We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Silver Palms in Key West is true Gold!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Silver Palms Inn

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Silver Palms Inn to your Saves list
Silver Palms Inn
3.5 of 5 Motel   |   830 Truman Avenue, Key West, FL 33040   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Click for Fall Special
Ranked #16 of 43 Hotels in Key West
Myrtle Beach SC
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Silver Palms in Key West is true Gold!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 12, 2012

This hotel is stunning. It is clean, fresh, beautifully furnished, and updated. The pool area is gorgeous and the breakfast was wonderful too. The hotel staff went to Croissants de France in Key West to get some of their breakfast items, which were delicious (Hint: try the almond croissants)!! The staff were the most friendly and professional staff I have seen yet. Free parking. A couple of blocks from Duval. Very safe. The only downside was the location of our "city view" room, whose balcony overlooked an unattractive laundry service with roosters running around everywhere. Still, sitting out on the porch was very nice (and a rare instance, as we did not have time to stay in the room much!). The room had plantation shutters...no need for screens as I never saw a bug or fly flying in my room or anywhere in Key West, for that matter! If the balcony view is really important to you, get a pool view, not a city view. On a side note, after owning a small construction company, I can honestly say that the grout job in our bathroom was perfect. Impressive bath. Next time I go to Key West, I will be very disappointed if Silver Palms is unavailable. FYI: Key West hotels will add a resort tax to your bill, no matter where you book (hotels.com had a great price for the 2 nights I was there, but did not include the $15 per night resort tax). I stayed after Fantasy Fest but before the Parrothead convention. Take the City Tour bus and go to 12 stops around Key West all day whenever you want to and get on and off whenever you want to! Gil and his crew were very informative and happy to do what they do!

Room Tip: The only downside was to the location of our "city view" room, whose balcony overlooked an...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jennifer S, General Manager at Silver Palms Inn, responded to this review, November 18, 2012
Dear dunebugandmissbug:

You make us feel like gold for writing such a nice review about your stay with us! Thank you for taking the time to share your experience. We're glad that you enjoyed the breakfast that we offer every morning. The almond croissants that we get delivered fresh every morning from Croissants de France are always a favorite with our guests. It looks like we just gained another fan! Please feel free to call us the next time you come to Key West for a visit. We'd love to make reservations for you!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

934 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    492
    329
    84
    10
    19
See reviews for
183
491
13
8
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (211)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Plainfield, Connecticut
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 11, 2012

Just returned from a 5 night stay at the Silver Palms in Key West. Great location off Duval just far enough away to be quiet yet close enough to walk to all the attractions and resturaunts. Room was large and very clean. Pool was a tad small but I was happy they had one!! Continental Breakfast was provided daily so this added value in my eyes. Staff was friendly and helpful. Overall we had a great stay and I would recommend this hotel for the budget minded traveler.

Room Tip: The hotel provides ear plugs for guests to help drown out the crowing in the morning but that is par...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jennifer S, General Manager at Silver Palms Inn, responded to this review, November 18, 2012
Dear Sue R:

Thank you for the great review about your stay with us! It's a pleasure to hear you enjoyed the amenities that we offer such as the continental breakfast to our guests. We truly appreciate your recommendations to your friends and colleagues. We just hope that you come back to visit us again too. Hope to see you soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlotte, North Carolina, United States
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 11, 2012

My husband and I decided to stay at the Silver Palms Inn for our destination wedding. It was nice, but if you're looking for super friendly concierge or quality breakfast (the orange juice in this tropical paradise was disgusting here), find another place to stay. If you want to be close to downtown, but off Duval, and want to stay in a super nice motel, this place is perfect. We had a nice, small room with a nice balcony. The pool was also nice, but it is attached to the parking lot.

Basically, if you don't care where you're staying and want basic, no hassle accommodations then this place will work for you. If you want something a little nicer (say, you're getting married and don't know what you're getting yourself into), find another place to stay.

