We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Mediocre at best-but depends on your budget” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Silver Palms Inn

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Silver Palms Inn to your Saves list
Silver Palms Inn
3.5 of 5 Motel   |   830 Truman Avenue, Key West, FL 33040   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #21 of 45 Hotels in Key West
Baltimore, Maryland
Level Contributor
11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Mediocre at best-but depends on your budget”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 7, 2012

I have been coming to KW for 19 years at least once a year. Usually stay at the Sourthern Most. Decided this year to stay a bit closer to the other end of Duval so we wouldn't have as far of a walk. Big mistake. Pool is in the parking lot, not attractive at all. No views of anything nice. Free continental breakfast included but the whole thing felt like KMart blue light special. Put the do not disturb sign up twice because maids were down the hall cleaning at a time inconvenient for us. Not a big deal, but when taking a nap (hence the sign!) hospitality calls and interupts TWICE to see if we want the room cleaned. Doesn't matter that you've turned your cell phones off so you're not disturbed, this rude interuption comes on the phone in the room. It was $100 a night less than what we would have paid at the Southern Most but for us not worth it (may be a significant difference for someone else and if so, this might be just fine). Rooms were clean, yes, but that is not my only criteria for a good hotel. Even for this budget range I sitll feel it was a bit much for the service and the location and the lack of anything pretty to look at. I personally will not return although my stay was not miserable.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jennifer S, General Manager at Silver Palms Inn, responded to this review, November 16, 2012
Dear Denise F:

Thank you for writing a review about your recent stay with us. Your feedback is greatly appreciated. It is disappointing to know that your stay did not meet your expectations for your annual Key West trip. Please understand that customer service is our number one priority. Hence the reason for us calling to verify that no service for your room was needed as we do not have housekeeping service twenty four hours a day. We deeply apologize for having disturbed you. We hope you enjoyed your visit to Key West overall and hope you come back to the island again for your annual trip next year.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,135 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    592
    405
    101
    16
    21
See reviews for
228
599
16
11
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (258)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
32 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2012

This is more of a motel than a hotel. Check in was super speedy. Plenty of parking. Really nice room, spacious and clean. Pool area a little small but pool itself was nice. Breakfast was OK - nothing great but it was very crowded and a lot of queueing involved to get toast!!
About 30 mins slow walk to Mallory Square and 5 mins to the bottom of Duval St.
Overall, a pretty good place to stay but there is no bar here and no opportunity to get any food which was a shame. It would have been nice to have ordered a drink and some lunch by the pool.
Very attentive staff.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jennifer S, General Manager at Silver Palms Inn, responded to this review, November 15, 2012
Dear Julie B:

We are glad to hear that you made it back to London safely. Thank you for taking the time to share your experience at the Silver Palms Inn. While it is true that we do not have a bar or restaurant on the premises, we are within very close walking distance to many of them. We do appreciate your feedback and please know that this is an idea we can take into consideration for the future to better accommodate our guests. We hope you enjoyed Key West and would like you to come back and visit again one day!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gloucestershire
Level Contributor
24 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2012

What a find! We stayed here for 6 nights. The staff were unfailingly polite, friendly and helpful, even lending me a lap-top. The room was large and tastefully furnished with a balcony and roomy shower. Everywhere was spotlessly clean and the beds were very comfortable. The hotel pool is small but attractively laid out with lots of sunbeds and chairs. Parking was free (a bonus in Key West) and the complimentary breakfast was excellent. The hotel is situated just off Duval Street and you can walk into the centre of Key West in 15 minutes. It is on a quiet street, near to a beautiful church and lots of restaurants and shops. Watch out for the chickens, they are everywhere! We would definitely stay here again and highly recommend it.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jennifer S, General Manager at Silver Palms Inn, responded to this review, November 15, 2012
Dear SusannahT:

We're so happy you found us for your trip to Key West! Thank you for your wonderful review on TripAdvisor. We at the Silver Palms Inn make sure that our guests are well accommodated to make their stay comfortable. We understand that when you go on vacation that not everyone wants to lug their laptops with them. We know that it can be a hassle so that is why we provide them at no charge for our guests to use. Thank you for recommending our hotel and please come back to visit us again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Palos Heights, Illinois
Level Contributor
52 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

Was there in July but it was a repeat stay from previous year. It's a newer hotel and within walking distance to duval. Hotel is very modern and clean and for the amenities you would think to be paying more. has a nice complimentary continental breakfast too. Just a couple of blocks off of duval so you don't have to worry about moving your car and having to find

and pay for parking.

