We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great tacos” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Garbo's Grill

Garbo's Grill
409 Caroline Street, Key West, FL 33040
+1 305-304-3004
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #2 of 381 Restaurants in Key West
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Price range: $5 - $10
Cuisines: Caribbean, Seafood, Fast Food, Eclectic
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Dining on a budget, Local cuisine, Families with children
Dining options: Lunch, Breakfast, Dinner, Delivery, Late Night, Takeout
Palos Park, Illinois
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Great tacos”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 27, 2012

Walked past this place a ton of times going to places not nearly as good. Finally decided to stop based on the reviews, and glad we did. They didn't have their daily fish in yet (that's how fresh it is) so had a couple of the shrimp tacos which were great. Nothing fancy about the place, you sit on boxes, but the food is outstanding and you can't beat the couple who runs it.

  • Visited September 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,840 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,519
    219
    66
    21
    15
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Key West, Florida
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
“A great little food cart, But not really "The Best in Key West"”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 26, 2012

I live in Key West, I have tried on numerous occasions to go to this cart because of the Trip Advisor rating. It's usually closed when I go there, but today it was open and here is my review:
We had the Kogi Hot Dog and the Fish Taco, the hotdog was over stuffed and very messy to eat, the taste was very good, high quality dog, kimchi was nice touch. It was very sloppy and very tasty. The Fish tacos were made with fresh Mahi grliied on a flat top grill the portion of fish was small and bland in flavor, The taco consisted of fish, shredded red cabbage, Cilantro and a few Jalapeno slices, served with a very tasty sauce that brought all the flavors together. I liked both items and would reccomend this food cart. With 2 canned sodas my bill was $18.50, so it is reasonably priced, the menu is limited but it is what it is...a food cart! There were a few milk crates scattered around for people to sit on, and a wooden bench but no other seating so it's a good grab-n-go place.The couple working the cart were very nice, and you could tell they had passion for what they were doing. Overall it's a good place but does not warrant being the #1 Trip Advisor rated restaurant in Key West. Maybe the #1 rated food cart in KW but not restaurant !

  • Visited September 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Good, but not the best”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 26, 2012 via mobile

Got here on a Tuesday around 11:45am. There were 8 people in front of us and we waited about 15 minutes for our food and expected it would take longer, so that was great. The couple running the cart were very nice. We tried the fish and Korean BBQ tacos, which were good but not the best I've had. There is a good food truck scene where I'm from and one that does an outstanding Korean BBQ taco and burrito and another with excellent fish tacos. Garbos was tasty and ingredients very fresh. They had some coolers, crates, and a couple of tables in the shade to sit and eat outside of the cart. Some of the trucks and carts where I live offer no seating at some of their spots, so glad to see Garbo's offering some seating :) Good value for the big tacos, too.

    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pompano Beach, Florida, United States
1 review
“The Best in Key West”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 25, 2012

Wow is all i have to say, you have to stop by! The owers were great and friendly. I highly suggest this joint to anyone w

  • Visited September 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jupiter, Florida
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Definitely Go”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 25, 2012

I'm not the first to mention it but it bears repeating, the couple that runs this place is most charming. Even before the food was delivered I was rooting for it to be good. And, it was. We love finding these charming little places which are of the cheap eats variety - - very fair pricing, not overly concerned with ambience but serve notable food. This is such a place. In fact, it's a cart and it's a must return to place.

Visited September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Garbo's Grill also viewed

 
Key West, Florida Keys
 

Been to Garbo's Grill? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Garbo's Grill, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.