We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very Nice but not cheap” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Silver Palms Inn

Save Saved
You added Silver Palms Inn to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Silver Palms Inn
3.5 of 5 Motel   |   830 Truman Avenue, Key West, FL 33040   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Click for Summer Special
Ranked #16 of 41 Hotels in Key West
Berlin, New Jersey
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Very Nice but not cheap”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 5, 2013

Let me start off by saying this is a very new hotel with a great location to everything you need to do in Key West. Its very clean without the typical hotel odors and stains in the room.Modern comfy queen beds and large shower which is important after a long day there. Also very energy efficient from lighting in rooms to airconditioner that automaticly shuts off when balcony door opens. Only bad thing thing about air conditioning is the temp range. It would shut off at 73 but wouldn't come on till it was very warm in the room. The continental breakfast was just OK. I have had better at places half the cost. Overall none of these things are a deal breaker and we did book at peak seasons prices. I would recomend it and stay there again although probably not for that rate.

Room Tip: We had a balcony / pool view which was very quiet
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jennifer S, General Manager at Silver Palms Inn, responded to this review, January 11, 2013
Dear Joe S:

Thank you for taking the time to share your experience on TripAdvisor about your recent stay at the Silver Palms Inn. We're glad that you enjoyed your stay with us. Being that we are located in Old Town Key West, we find that our prices are competitive with the other establishments in the area. As you had mentioned, it is true that you stayed with us during peak season. Our rates tend to be at their lowest during August and September when the island is a little bit quieter. Perhaps you can come back and visit us again during that time? We'd really like for you to come back and see us. We look forward to seeing you again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

867 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    456
    305
    77
    10
    19
See reviews for
174
445
13
8
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (198)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Providence, Rhode Island
1 review
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 3, 2013

DON’T STAY AT THIS HOTEL – unless they guarantee you a room that faces towards the pool (half their rooms) or you can sleep through the sounds of rooster crowing ALL NIGHT LONG! We called over a month ahead to ensure we were getting the room types we needed and to request pool facing rooms; alas we were not given them. I hope for two things on vacation – SLEEP and a decent shower. I got neither at this hotel. The rooms come with foam ear plugs (although they are not even the tapered style that every Home Depot carries), which are not enough to completely muffle the rooster crowing. After only a few hours of sleep the first night, we visited the front desk the first morning, but there was no manager on duty (Christmas Day). Throw in their internet/wi-fi being down for two days, the very low water pressure, with the four nights of disturbed sleep – needless to say we did not have a great stay. And here comes the second reason I would find another place to stay. The Silver Palms Inn is not a chain hotel, and I like to support small, local businesses. In return for my support, I look for small businesses that value their customers and perhaps provide better, more personalized customer service. On that front, the Silver Palms Inn fails miserably. Hotel management appeared unsympathetic to our plight, saying they had not been informed of our complaint (which means their staff doesn’t reliably record information, or that you have to make a big enough “scene” at the front desk for them to do so). Further, the hotel ownership was not prepared to provide any meaningful response, not even to compensate for my additional out-of-pocket expense for two days of wi-fi I had to purchase elsewhere. So, if your going to support a local business, find one that values its customers more.

Room Tip: Don't stay unless they Guarantee you a room facing the pool -- and only then if you can't fi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melton Mowbray, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
80 reviews 80 reviews
65 hotel reviews
Reviews in 58 cities Reviews in 58 cities
70 helpful votes 70 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 30, 2012

We initially booked 5 nights via Hotwire having read the review on TA, then extended our stay by a further 4 nights directly with the hotel as we liked both the accomodation and Key West so much. Got a good deal of about £575 in total for all 9 nights. Booking direct with the hotel meant not paying the "resort fee" of $15 (not sure what this is for exactly)

It would appear that Silver Palms is a newly refurbished place and was previously called El Rancho (see certificate in the lift) they have done an excellent job. I didn't even bother taking photo's as our room was exactly as per the hotel website.

So whats very good, in my opinion:

Location: prime spot on Truman, easy walking distance from all of old / downtown Key West, we hardly used our jeep and didn't bother hiring bicycles as found it so convenient to get about on our own two legs. We had a room facing the next property and it was quiet most of the time. Other guests in the parking area made some noise at night now and again but the road was not an issue.

Rooms: layout is well thought out giving plenty of space for clothing and bags and for two people. There is additional seating and a small balcony with chairs. They have also separated the toilet and shower from the sink which makes it easier for two of you. All decor is modern, plenty of lighting and there is a TV, safe, fridge and microwave. Free Wifi om rooms. Pool towels provided. Aircon was very cold, I did have to turn it off after an hour or so in the room but my husband thought it good. It was quite loud but it didn't disturb my sleep.

Extras: Free tea, coffee, water and lemonade in lobby (useful when you are around the pool). Laptops for hire.

Service: Room was kept spotless. When we booked the extra 4 nights, the receptionist checked the internet for the best rate. Reception manned at all times with helpful pleasant staff. Pool and pool area kept clean, comfy sun loungers.

