We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice Hotel..expensive stay” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Silver Palms Inn

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Silver Palms Inn to your Saves list
Silver Palms Inn
3.5 of 5 Motel   |   830 Truman Avenue, Key West, FL 33040   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Announcement
Click for Super Savings
Ranked #19 of 44 Hotels in Key West
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Nice Hotel..expensive stay”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2012

Only stayed for 1 night whilst travelling around Florida, hotel very clean and well presented, rooms excellent but they should be for the price, expensive for what it is.
Excellent location for Duval street whilst being in a quieter area, as with other guests baffled why they take $100 for incidentals as there are none.
Did not like poor plastic cutlery for breakfast.
Would put up with negatives to see the Key West sunset again!!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jennifer S, General Manager at Silver Palms Inn, responded to this review, October 11, 2012
Dear S G:

On behalf of the Silver Palms Inn, we would like to thank you for taking the time to leave a review about your stay on Tripadvisor. It is disappointing to hear that you felt as though our rates were a bit expensive. Our prices are very competitive with other lodging establishments in the old town area of Key West. We hope you come back to enjoy one of our beautiful sunsets with us again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

949 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    501
    333
    84
    11
    20
See reviews for
183
499
13
8
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (214)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 5, 2012 via mobile

Positives: the staff was very pleasant to deal with, bed was very comfortable, room very clean and nicely arranged and hotel is within walking/biking distance to the main attractions
Cons: room was across the street from a laundrymat and was noisy in the early a.m. hours with workers outsidebeing loud. Not helpful after a long night out (not many rooms face this direction so it's a non issue for most). For whatever reason, a rooster must have lived outside as each morning at 6:40 it made a lot of noise. Not the hotel's fault as this is common in KW, but hasn't happened at other properties on previous stays. Last, when renting a bike it took approx 40 mins for bike rep to get there. Seems like for the extra $15 fee on top of room rate, then it should include bikes. waiting 40 mins to rent a bike for $18 is unacceptable.

Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jennifer S, General Manager at Silver Palms Inn, responded to this review, October 11, 2012
Dear Greg K:

Thank you for taking the time to write a review about your recent stay with us. We are pleased to hear that you were satisfied overall with the hotel and the staff. However, it is disappointing to hear that certain factors not associated with the hotel affected your stay. We appreciate your feedback and we would like you to know that we spoke to the company who rents the bicycles to ensure a future similar occurrence does not happen again. We hope you do not let the tardiness of the bicycle company reflect on the hotel and that the next time you visit Key West, you might give us another try.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 2, 2012

Clean, comfortbale, modern hotel within walking distance to Duval Street. Staff was nice and kew a lot about the area. The pool was nice. Breakfast was so-so, but that was ok, that was not why we were there. I had a really hard time getting 3G and WiFi (although free for guests) in my room.We were here for 5 nights- it was a really good value! Looking forward to staying again.

Room Tip: I could hear people walking above our room occasionally. May want to get a room on 3rd floor. Also...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jennifer S, General Manager at Silver Palms Inn, responded to this review, October 7, 2012
Dear Nelly1202:

It's great to hear that you enjoyed your five night getaway here with us at the Silver Palms Inn! Thank you for taking the time to share your experience here on TripAdvisor. Please don't hesitate to contact us the next time you visit the Island. We'll be more than happy to make your reservations for the room of your choice.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Harrisburg, Pennsylvania
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 1, 2012

I consider this a "motel" as the room doors open to the outside. New accomodations w/ plantation shades. Nicely decorated & clean! Thought it was interesting they offered "ear plugs" in a basket with shampoo/conditioner & soap. After 5 nights, I know why! The "fitted bottom sheets" are horrible. So full of pills and very uncomfortable! After the first night, (left a note for housekeeping) to change the bottom sheet, only to find the same sheet on the bed that evening. Went down to the front desk to ask for another sheet so I could change and was given a new set of sheets. Only to find the same issue with the fitted sheet, so I made the bed using both flat sheets. End of pills until the last night when housekeeping changed the bottom sheet. Other issues, although disclosed when checking in, had already booked room through Expedia, so they have you between a rock and a hard place are the excessive fees on top of the nightly rate. $15 +tax per day, also they debit your credit card up-front for $100 for incidentals they say you will receive back if you don't use at check-out. I have stayed at many hotels and have never been charged this fee up-front, only at check-out if used.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jennifer S, General Manager at Silver Palms Inn, responded to this review, October 6, 2012
Dear Jaye11D:

Thank you for your review about your recent stay with us. Your feedback is greatly appreciated however, it is disappointing to hear that your stay did not fully meet your expectations. Please accept our sincere apologies. I am personally addressing the issues you had with the bed linens to prevent a similar future occurrence. As for the the authorization for $100 for incidentals, please understand that this is a hotel policy and many hotels in Key West also have the same policy in effect. We also make it a priority to promptly release the deposit upon checkout. I hope your experience here has not left a bad taste in your mouth about Key West. Please come back to visit again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
Top Contributor
78 reviews 78 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 30, 2012

Stayed for 2 nights. Rooms are superb. Comfy beds, clean and modern decor.
Small pool within hotel grounds again attir is up to date and modern. Hotel staff were alway willing and helpful. Located just off the main strip which was nice. Only a 5 min walk to Duval street and all the attractions. Definitely stay again

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jennifer S, General Manager at Silver Palms Inn, responded to this review, October 6, 2012
Dear Rue14:

On behalf of the staff at the Silver Palms Inn, we would like to to thank you for your superb review about your recent stay with us. We are always pleased to hear how satisfied our guests are about our proximity to Duval Street. Being only three blocks away, it is close enough to all the action but still quiet enough to rest and relax. We look forward to seeing you again. Come back soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Petersburg, Florida, United States
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 29, 2012

I stayed at the Silver Palm Inn during Labor Day weekend and it was awesome. It was a girls weekend and the room was a great size for the four of us. The interior of the room was very clean and had really nice decor. The staff was super helpful and friendly. The continental breakfast that was included was decent. It was about a15 min walk to Duval.

Room Tip: Pool view is best, away from the busy street.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jennifer S, General Manager at Silver Palms Inn, responded to this review, October 6, 2012
Dear LoLo114:

We at the Silver Palms Inn are delighted to hear that your girls weekend away was awesome! We were more than happy to be able to accommodate you over the Labor Day weekend. The next time you plan another girls getaway, please don't hesitate to contact us. We'll be ready to assist you in making your reservations.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ontario, California
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 28, 2012

The hotel is located 2-3 blocks from duval. Clean modern rooms, the bed is very comfortable. Friendly staff. Ok complimentary breakfast, small Gym. Worth Paying a little more for the value. I would recommend this hotel and would stay here again.

Room Tip: Clean & Comfortable bed
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jennifer S, General Manager at Silver Palms Inn, responded to this review, October 6, 2012
Dear pauline521:

Thank you for your review about your recent stay with us at the Silver Palms Inn. We truly appreciate your praise about the staff and your kind words have been passed onto them. We look forward to your return visit Key West!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Silver Palms Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Silver Palms Inn

Address: 830 Truman Avenue, Key West, FL 33040
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Florida Keys > Key West
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #19 of 44 Hotels in Key West
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Silver Palms Inn 3.5*
Number of rooms: 50
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Silver Palms Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Silver Palms Hotel Key West

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Silver Palms Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.