Room Tip: There are cute B&Bs for the same price to less right around the corner that offer WAY more than...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jennifer S, General Manager at Silver Palms Inn, responded to this review, November 18, 2012
Dear HKF86:

On behalf of the entire staff at the Silver Palms Inn, we'd like to congratulate you on getting married. We are glad that you chose our hotel for your special trip to Key West. However, it is disappointing that your stay did not meet your expectations. Thank you for taking the time to share your experience on Tripadvisor. We wish you the best of luck and may you have continued happiness in beginning this new chapter of your lives together.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Top Contributor
70 reviews 70 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 10, 2012

For what you pay, I think this is as good as it gets in Key West. Comfortable, spacious room (just as big or bigger than our friend's room at the Waldorf), clean facilities, free parking and breakfast, and #1 selling point--you are perfectly located halfway between beach and Duval St buzz. Keep in mind it's not supposed to be the Ritz, and you'll be happy :)

My boyfriend and I decided to go here last-minute trip for a friend's wedding. We didn't want to spend too much on the hotel because we knew we wouldn't be in the room hardly at all. This was my boyfriend's first trip to Key West so I wanted him to have easy, WALKABLE access to the activity of Duval St and also to our friends' hotel on the beach at the Waldorf Reach resort. This was halfway between the two--maybe a bit closer to Duval buzz. So, this was absolutely perfect for our purposes.

Perfection:
1. Location. SInce it was my boyfriend's first time to Key West and I knew he'd love the mix of party and relaxation, I wanted him to easily experience it ALL in the short amount of time we had...and I did it! This hotel was within walking distance to both Duval Street activity and the beach. Specifically, for us it was perfect because our friends were staying at the Waldorf Reach resort, so we were able to hang out with them there on the resort beach which was great. Otherwise, the "walk" to Smathers Beach would have been a bit longer, but do-able.
2. Price. Key West accommodations can be moderately expensive, especially the closer you are to Duval St area. Some "nicer" places are a bit old and show it. Our basic "king city view balcony" room at Silver Palms was clean, spacious, and well-kept. You can get a hotel just as cheap or cheaper further away from Duval but I've done that and you end up paying the difference cab fare or parking anyway BUT you aren't in the middle of it all. No thanks. Plus there's free simple breakfast here, so that's money saved too.

Leaves Much to be Desired:
1. Neighborhood. Eek. During the day, a tad sketchy but seemed safe and walkable from Duvall St area. After dusk--no thanka. I was with a big, strong boyfriend so felt safe. But we literally walked past either a drug deal or a prostitution planning session, lol. So there is crime and where there is crime statistically you don't want to walk amongst it. Don't walk it alone, especially if you are a female. I wouldn't.
Mitigation: On slightly-sketchy neighborhood, no big deal, at night just take a cab or as I would suggest--a pedi cab! We had a super cool pedi-cab driver, er...peddler...from Serbia. Said he lives part of the year in Key West and part in his home, Serbia. Cost about $10-15 from Duvall St to our hotel w/tip.

2. Pool. If I'm at a beach location, I prefer a pool by the beach. This pool is in the middle of the parking lot. The pool itself is ok, but we didn't use it.
Mitigation: We hung out at our friends' hotel pool at the Waldorf. You can also just go to the beach--it's within walking distance.

3. Coffee. Sucked. Period.
Mitigation: Bring your own--there is a regular coffee maker in your room so you can just make your own. OR go to the coffee shop just a block away on your walk to Duvall St--I didn't try it, so not sure how it is. OR grab something at Starbucks on Duval--walkable distance.