What stopped me giving it an "excellent" rating:

Aircraft noise - regular flights from local airport passed over hotel, not big planes but still noisy.
Pool area - very sheltered and becomes very hot, started to be an issue on a couple of afternoons when trying to read!

We had breakfast included. It is self service though there are staff on hand to tidy, replenish etc.. and it was on until quite late. Selection of bread, pastries, cereals, yoghurts and enough to keep you going until lunch.

Very mixed guests, couples, families and groups.

This would definitely be somewhere I would recomend for a mid price range hotel in Key West.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jennifer S, General Manager at Silver Palms Inn, responded to this review, January 11, 2013
Dear PorkpieUk:

We're delighted that you chose to extend your Key West Vacation with us at the Silver Palms Inn. Thank you for taking the time to write a review about your experience with us. We truly appreciate the compliment about how accurate our photos on our website are. Photos are a driving factor when it comes to someone choosing a location for their accommodations. Therefore, we know it is a necessity to showcase our property in an honest light. We hope you come back to Key West again soon. We'd love to have you as our guests again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bellingham, MA
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 28, 2012

We were pleasantly surprised when arriving; the hotel seemed brand new and is only 1/4 mile from the eating/shopping district on Duval St. Our room was spacious and had a little balcony looking to the street. It got a bit noisy overnight being close to the road, but they provide earplugs in the room so it wasn't really an issue. Everything was extremely clean and the staff were friendly. Breakfast had a good selection of pastries, cereal,and the like so we were satisfied with it as well. The pool area was very nice with some comfortable lounge chairs, but unfortunately they allow smoking so we couldn't enjoy it as much as we would have liked. All considered, we would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jennifer S, General Manager at Silver Palms Inn, responded to this review, January 4, 2013
Dear ccdugga:

We're glad you were pleasantly surprised with our spacious accommodations. Thank you for your kind review. We're sorry to hear that you were disappointed about the smoking allowed by the pool. Being that all of our guest rooms including the balconies are non-smoking, we have to have a designated area for our guests who smoke. Given this one issue, we are happy that you enjoyed your stay overall. We hope to see you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Danbury, Connecticut
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 27, 2012

The Silver Palms on Truman is very modern, with great decor and close to Duval. We stayed on the third floor and we we got back to our room from dinner the sewer was backing up into the drain in the bathroom floor and the sink was not draining. We called the front desk and we were asked if we wanted to use air fresher or change rooms, the night manager did not return with a new room nor was our rate discounted even after we complained once we checked out the next morning. The rates were very expensive and the service was not conducive to what we paid.
It's a beautiful hotel but the language barrier (miminal English) might be a problem.
Roosters start calling at 5am so use the ear plugs provided.

Room Tip: Roosters can be heard from every room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jennifer S, General Manager at Silver Palms Inn, responded to this review, January 4, 2013
Dear Indy P:

Thank you for taking the time to share your thoughts with us on TripAdvisor. We apologize for the inconvenience that you encountered during your stay with us. Upon speaking with the staff, it was noted that we did try to accommodate you by switching you to a different room or cleaning the room that you were in. Both efforts to help rectify the situation were declined. We also offered a discount on an additional night as you had expressed thoughts of extending your stay for an extra day. When you had decided not to stay the additional night, we then also offered you a discount on a future stay . That offer still stands if you plan on visiting Key West again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
USA
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 26, 2012

If you are headed to Key West and are looking for a solid mid to slighlty upper range hotel, this property is worth considering. Located on the left side of Rt 1. 4 or 5 blocks from Duval Street, it has on site parking which is very nice. Rooms are modern and well furnished; and breakfast is included. Knowledgable and helpful staff.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jennifer S, General Manager at Silver Palms Inn, responded to this review, January 4, 2013
Dear RoamerUSA:

Thank you for the solid review about your experience at our hotel. We are delighted that you enjoyed the amenities we offer to our guests. We often receive much praise about the convenience of our ample amount of parking. We all know Key West is very limited when it comes to parking. We hope you come back to visit us again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stuart, Florida
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 26, 2012

We stayed 2 nites over Christmas. We wanted something close to Duval street and shops and available parking.The location was perfect.lots of parking,nice pool and fitness. Excellent rooms and very clean. And a decent continental breakfast. We'll be back

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jennifer S, General Manager at Silver Palms Inn, responded to this review, January 4, 2013
Dear PETE9567:

We're happy that you chose the Silver Palms Inn for your two day Christmas retreat to Key West. We hope you had a wonderful holiday! Thank you for taking the time to share your experience on TripAdvisor. Please feel free to call us for your return visit. We look forward to seeing you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Silver Palms Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Silver Palms Inn

Address: 830 Truman Avenue, Key West, FL 33040
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Florida Keys > Key West
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Free Parking Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #16 of 41 Hotels in Key West
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Silver Palms Inn 3.5*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Orbitz, Booking.com, Expedia, Tingo, Travelocity, Otel, Priceline, Odigeo and Venere so you can book your Silver Palms Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Silver Palms Hotel Key West

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Silver Palms Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.