We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nicely priced hotel with free parking and updated rooms.” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Silver Palms Inn

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Silver Palms Inn to your Saves list
Silver Palms Inn
3.5 of 5 Motel   |   830 Truman Avenue, Key West, FL 33040   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Announcement
Click for Super Savings
Ranked #18 of 44 Hotels in Key West
Belle Mead, New Jersey
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“Nicely priced hotel with free parking and updated rooms.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 16, 2013

We stayed in Key West for almost a week and did not want to take out a second mortgage to pay for a hotel room, so based on reviews we chose the Silver Palms Inn. Rooms are beautiful, staff is very friendly and the breakfast is sufficient to energizing yourself for a day of adventure. We did not use the pool, but it looked on the small side. We guessed that if you wanted a lazy day, it would be a nice place to hang out. It's not a perfect location. If you are spending most of your time near Front and the popular parts of Duval streets, wear comfortable shoes for walking the distance or a rent a bike for getting around. For that reason alone, the next time we will choose a hotel closer to our favorite venues. For those wanting a bargain with beautifully decorated hotel and FREE parking...this is a great choice.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jennifer S, General Manager at Silver Palms Inn, responded to this review, January 24, 2013
Dear Joni P:

Thank you for choosing the Silver Palms Inn for your week long getaway to Key West. While you may have been a little disappointed with our location in relation to Front and Greene Street, we are happy to hear that you had a pleasant stay with us overall. Your recommendation for renting bikes is always a great idea to get around. We even have them here on the property for a daily fee for our guests to rent. Even though you will not be staying with us the next time you visit Key West, please feel free to stop in and say hello.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

949 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    501
    333
    84
    11
    20
See reviews for
183
499
13
8
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (214)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Charleston, South Carolina
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 14, 2013

My husband and I just returned from a stay in Key West and stayed at the Silver Palms Inn for two nights. It was great! We would stay here again and recommend it to our friends without hesitation. We could walk to Duval Street and Mallory Square, Hemingway's House, Louie's Backyard, etc.... a perfect location really and it included free parking. The rooms are very nice, like a boutique hotel. Look at the hotel's photos. We had a room overlooking the courtyard and it was very quiet. The spacious rooms have everything you need and a small balcony. Breakfast was included; it doesn't include hot food but it has everything else you could want. The staff went out of their way to help us when we asked for information about the photographs on the walls on the Inn.

Room Tip: The rooms overlooking Truman Street might be noisier than those with balconies overlooking the pool...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jennifer S, General Manager at Silver Palms Inn, responded to this review, January 24, 2013
Dear Palmettotraveller:

We are delighted to hear that you and your husband thoroughly enjoyed your stay with us. Thank you for sharing your experience here on TripAdvisor. We are glad we could assist you with the information on the artwork in the guest rooms. We hope that the website we provided has what you are looking for when in comes to decorating your new guesthouse. We wish you the best of luck with it! We hope to see you again soon, You just have to promise to bring pictures with you of the new place when you come back to Key West. We'd love to see them!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lehighton, Pennsylvania
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 10, 2013

Beautiful place in key west. Rooms are spacious, beautifully appointed, laminate flooring (yeah!!), microwave, fridge, coffee pot, lovely heated pool, comfy, clean and safe. Would come back here in a heart beat!!

  • Stayed January 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jennifer S, General Manager at Silver Palms Inn, responded to this review, January 20, 2013
Dear Allentowntoboston:

Thank you for your wonderful review about your recent stay. We're glad you enjoyed it! We get a lot of compliments about not having carpets in the guest rooms from our guests. We, as well as our guests, find it much better and more sanitary. We do hope you come back in a heartbeat! Hope to see you soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 10, 2013

Our room was great and we had a balcony with a view of the pool. In a great location, easy walk to Duval, but not directly on the strip. They are obviously concerned with energy conservation as you put a key card into the slot by the door to have the lights come on and take it out when you leave, I had never seen this before but found it interesting idea. Some have mentioned and it is true, you can hear the roosters in the early morning hours, we put the AC a little higher to try to drown them out a little, but I don't suppose this is really something that can be helped as we saw a bunch of the roosters wandering all around Key West

Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jennifer S, General Manager at Silver Palms Inn, responded to this review, January 20, 2013
Dear eee950:

We're so glad you had a great stay with us at the Silver Palms Inn. Thank you for writing a review about it. As you had mentioned, we are very conscious of the environment. Our energy conserving system for our air conditioning and lights are highly praised by our guests. it makes us feel good knowing we are doing our part by helping the environment around us. We'd also like to thank you for understanding about the roosters. They are a part of history here in Key West. While some people may find them a nuisance, others enjoy them and relate them to their experience on the island. Come back and visit us anytime!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oslo, Norway
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 9, 2013

Room was lovely and clean. Continental breakfast and garage included. Overall very satisfied and would stay here again :) Location was good, some blocks off Duval St. Beds were really comfortable. Wifi was included and was not always steady, but could be the Iphone.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jennifer S, General Manager at Silver Palms Inn, responded to this review, January 20, 2013
Dear Kine S:

We're glad you made it back to Norway safely! Thank you for taking the time to share your experience on TripAdvisor. We know it may not be that easy for you to come back soon due to being so far away. Even so, we hope that one day you do come back to visit us!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kanata, Canada
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 7, 2013

We stayed at the Silver Palms for two nights and found the staff very curtious and helpful. The rooms were very clean and neat. The pool area is a little small for the amount of rooms, so you must claim your space early by placing a personal item such as a towel on a chair.

We found the air conditioning to blow directly towards to beds. When it came on which sent a freezing breeze on us every half hour or so. My wife turned up the thermostat which made some of us (male) very hot. The second night I blocked the air conditioner with the arm chair which stopped the air from hitting us directly. This worked very well. They should change their AC units with vents that can be positioned to change the air flow direction. The beds were comfortable and neat.

The hotel is located in a central location in the Keys which is in walking distance to most attractions.

The WIFI didn't worked too well with newer devices such as Smart phones but was OK with our laptop. It seem to work better after the reset the wireless router.

I would recommend the Silver Palm especially when comparing it to others in the area which are run down.

Room Tip: Pool side rooms are great, especially with the balcony looking over the pool which makes it easy to...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jennifer S, General Manager at Silver Palms Inn, responded to this review, January 20, 2013
Dear Richard B:

Thank you for taking the time to write a review about your recent stay with us at the Silver Palms Inn. We are happy to hear that you thought our hotel was very clean and neat compared to other hotels. We take great pride in the upkeep of our property. A lot of our guests choose our hotel because of the convenience of our location as you had mentioned. It's always a plus to just be able to park your car and leave it while you walk around and explore. Please feel free to call us the next time you return to Key West. We'd really like to see you again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Silver Palms Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Silver Palms Inn

Address: 830 Truman Avenue, Key West, FL 33040
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Florida Keys > Key West
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #18 of 44 Hotels in Key West
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Silver Palms Inn 3.5*
Number of rooms: 50
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Silver Palms Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Silver Palms Hotel Key West

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Silver Palms Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.