We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect for Key West on a Budget!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Silver Palms Inn

Save Saved
You added Silver Palms Inn to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Silver Palms Inn
3.5 of 5 Motel   |   830 Truman Avenue, Key West, FL 33040   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Click for Summer Special
Ranked #17 of 41 hotels in Key West
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Top Contributor
64 reviews 64 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
“Perfect for Key West on a Budget!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 10, 2012

For what you pay, I think this is as good as it gets in Key West. Comfortable, spacious room (just as big or bigger than our friend's room at the Waldorf), clean facilities, free parking and breakfast, and #1 selling point--you are perfectly located halfway between beach and Duval St buzz. Keep in mind it's not supposed to be the Ritz, and you'll be happy :)

My boyfriend and I decided to go here last-minute trip for a friend's wedding. We didn't want to spend too much on the hotel because we knew we wouldn't be in the room hardly at all. This was my boyfriend's first trip to Key West so I wanted him to have easy, WALKABLE access to the activity of Duval St and also to our friends' hotel on the beach at the Waldorf Reach resort. This was halfway between the two--maybe a bit closer to Duval buzz. So, this was absolutely perfect for our purposes.

Perfection:
1. Location. SInce it was my boyfriend's first time to Key West and I knew he'd love the mix of party and relaxation, I wanted him to easily experience it ALL in the short amount of time we had...and I did it! This hotel was within walking distance to both Duval Street activity and the beach. Specifically, for us it was perfect because our friends were staying at the Waldorf Reach resort, so we were able to hang out with them there on the resort beach which was great. Otherwise, the "walk" to Smathers Beach would have been a bit longer, but do-able.
2. Price. Key West accommodations can be moderately expensive, especially the closer you are to Duval St area. Some "nicer" places are a bit old and show it. Our basic "king city view balcony" room at Silver Palms was clean, spacious, and well-kept. You can get a hotel just as cheap or cheaper further away from Duval but I've done that and you end up paying the difference cab fare or parking anyway BUT you aren't in the middle of it all. No thanks. Plus there's free simple breakfast here, so that's money saved too.

Leaves Much to be Desired:
1. Neighborhood. Eek. During the day, a tad sketchy but seemed safe and walkable from Duvall St area. After dusk--no thanka. I was with a big, strong boyfriend so felt safe. But we literally walked past either a drug deal or a prostitution planning session, lol. So there is crime and where there is crime statistically you don't want to walk amongst it. Don't walk it alone, especially if you are a female. I wouldn't.
Mitigation: On slightly-sketchy neighborhood, no big deal, at night just take a cab or as I would suggest--a pedi cab! We had a super cool pedi-cab driver, er...peddler...from Serbia. Said he lives part of the year in Key West and part in his home, Serbia. Cost about $10-15 from Duvall St to our hotel w/tip.

2. Pool. If I'm at a beach location, I prefer a pool by the beach. This pool is in the middle of the parking lot. The pool itself is ok, but we didn't use it.
Mitigation: We hung out at our friends' hotel pool at the Waldorf. You can also just go to the beach--it's within walking distance.

3. Coffee. Sucked. Period.
Mitigation: Bring your own--there is a regular coffee maker in your room so you can just make your own. OR go to the coffee shop just a block away on your walk to Duvall St--I didn't try it, so not sure how it is. OR grab something at Starbucks on Duval--walkable distance.

Room Tip: I really don't think it matters much. It might be noisy if you had a room on the far right side...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jennifer S, General Manager at Silver Palms Inn, responded to this review, November 16, 2012
Dear Country-n-City-Nash:

We are so happy to hear that you achieved your goal of making your boyfriend's first trip to Key West a memorable one! Thank you for taking the time to write a wonderful review about your experience at our hotel. We truly appreciate it! We hope that you and your boyfriend will choose to stay with us again on your return trip to Key West!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

852 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    446
    300
    77
    10
    19
See reviews for
173
435
13
8
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (196)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Portsmouth, New Hampshire
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 9, 2012

Clean rooms, bright and modern decor/facilities. Grest location, good parking on site, only 5 min walk from the action yet quiet. Only negative is the breakfast - while free, is not much to write home about

Room Tip: Ask for room away from the street - preferably overlooking the pool.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jennifer S, General Manager at Silver Palms Inn, responded to this review, November 16, 2012
Dear martynrj:

Thank you for choosing the Silver Palms Inn for your accommodations for your trip to Key West. We truly appreciate your nice review about your recent stay with us. It is disappointing to hear that our breakfast that we offer was not to your standards. We here at the Silver Palms Inn like to think we have a very nice spread for our breakfast that we offer to our guests. We apologize that it was not to your expectations. We hope that the next time you come to Key West, you'll choose to stay with us again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Baltimore, Maryland
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 7, 2012

I have been coming to KW for 19 years at least once a year. Usually stay at the Sourthern Most. Decided this year to stay a bit closer to the other end of Duval so we wouldn't have as far of a walk. Big mistake. Pool is in the parking lot, not attractive at all. No views of anything nice. Free continental breakfast included but the whole thing felt like KMart blue light special. Put the do not disturb sign up twice because maids were down the hall cleaning at a time inconvenient for us. Not a big deal, but when taking a nap (hence the sign!) hospitality calls and interupts TWICE to see if we want the room cleaned. Doesn't matter that you've turned your cell phones off so you're not disturbed, this rude interuption comes on the phone in the room. It was $100 a night less than what we would have paid at the Southern Most but for us not worth it (may be a significant difference for someone else and if so, this might be just fine). Rooms were clean, yes, but that is not my only criteria for a good hotel. Even for this budget range I sitll feel it was a bit much for the service and the location and the lack of anything pretty to look at. I personally will not return although my stay was not miserable.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jennifer S, General Manager at Silver Palms Inn, responded to this review, November 16, 2012
Dear Denise F:

