We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good solid place to stay” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Silver Palms Inn

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Silver Palms Inn to your Saves list
Silver Palms Inn
3.5 of 5 Motel   |   830 Truman Avenue, Key West, FL 33040   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Click for Fall Special
Ranked #13 of 41 Hotels in Key West
Doylestown pa
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Good solid place to stay”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 1, 2013 via mobile

We enjoyed our stay. Quiet place to stay while still being close to everything in Key West. We would definitely stay there on our next visit to town. We liked the on-site parking and the morning breakfast and free coffee all day.

  • Stayed January 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jennifer S, General Manager at Silver Palms Inn, responded to this review, February 8, 2013
Dear Jsb2011:

Thank you for the solid review about your stay at the Silver Palms Inn. Our location is very convenient for our guests to explore Key West. Please don't hesitate to give us a call the next time you plan on visiting Key West. We'll be ready and waiting to make your reservations for you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

906 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    480
    318
    79
    10
    19
See reviews for
179
472
13
8
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (208)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Atlanta, Georgia
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 31, 2013

New and Sustainable. Energy Saving rooms. Great size. Parking on site. Perfect location. Friendly staff. No need for an alarm clock or wakeup call; nearby rooster crows at the crack of dawn. Will definately stay again.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jennifer S, General Manager at Silver Palms Inn, responded to this review, February 8, 2013
Dear Geenie954:

Thank you for taking the time to write about your recent stay with us. We are so happy to hear that you appreciate that we are a green hotel. As you saw, we even go as far as having "green" alarm clocks to wake you up in the morning! Just kidding! We also truly appreciate that you were understanding about the roosters. They are a part of the Key West culture. We (and the roosters) look forward to seeing you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kenai, Alaska
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 27, 2013

I wanted to find a place from which my husband and I could walk to nearby attractions, but we are not into the funky old hotels and B&Bs, so this was a great choice. The room was clean and modern, the staff (primarily Serge) was helpful and answered all of our questions, and we were able to walk everywhere from this great location. The breakfast buffet is well stocked, and as others have mentioned they do supply ear plugs to block out the noise of the Key West chickens. When I booked online it showed that a two night minimum stay was required, so plan accordingly.

Room Tip: Our room was right by the elevator on the ground floor, but we didn't hear any noise from other...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jennifer S, General Manager at Silver Palms Inn, responded to this review, January 30, 2013
Dear aktravelers2008:

Thank you for writing such a great review about your recent stay. We're glad you did your homework and wound up choosing the Silver Palms Inn for your stay in Key West. We think our property fits the phrase "Location, location, location". Please know that we only require a two night minimum length of stay on Saturdays only. This does not apply to every night of the week. Overall we are glad you enjoyed your stay with us and we hope that you'll come back again and see us!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Feeding Hills, Massachusetts, United States
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2013

Silver Palms was the most expensive digs we enjoyed while in key west, at over $300 night, but not certainly the most expensive place to stay and we did enjoy it! Very clean, free continental breakfast, 2 free waters, chocolate at the desk and great parking comes with the room rate, rare in key west. Excellent service and staff. Earplugs come with the room because of the likelihood of roosters crowing at 4:30am or so. Earplugs were effective for the most part. The louder noise was poolside during Jell-O shots and beer pong for the many frat boys who stayed there. Small pool area was nice but no jacuzzi and certainly no privacy. Would stay there again but would try to get a better rate. Close walk to almost anything in key Peter, the desk man, was very helpful and courteous. I also appreciated the make up remover cloths they provided!

Room Tip: Ask not to be near pool as it can get loud with the wrong crowd there. Not near the ocean. We enjoye...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jennifer S, General Manager at Silver Palms Inn, responded to this review, January 30, 2013
Dear Ruth B:

We're glad you enjoyed our digs! Thank you for the nice review. Compared to the other hotels in the Old Town area of Key West, we find that our rates are very competitive. While it is true that the rates are on the higher end, please know that the time of your travel was during our in-season. Peter has been informed of your kind words of praise and he truly appreciates being recognized. Please feel free to call us directly the next time you would like to visit. We offer our return guests a nice discount to show them how much they are appreciated. See you soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Laurel, Maryland, United States
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2013

I thoroughly enjoyed our stay at the Silver Palms. I don't know if it is new or freshly renovated, but everything from the lobby to the last piece of furniture is clean and new. The decorations were nice, and the overall accommodations were very nice. The staff was friendly and helpful. I also liked the included breakfast, which had a decent variety including pastries, bagels, cereal, fruit, juice and even hard boiled eggs. The coffee was OK.

Two minor criticisms. The sheets did not stay put on the bed. My husband teases me about being the princess from the Princess and the Pea. I can not stand to have sheets bunching up and wrinkling beneath me. The other is that the hotel is located on Truman Avenue, which is a pretty heavily traveled road for Key West and the road noise was loud enough to encourage us to keep the windows closed. The hotel kindly provides ear plugs, which were standard in the room when we arrived. So, this has obviously been an issue in the past.

Also, if you are looking for a place at the heart of the Old Town, this is a bit further off, but still within walking distance. It is just a bit more of a walk. It's about four blocks off Duvall street more towards the Southernmost Point than Mallory Square.

Room Tip: Ask for a room away from the street.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jennifer S, General Manager at Silver Palms Inn, responded to this review, January 30, 2013
Dear JoJo911MD:

We thoroughly enjoyed your review about your recent stay with us. We are one of Key West's newest properties and we take great pride in our hotel. We apologize about the issue you had with the sheets not staying put. This is something that we have never had an issue with and we are currently looking into it. We appreciate your feedback. Please feel free to contact us the next time you visit the island. We'd love to make your reservations for you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois, United States
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 22, 2013

Very clean facility with modern well kept rooms and public areas. Staff was great, from meet and greet to everything in between. Looked at quite a few options online, from beachfront to higher end hotels like the Waldorf or Hyatt and glad I choose the Silver Palms Inn. Key West is about having a comfortable play to stay and getting out and about to see all things fun to do. Two or so city blocks from Duval Street was perfect for walking and enjoying. Thanks again-Pete from Chicago

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jennifer S, General Manager at Silver Palms Inn, responded to this review, January 30, 2013
Dear Pete L:

Just as you were glad you chose the Silver Palms Inn, we were very happy you chose us too! While we are not a beach front hotel, many of our guests such as yourself choose us because we are just a few short blocks from Duval Street. It makes it easier to explore and enjoy all Key West has to offer. It's nice to hear you made it back to Chicago safely. When you want to escape the cold weather again and need some sunshine, don't hesitate to visit us again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tampa, Florida
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 22, 2013

We just spent a long weekend in Key West and stayed at the Silver Palms Inn. We were pleasantly surprised. For Key West, the rates were very affordable. The hotel itself is new, clean & quiet. The staff was very courteous and helpful and everything was still within walking distance. We'd definitely stay here again when we come back to Key West.....

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jennifer S, General Manager at Silver Palms Inn, responded to this review, January 30, 2013
Dear Dan T:

We're delighted you chose to stay with us as the Silver Palms Inn fro your extended weekend getaway to Key West. Thank you for taking the time to write such a pleasant review. Our staff appreciates our guests and enjoy being as helpful as possible. We'd definitely love to have you back as our guests again. Come and visit us soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Silver Palms Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Silver Palms Inn

Address: 830 Truman Avenue, Key West, FL 33040
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Florida Keys > Key West
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #13 of 41 Hotels in Key West
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Silver Palms Inn 3.5*
Number of rooms: 50
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity, Otel, Expedia, Priceline, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Silver Palms Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Silver Palms Hotel Key West

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Silver Palms Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.