We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location and spacious room” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Silver Palms Inn

Save Saved
You added Silver Palms Inn to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Silver Palms Inn
3.5 of 5 Motel   |   830 Truman Avenue, Key West, FL 33040   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Click for Summer Special
Ranked #17 of 41 hotels in Key West
Los Angeles
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“Great location and spacious room”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 20, 2012

Perfect spot for our recent getaway to Key West. Centrally located - only two blocks off Duval - and nicely appointed room. Solid windows and walls made for a quiet room. Very spacious and comfortable. No jacuzzi, which was a disappointment, but otherwise we were very happy with the Silver Palms Inn.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jennifer S, General Manager at Silver Palms Inn, responded to this review, November 23, 2012
Dear sugartmp:

Thank you for staying with us for your Key West getaway! We are pleased to hear that you enjoyed our comfortable, spacious rooms. Please feel free to contact us directly the next time you decide to visit Key West. We'll be more than happy to accommodate you!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

857 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    451
    300
    77
    10
    19
See reviews for
173
440
13
8
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (198)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Brooklyn, NY
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 19, 2012

Found this hotel on Booking.com and was very, very happy with our stay - everything in Key West was an easy walk - or bike ride from the Silver Palms. The balcony rooms and being able to get fresh air was lovely - the lobby area and pool area - everything actually was immaculately clean. Our first night we walked to dinner around the corner at Seven Fish (must have reservation) Saturday night we walked over to Louie's Backyard which was a heavenly amazing experience. Also hit Fort Zachary State Park beach after buying beach shoes at CVS. LOVED LOVED LOVED Key West and will def book again at the Silver Palms Inn. Having parking available since we did our first drive down from Miami was a highlight too.

Room Tip: King balcony over looking the pool was nice
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jennifer S, General Manager at Silver Palms Inn, responded to this review, November 23, 2012
Dear superfriend620:

We are so glad that you chose the Silver Palms Inn as your destination from Miami. From the sound of your review, it seems as though you really got to experience all the great things that Key West has to offer. It's always a plus when everything is in close proximity to the hotel. Our guests love that about our hotel. We look forward to you coming back to visit us again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cocoa Beach, Florida
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 17, 2012

I had initially/ blindly reserved at The Inn at Key West; I am so grateful I continued to reaserch and came across the Silver Palms Inn. It's fantastically located just north of Duval Street, walking distance from the shops, pubs, and restaurants. The hotel is simple and clean on the outside, but let me tell you, I wish I lived in room 204. Beautiful, clean Jr. King suite with a balcony overlooking the activity on Truman Ave. It's says a lot when an active couple in their late 20s choose to come cozy up in their room vs hit the night action. Thank you for being conventiently located not directly on the main strip, but in just the right location for R&R and to easliy walk or bike to everything. Love the cleanliness, clean color scheme and how comfortable the bed and linens are. And the lemonade in the lobby, don't ever get rid of it! I'll be back just for that! Thanks for making our stay so easy, comfortable and memorable!

Room Tip: Our room (204) was beautiful and overlooked Truman Ave. If was fun to watch all the foot traffic, bu...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jennifer S, General Manager at Silver Palms Inn, responded to this review, November 18, 2012
Dear Bewitched22:

Thank you for choosing to stay with us as the Silver Palms Inn. We're glad to hear that you felt that your research paid off! We are delighted that you fully enjoyed your stay in room 204. Please feel free to give us a call the next time you plan on coming to Key West. We'll be more than happy to try to reserve 204 for you again. As for the lemonade...no need to worry. That is one of our special touches that won't be going anywhere! We'll be sure to have a nice cold glass waiting for you the next time you arrive.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sebring, Florida
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 15, 2012

The silver Palms was a beautiful hotel. It was very close to Duvall and situated close to the center. The rooms were very nice with lovely balconies. The pool looked great, although I didn't get to try it this time, a lot of people were enjoying it. The parking was great and seemed more private then street parking. It had a nice breakfast. Boiled eggs for protein and danish, bagels, cereal for us carb people. Staff was very friendly. Alittle noisy one night from next door B&B, Buti its Key West. Don't go if you want a quiet time.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jennifer S, General Manager at Silver Palms Inn, responded to this review, November 18, 2012
Dear marissa l:

Thank you for writing such a wonderful review about your stay. We're sorry you weren't able to take advantage of using the pool. Now that just gives you another reason to come back to Key West and stay with us again! Please feel free to give us a call to make your future reservations. Our friendly staff will be more than willing to assist you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Myrtle Beach SC
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 12, 2012