Room Tip: I really don't think it matters much. It might be noisy if you had a room on the far right side...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jennifer S, General Manager at Silver Palms Inn, responded to this review, November 16, 2012
Dear Country-n-City-Nash:

We are so happy to hear that you achieved your goal of making your boyfriend's first trip to Key West a memorable one! Thank you for taking the time to write a wonderful review about your experience at our hotel. We truly appreciate it! We hope that you and your boyfriend will choose to stay with us again on your return trip to Key West!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portsmouth, New Hampshire
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 9, 2012

Clean rooms, bright and modern decor/facilities. Grest location, good parking on site, only 5 min walk from the action yet quiet. Only negative is the breakfast - while free, is not much to write home about

Room Tip: Ask for room away from the street - preferably overlooking the pool.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jennifer S, General Manager at Silver Palms Inn, responded to this review, November 16, 2012
Dear martynrj:

Thank you for choosing the Silver Palms Inn for your accommodations for your trip to Key West. We truly appreciate your nice review about your recent stay with us. It is disappointing to hear that our breakfast that we offer was not to your standards. We here at the Silver Palms Inn like to think we have a very nice spread for our breakfast that we offer to our guests. We apologize that it was not to your expectations. We hope that the next time you come to Key West, you'll choose to stay with us again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Baltimore, Maryland
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 7, 2012

I have been coming to KW for 19 years at least once a year. Usually stay at the Sourthern Most. Decided this year to stay a bit closer to the other end of Duval so we wouldn't have as far of a walk. Big mistake. Pool is in the parking lot, not attractive at all. No views of anything nice. Free continental breakfast included but the whole thing felt like KMart blue light special. Put the do not disturb sign up twice because maids were down the hall cleaning at a time inconvenient for us. Not a big deal, but when taking a nap (hence the sign!) hospitality calls and interupts TWICE to see if we want the room cleaned. Doesn't matter that you've turned your cell phones off so you're not disturbed, this rude interuption comes on the phone in the room. It was $100 a night less than what we would have paid at the Southern Most but for us not worth it (may be a significant difference for someone else and if so, this might be just fine). Rooms were clean, yes, but that is not my only criteria for a good hotel. Even for this budget range I sitll feel it was a bit much for the service and the location and the lack of anything pretty to look at. I personally will not return although my stay was not miserable.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jennifer S, General Manager at Silver Palms Inn, responded to this review, November 16, 2012
Dear Denise F:

Thank you for writing a review about your recent stay with us. Your feedback is greatly appreciated. It is disappointing to know that your stay did not meet your expectations for your annual Key West trip. Please understand that customer service is our number one priority. Hence the reason for us calling to verify that no service for your room was needed as we do not have housekeeping service twenty four hours a day. We deeply apologize for having disturbed you. We hope you enjoyed your visit to Key West overall and hope you come back to the island again for your annual trip next year.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, England, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2012

This is more of a motel than a hotel. Check in was super speedy. Plenty of parking. Really nice room, spacious and clean. Pool area a little small but pool itself was nice. Breakfast was OK - nothing great but it was very crowded and a lot of queueing involved to get toast!!
About 30 mins slow walk to Mallory Square and 5 mins to the bottom of Duval St.
Overall, a pretty good place to stay but there is no bar here and no opportunity to get any food which was a shame. It would have been nice to have ordered a drink and some lunch by the pool.
Very attentive staff.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jennifer S, General Manager at Silver Palms Inn, responded to this review, November 15, 2012
Dear Julie B:

We are glad to hear that you made it back to London safely. Thank you for taking the time to share your experience at the Silver Palms Inn. While it is true that we do not have a bar or restaurant on the premises, we are within very close walking distance to many of them. We do appreciate your feedback and please know that this is an idea we can take into consideration for the future to better accommodate our guests. We hope you enjoyed Key West and would like you to come back and visit again one day!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Silver Palms Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Silver Palms Inn

Address: 830 Truman Avenue, Key West, FL 33040
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Florida Keys > Key West
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #16 of 43 Hotels in Key West
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Silver Palms Inn 3.5*
Number of rooms: 50
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Otel, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Silver Palms Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Silver Palms Hotel Key West

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Silver Palms Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.