Thank you for writing a review about your recent stay with us. Your feedback is greatly appreciated. It is disappointing to know that your stay did not meet your expectations for your annual Key West trip. Please understand that customer service is our number one priority. Hence the reason for us calling to verify that no service for your room was needed as we do not have housekeeping service twenty four hours a day. We deeply apologize for having disturbed you. We hope you enjoyed your visit to Key West overall and hope you come back to the island again for your annual trip next year.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, England, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2012

This is more of a motel than a hotel. Check in was super speedy. Plenty of parking. Really nice room, spacious and clean. Pool area a little small but pool itself was nice. Breakfast was OK - nothing great but it was very crowded and a lot of queueing involved to get toast!!
About 30 mins slow walk to Mallory Square and 5 mins to the bottom of Duval St.
Overall, a pretty good place to stay but there is no bar here and no opportunity to get any food which was a shame. It would have been nice to have ordered a drink and some lunch by the pool.
Very attentive staff.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jennifer S, General Manager at Silver Palms Inn, responded to this review, November 15, 2012
Dear Julie B:

We are glad to hear that you made it back to London safely. Thank you for taking the time to share your experience at the Silver Palms Inn. While it is true that we do not have a bar or restaurant on the premises, we are within very close walking distance to many of them. We do appreciate your feedback and please know that this is an idea we can take into consideration for the future to better accommodate our guests. We hope you enjoyed Key West and would like you to come back and visit again one day!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gloucestershire
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2012

What a find! We stayed here for 6 nights. The staff were unfailingly polite, friendly and helpful, even lending me a lap-top. The room was large and tastefully furnished with a balcony and roomy shower. Everywhere was spotlessly clean and the beds were very comfortable. The hotel pool is small but attractively laid out with lots of sunbeds and chairs. Parking was free (a bonus in Key West) and the complimentary breakfast was excellent. The hotel is situated just off Duval Street and you can walk into the centre of Key West in 15 minutes. It is on a quiet street, near to a beautiful church and lots of restaurants and shops. Watch out for the chickens, they are everywhere! We would definitely stay here again and highly recommend it.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jennifer S, General Manager at Silver Palms Inn, responded to this review, November 15, 2012
Dear SusannahT:

We're so happy you found us for your trip to Key West! Thank you for your wonderful review on TripAdvisor. We at the Silver Palms Inn make sure that our guests are well accommodated to make their stay comfortable. We understand that when you go on vacation that not everyone wants to lug their laptops with them. We know that it can be a hassle so that is why we provide them at no charge for our guests to use. Thank you for recommending our hotel and please come back to visit us again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Palos Heights, Illinois
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012 via mobile

Was there in July but it was a repeat stay from previous year. It's a newer hotel and within walking distance to duval. Hotel is very modern and clean and for the amenities you would think to be paying more. has a nice complimentary continental breakfast too. Just a couple of blocks off of duval so you don't have to worry about moving your car and having to find

and pay for parking.

  • Stayed July 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jennifer S, General Manager at Silver Palms Inn, responded to this review, November 15, 2012
Dear swykow:

We are ecstatic that you decided to stay with us again at the Silver Palms Inn for your return trip to Key West! Our location in relation to Duval Street and our ample parking are just a few things that our guests are always happy with. Please feel free to call us for your reservations the next time you visit. We look forward to seeing you again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gaithersburg, Maryland
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

This is a delayed review--stayed here in June 2012 with a group of friends. Average room rate was about $200/night. Location is excellent, far enough away from the Duval Street area that the neighborhood stays quiet once you turn in for the night (except for the roosters, which is problem no matter where you are on the island), but close enough that it is a reasonable walk to the main attractions. For our group, the walk from hotel to Mallory Square took us between 15-20 minutes walking a moderate pace. Rooms were immaculately clean, had completely updated furnishings and fixtures. The pool was clean and nicely kept, albeit somewhat small, but overall a pleasant place to hang out and relax. Bathrooms were sleek and modern with walk-in, tiled shower. Staff members were easygoing and helpful. The only complaint I could make is that in the main office/reception area they appear to use a very strong, odd-scented disinfectant that gives a very unpleasant and intense odor of rubbing alcohol. Nowhere near a deal-breaker, just something mildly bothersome that is worth noting for management. Finally, although it wasn't a factor for us since we went at the beginning of the offseason, I took note of, and very much appreciated, the fact that they have a minimum age requirement that appears to be intended to weed out the younger crowd during the spring break and senior week timeframes.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jennifer S, General Manager at Silver Palms Inn, responded to this review, November 15, 2012
Dear hermwinningham:

Thank you so much for the great review about your stay with you friends back in June. You know what they say...better late than never, right? We'd like to apologize for the unpleasant odor of the cleaning products that were used in the lobby. We normally receive much praise about the aroma of the product we use and are always asked what it is. Nonetheless, we are still glad it has been brought to our attention. We are also pleased to hear that you appreciated our minimum age requirement here at the hotel. We don't have this policy in effect to be mean; we simply do it for the courtesy of our other guests. We hope to see you and your friends again the next time you visit Key West!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Silver Palms Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Silver Palms Inn

Address: 830 Truman Avenue, Key West, FL 33040
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Florida Keys > Key West
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #17 of 41 hotels in Key West
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Silver Palms Inn 3.5*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Tingo, Travelocity, Otel, BookingOdigeoWL, Priceline and Venere so you can book your Silver Palms Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Silver Palms Hotel Key West

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Silver Palms Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.