This hotel is stunning. It is clean, fresh, beautifully furnished, and updated. The pool area is gorgeous and the breakfast was wonderful too. The hotel staff went to Croissants de France in Key West to get some of their breakfast items, which were delicious (Hint: try the almond croissants)!! The staff were the most friendly and professional staff I have seen yet. Free parking. A couple of blocks from Duval. Very safe. The only downside was the location of our "city view" room, whose balcony overlooked an unattractive laundry service with roosters running around everywhere. Still, sitting out on the porch was very nice (and a rare instance, as we did not have time to stay in the room much!). The room had plantation shutters...no need for screens as I never saw a bug or fly flying in my room or anywhere in Key West, for that matter! If the balcony view is really important to you, get a pool view, not a city view. On a side note, after owning a small construction company, I can honestly say that the grout job in our bathroom was perfect. Impressive bath. Next time I go to Key West, I will be very disappointed if Silver Palms is unavailable. FYI: Key West hotels will add a resort tax to your bill, no matter where you book (hotels.com had a great price for the 2 nights I was there, but did not include the $15 per night resort tax). I stayed after Fantasy Fest but before the Parrothead convention. Take the City Tour bus and go to 12 stops around Key West all day whenever you want to and get on and off whenever you want to! Gil and his crew were very informative and happy to do what they do!

Room Tip: The only downside was to the location of our "city view" room, whose balcony overlooked an...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jennifer S, General Manager at Silver Palms Inn, responded to this review, November 18, 2012
Dear dunebugandmissbug:

You make us feel like gold for writing such a nice review about your stay with us! Thank you for taking the time to share your experience. We're glad that you enjoyed the breakfast that we offer every morning. The almond croissants that we get delivered fresh every morning from Croissants de France are always a favorite with our guests. It looks like we just gained another fan! Please feel free to call us the next time you come to Key West for a visit. We'd love to make reservations for you!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Plainfield, Connecticut
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 11, 2012

Just returned from a 5 night stay at the Silver Palms in Key West. Great location off Duval just far enough away to be quiet yet close enough to walk to all the attractions and resturaunts. Room was large and very clean. Pool was a tad small but I was happy they had one!! Continental Breakfast was provided daily so this added value in my eyes. Staff was friendly and helpful. Overall we had a great stay and I would recommend this hotel for the budget minded traveler.

Room Tip: The hotel provides ear plugs for guests to help drown out the crowing in the morning but that is par...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jennifer S, General Manager at Silver Palms Inn, responded to this review, November 18, 2012
Dear Sue R:

Thank you for the great review about your stay with us! It's a pleasure to hear you enjoyed the amenities that we offer such as the continental breakfast to our guests. We truly appreciate your recommendations to your friends and colleagues. We just hope that you come back to visit us again too. Hope to see you soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlotte, North Carolina, United States
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 11, 2012

My husband and I decided to stay at the Silver Palms Inn for our destination wedding. It was nice, but if you're looking for super friendly concierge or quality breakfast (the orange juice in this tropical paradise was disgusting here), find another place to stay. If you want to be close to downtown, but off Duval, and want to stay in a super nice motel, this place is perfect. We had a nice, small room with a nice balcony. The pool was also nice, but it is attached to the parking lot.

Basically, if you don't care where you're staying and want basic, no hassle accommodations then this place will work for you. If you want something a little nicer (say, you're getting married and don't know what you're getting yourself into), find another place to stay.

Room Tip: There are cute B&Bs for the same price to less right around the corner that offer WAY more than...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jennifer S, General Manager at Silver Palms Inn, responded to this review, November 18, 2012
Dear HKF86:

On behalf of the entire staff at the Silver Palms Inn, we'd like to congratulate you on getting married. We are glad that you chose our hotel for your special trip to Key West. However, it is disappointing that your stay did not meet your expectations. Thank you for taking the time to share your experience on Tripadvisor. We wish you the best of luck and may you have continued happiness in beginning this new chapter of your lives together.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Silver Palms Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Silver Palms Inn

Address: 830 Truman Avenue, Key West, FL 33040
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Florida Keys > Key West
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #17 of 41 hotels in Key West
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Silver Palms Inn 3.5*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Tingo, Travelocity, Otel, Priceline, BookingOdigeoWL, Expedia and Venere so you can book your Silver Palms Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Silver Palms Hotel Key West

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Silver Palms Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.