely look to them for my next stay.

Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jennifer S, General Manager at Silver Palms Inn, responded to this review, February 10, 2013
Dear Snoweman:

While we are disappointed that you didn't get to stay with us, we truly appreciate you going out of your way to take the time to write a review about our service. We thank you and please know that it is truly appreciated. It's not often nowadays that you will find consumers that will take that extra step. KUDOS to you as well! Please feel free to contact us for your next stay in Key West. We look forward to accommodating you!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

949 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    501
    333
    84
    11
    20
See reviews for
183
499
13
8
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (214)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Atlantic City, New Jersey
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 5, 2013

The Silver Palms Inn is top-shelf. The rooms are spacious and comfortable. The large glass shower provides for one (or more). I liked to read the provided newspaper and coffee outside on the balcony. (The breakfast and newspaper are included with the room.) Later, sipping by the pool, a great place to finish off a well-tanned afternoon as the sun set.

- Nick G

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jennifer S, General Manager at Silver Palms Inn, responded to this review, February 10, 2013
Dear Nick G:

Thank you for your top-shelf review about our hotel! It is greatly appreciated! We are happy that you enjoyed our amenities such as the complimentary newspaper that you read while sipping your coffee in the morning. We hope you vacation with us again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 5, 2013

We stayed at this hotel for 1 night, we were able to get a good price from Expedia. The hotel's location was great. The check in was a breeze, staff was friendly and nice. The room itself was just amazing, the room was clean and comfortable. The balcony in the room was great too, the view of the pool was nice. Unfortunately we weren't able to go into the pool cause it was a bit cool. The complimentary breakfast was good too. Overall a great experience.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jennifer S, General Manager at Silver Palms Inn, responded to this review, February 10, 2013
Dear nyctla123:

Thank you for the great review! We are delighted to hear that you found so many aspects of your recent stay to your liking. While it was a bit cool outside during your stay in Key West and you couldn't enjoy our pool, we're glad you enjoyed your stay overall. Now that will just give you an excuse to come back and visit us again. The pool will be calling your name!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 4, 2013

We found the Silver Palms through TripAdvisor and spent two nights here in mid-January 2013. The hotel is beautiful -- great rooms, pretty (though small) pool area, clean breakfast nook. It's close enough to Duval Street and other Key West attractions, too (easy 10 minute walk or quick bike ride), but not so close that you're dealing with lots of noise or foot traffic. We had an inside-facing room, so had a view of the pool and a cute little balcony, and luckily didn't hear any Key West roosters making noise at night. We rented bikes one day for just $13 a pop, and were grateful for the free parking.

For whatever reason, however, our room was never made up, even though we were out sightseeing from about 9am to 4pm and had the proper tag on the door. We did alert the front desk and were given fresh towels, but when we talked to them further about the mishap, they said they clean rooms of those checking out first, then get to the rooms of current guests, and weren't particularly apologetic. So that did put a bit of a damper on the stay. But overall it was pretty great, and I would definitely go back.

Room Tip: As others have said, do ask for an inside-facing room to avoid any outside noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jennifer S, General Manager at Silver Palms Inn, responded to this review, February 10, 2013
Dear KatieinNY295:

Thank you for sharing your experience about your recent stay. The Silver Palms Inn is continuously striving to provide the best experience for our guests. That is why it is disappointing to hear about the mishap with the housekeeping service during your stay with us. While it is true that we clean the checkouts first and the guests who are staying over last, it is still unacceptable that we did not deliver our services to you. Please accept our sincere apologies for the miscommunication. We are pleased that you enjoyed your stay overall and we hope that you come back and vacation with us again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 4, 2013

Hotel is well located, clean and quiet. Staff were friendly and helpful providing info on things to do and places to eat. Small fitness facility that could use air conditioning. Nice pool. Short walk to main street.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jennifer S, General Manager at Silver Palms Inn, responded to this review, February 10, 2013
Dear T-Rex-Jr:

We are so glad to hear that you enjoyed your recent stay with us. We truly appreciate your feedback. We did want to clarify that the fitness room does have air conditioning. The energy efficient air conditioning works the same way in which the units work in the guest rooms. You simply place the key in the docking station by the light switch in order to activate it. We're doing our part to help conserve energy by having this feature at our hotel. The next time you visit Key West, please don't hesitate to give us a call. We'd love to see you again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kitchener, Canada
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 3, 2013

We thoroughly enjoyed our two night stay at the Silver Palms Inn. It was exceptionally clean and we found it very quiet. What a treat to have an elevator to the third floor rather than walking the stairs. The pool was refreshing and a great place to relax in the sun.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jennifer S, General Manager at Silver Palms Inn, responded to this review, February 10, 2013
Dear Judy M:

Thank you for taking the time to share your experience on TripAdvisor. We truly appreciate it! We're happy that you were able to relax and soak up some sun at our pool. Please come back and visit us again soon. We'll have plenty of sunshine waiting for you!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
quinton, al
2 reviews
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 1, 2013

My dauther and I truly enjoyed our experience at the Silver Palms. The rooms were very nice and the staff went out of their way to make our stay enjoyable. The location to Duval St and other areas is great. We felt very safe walking back from town at night even late at night.

The breakfast that is served every morning is really great and we liked the idea that there was fresh fruit and water available all the time in the lobby. We would definatly stay here again!!!

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jennifer S, General Manager at Silver Palms Inn, responded to this review, February 10, 2013
Dear Bandmom08:

We're delighted to hear that you and your daughter truly enjoyed your experience at the Silver Palms Inn. Thank you for taking the time to write a review. Our staff members appreciate our guests and always enjoy being able to accommodate them. Your kind words about their efforts have been passed on to them. We hope you come back to vacation with us again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Silver Palms Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Silver Palms Inn

Address: 830 Truman Avenue, Key West, FL 33040
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Florida Keys > Key West
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #19 of 44 Hotels in Key West
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Silver Palms Inn 3.5*
Number of rooms: 50
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Silver Palms Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Silver Palms Hotel Key West

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Silver Palms Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.