We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Key West Trip” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Silver Palms Inn

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Silver Palms Inn to your Saves list
Silver Palms Inn
3.5 of 5 Motel   |   830 Truman Avenue, Key West, FL 33040   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Click for Fall Special
Ranked #16 of 43 Hotels in Key West
Orlando, Florida
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Key West Trip”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 18, 2012

This past week my father and I took a trip to Key West and stayed at the Silver Palms Inn - the hotel met all of our expectations (great service, great value, and great location). THX

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

932 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    492
    327
    84
    10
    19
See reviews for
183
490
13
8
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (211)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Louisville
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 15, 2012

Let me say our stay in general was nice. The room was clean with a balcony, a safe for valuables, microwave and refridgerater. Breakfast is provided but its mainly bagels and pastries,The pool is clean with a nice area to sit and enjoy the sun. The location of this place in relation to points of interest is great. You can wailk anywhere and be there in less than 15 minutes. You can rent cooters, bicycles or a pedicab and hey can pick you up. The only complaint I have is after staying 2 nights and enjoying are stay we checked our checking account balance and discover not only did we pay for the room both nights they charge a $100 balance per night in addition.They took the fees out after we left. We don't smoke, there wasnt any damage to the room, we turned in our keys, etc so there is no reason to explain the charges. All the paperwork we siged didnt explain there was an additional charge. We called and were told our bank made an error, then it was a deposit that requires them to to take it out of your account but it might be put back, then someone must have taken it without authorization. This place talks in circles. We asked to speak with a manager and were told we could not,We notified Key West Police Dept to report that our credit card had been used withou authorization. We were provided with a place to call for fraud. They said it hppens often and that can't police the businesses. The sad thing is we planned on staying here again until we realized this unknown fee was taken. Let me reinterate there is NOT any place on g=he paperwok explainingg this charge.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kelvin C, Guest Relations Manager at Silver Palms Inn, responded to this review, April 17, 2012
Dear Dee B,

Thank you for the review of our property. We are glad to hear you
enjoyed our beautifully decorated rooms and decor. We are sorry that
the deposit wasn't understood during the check in. We do let all out
guests know that there will be a security hold on their credit card
during the check-in process and we do in fact take an authorization of
100$ USD (not an actual charge) on whichever credit or debit card you
provide. When signing your registration card under hotel policies the
first line informs that the above signature does in fact approve a
security authorization on to the credit card. After you have checked
out of the room the hold is then released back to your card which can
take 3-5 business days for it return to the account. We hope this
clears any issues or concerns you may have about your credit card
charges and of course at any time you can call to request a copy of
your charges from the hotel. We are here to serve you and hope that
you will reconsider our beautiful hotel when you return to this
beautiful island.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle Upon Tyne
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 12, 2012

We had 4 nights in Key West. the Silver Palms Inn was perfect for our stay. The room was very quiet (pool view) and spacious. Bed very comfortable and good sized bathroom. Free parking a bonus and the location great - we could walk to good restaurants and bars. The pool although small had plenty of sunbeds and was not too noisy! Overall very good value considering the high prices generally in Key West.

Room Tip: Rooms at the back overlooking the pool are away from the busy road and quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belfast, Ireland
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 11, 2012

We stayed in the Silver Palms Inn in December 2011. It was easy to access, with free parking. Check-in was friendly and easy and our room was modern and spacious. We had a tiny balcony overlooking the pool (and car park).
The breakfast was absolutely perfect - enough choice for even the fussiest of eaters, and good tea and coffee.
We hung around the pool area which was lovely even in December (though a bit distracting to have the car park beside it).
The walk to Duval Street was easy and very pleasant.
The roosters in the morning time were strange but not unwelcome!
Overall, a hotel that was good value for money and that I wouldn't hesitate in recommending.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Winston-Salem, NC
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 10, 2012

We spent 4 nights with 2 teens. The junior suite was a good mix of space and privacy. Location is ideal with most sites walkable. Very reasonable amenities and service, with free off-street parking walkable to Duval a premium. Helpful staff, but a notch below what a very personal B&B would offer. Just the same, given our dual goals of a teen spring break where a pool and bikes were key, and a quiet place for a couple, we were pleased. When our needs are the same, we will certainly consider the SPI.

Room Tip: Parking lot/pool view probably more quiet than facing Duval (traffic) or side streets (roosters).
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Senior Contributor
47 reviews 47 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 10, 2012

Additionally, this motel is only 15 minutes walk from the center of Key West. The rooms have good size, are clean and the whole place looks like it has been recently refurbished.

Room Tip: Make sure you get a room overlooking the courtyard, not the street as it will be quieter this way;
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 6, 2012

My overall stay (3 nights) was overall pretty good.

It's within walking distance to Duval street and all of its attractions (it's a 20-25 minute walk to the West end of Duval, depending on your pace), but it's far enough that you don't deal with the craziness of people right outside. Parking is included, which is a huge perk as space is very limited on this island. We didn't drive during the entire stay. Parking can cost $20/day at other places. It's worth paying extra to get a "Pool view" room which faces towards the inside of the building. Other rooms face the very noisy street.

Rooms were very clean and had a modern style furniture, which was very nice. Beds were big and comfortable (had the room with two queens). Sheets were pretty comfortable too. Towels should probably be replaced: they were small, thin and worn out.

AC unit worked really well and it was relatively quiet and large HDTV on the wall was nice. Room has an very nice all-glass shower with a sink outside.

The rooms are narrow and long and the layout is not great. Unfortunately, the sink area is very cramped and the door to the shower area blocks the sink area when opened. Expect to have only 1 person at a time using the sink and mirror and probably bumping the door on each other if one is getting out of the shower and the other is using the sink. There's also very little counter space on the sink. Balcony is pretty small, but most rooms have a nice view of the pool.

The breakfast server was OK for my taste with basic bagels and many types of pastries (chocolate croissants, yum!). It seemed light on the healthier items, such as juices and cereals (specially for a tropical region).

Staff is friendly, but their "concierge" service could be better. They basically point you to binders and an iPad where you can browse listings of activities. An actual concierge service would "dig" a little bit to find out what you'd like to do.

I would probably stay there again if I were looking for a clean, modern place that's just a little bit away from Duval street but still within walking distance. The benefits outweigh the minor annoyances.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kelvin C, Guest Relations Manager at Silver Palms Inn, responded to this review, April 15, 2012
Dear SomebodyAAAA,

Thank you for the kind review. It was our pleasure to accommodate you during the course of your stay here in old town Key West. We are pleased to hear you enjoyed your room and the amenities such as the parking which is a big plus here in Key West. Our staff is very familiar with the main attractions and tours to be able to help our guest choose a tour or trip that is right for them. We use tools such as the IPAD and binders to show you what is available as well as a welcome packet that is given at the check in with a list of tours and prices.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Silver Palms Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Silver Palms Inn

Address: 830 Truman Avenue, Key West, FL 33040
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Florida Keys > Key West
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #16 of 43 Hotels in Key West
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Silver Palms Inn 3.5*
Number of rooms: 50
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Otel, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Silver Palms Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Silver Palms Hotel Key West

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Silver Palms Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.