  • Stayed July 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jennifer S, General Manager at Silver Palms Inn, responded to this review, November 15, 2012
Dear swykow:

We are ecstatic that you decided to stay with us again at the Silver Palms Inn for your return trip to Key West! Our location in relation to Duval Street and our ample parking are just a few things that our guests are always happy with. Please feel free to call us for your reservations the next time you visit. We look forward to seeing you again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gaithersburg, Maryland
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

This is a delayed review--stayed here in June 2012 with a group of friends. Average room rate was about $200/night. Location is excellent, far enough away from the Duval Street area that the neighborhood stays quiet once you turn in for the night (except for the roosters, which is problem no matter where you are on the island), but close enough that it is a reasonable walk to the main attractions. For our group, the walk from hotel to Mallory Square took us between 15-20 minutes walking a moderate pace. Rooms were immaculately clean, had completely updated furnishings and fixtures. The pool was clean and nicely kept, albeit somewhat small, but overall a pleasant place to hang out and relax. Bathrooms were sleek and modern with walk-in, tiled shower. Staff members were easygoing and helpful. The only complaint I could make is that in the main office/reception area they appear to use a very strong, odd-scented disinfectant that gives a very unpleasant and intense odor of rubbing alcohol. Nowhere near a deal-breaker, just something mildly bothersome that is worth noting for management. Finally, although it wasn't a factor for us since we went at the beginning of the offseason, I took note of, and very much appreciated, the fact that they have a minimum age requirement that appears to be intended to weed out the younger crowd during the spring break and senior week timeframes.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jennifer S, General Manager at Silver Palms Inn, responded to this review, November 15, 2012
Dear hermwinningham:

Thank you so much for the great review about your stay with you friends back in June. You know what they say...better late than never, right? We'd like to apologize for the unpleasant odor of the cleaning products that were used in the lobby. We normally receive much praise about the aroma of the product we use and are always asked what it is. Nonetheless, we are still glad it has been brought to our attention. We are also pleased to hear that you appreciated our minimum age requirement here at the hotel. We don't have this policy in effect to be mean; we simply do it for the courtesy of our other guests. We hope to see you and your friends again the next time you visit Key West!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal, Canada
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 3, 2012

The hotel was very nice, rooms very clean,bed very comfortable,service excellent,pool area very nice as well,hotel is centrally located and easy walk to everything. We will be back as soon as we can!!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jennifer S, General Manager at Silver Palms Inn, responded to this review, November 15, 2012
Dear Sheila6403:

Thank you for your fantastic review about your recent stay with us at the Silver Palms Inn. We are always delighted to know that our hotel and staff helps to enhance our guests' Key West experience. We also hope you come back to visit us again as soon as possible! Just feel free to give us a call and we'll be more than happy to assist you with your reservations.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chehalis, Washington
Level Contributor
14 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 2, 2012

My wife and I stayed here for 4 nights during F.F. 2012 and it was very nice. We will definately be returning again next year ! Our 3rd. floor room was spotless with a nice island theme to it. As other folks have mentioned the location to the festivities is perfect . A short 8-10 mitnute walk and your right in the heart of the action ! Parking is fine and the staff is easy going and pleasant. We had an issue with our credit card on arrival and the young lady at the front desk was super helpful and helped us get it corrected. The evening before we left the night clerk ( Sergie ) ? Was also great in printing our boarding passes for us and asking us if we needed any help with anything our transportation arragements to get to the airport. Now that's service ! Put your mind at ease and stay at the Silver Palms.....

Room Tip: We had a 3rd. floor room I believe on the south side, and it had pool view to one side and Palm tree...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jennifer S, General Manager at Silver Palms Inn, responded to this review, November 15, 2012
Dear LeeandKeely:

It was really nice of you to take the time to write a kind review about your stay with us during Fantasy Fest 2012! We are thrilled that the location and the service of our staff helped to make your stay that much more memorable. Serge has been made aware of your praise and he truly appreciates it. We look forward to seeing you next year for Fantasy Fest 2013!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Key West hotels
2.4 mi away
The Inn at Key West
The Inn at Key West
#32 of 45 in Key West
4.0 of 5 stars 1,898 reviews
1.6 mi away
Parrot Key Hotel and Resort
0.1 mi away
Key Lime Inn
Key Lime Inn
#17 of 45 in Key West
4.5 of 5 stars 1,059 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.9 mi away
Key West Marriott Beachside Hotel
0.6 mi away
Crowne Plaza Key West La Concha
2.8 mi away
The Gates Hotel | Key West
The Gates Hotel | Key West
#18 of 45 in Key West
4.5 of 5 stars 230 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Silver Palms Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Silver Palms Inn

Address: 830 Truman Avenue, Key West, FL 33040
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Florida Keys > Key West
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #21 of 45 Hotels in Key West
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Silver Palms Inn 3.5*
Number of rooms: 50
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotwire, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Booking.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA and Odigeo so you can book your Silver Palms Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Silver Palms Hotel Key West

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Silver Palms Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.