We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Time” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Clearly Unique Charters

Clearly Unique Charters
231 Margaret Street, Directly behind Turtle Kraals at the end of "D" dock, Key West, FL 33040
1-305-747-8651
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #24 of 144 Outdoor Activities in Key West
Certificate of Excellence 2014
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: We have the only glass bottom Kayaks in Key West. Take a quick boat ride out to the National Wildlife Refuge for a guided tour around and through one of the many untouched mangrove islands. We often see such things as: a variety of birds, sharks, rays, turtles, lobster, crabs etc. Kayaking is followed by snorkeling in either a natural sponge garden, small boat wreck or coral reefs not visited by the larger companies. All ages are welcome. We love what we do and enjoy sharing it with others! *Private charters available.
Useful Information: Activities for older children
Chicago
2 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Great Time”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 8, 2013

I read some other peoples reviews before posting this one, and I have to say if find out more information before you book something and then complain about it later. My father and I met the captain Chris before going on the trip and he explained what the trip would be like. We were looking to kayak through the mangrooves, and knew they were not some "random Island". We saw plenty of wildlife to keep us entertained while taking in the near once in a lifetime opportunity to visit the mangrooves. Sam was a great guide who let you do your own thing if you wanted to, or you could follow closely while he pointed out various fish, birds, and sharks.

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

365 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    298
    42
    10
    6
    9
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Baltimore, Maryland
1 review
“Sisters saw sharks”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 7, 2013

We had a great time on our adventure with Matt and Angie this morning. We spotted dolphins on our way out of the harbor. We saw three sharks within five feet of us while kayaking and had a lot of laughs in the mangrove tunnels. Our group also saw rays, sea birds, lobsters, and lots of fish. After kayaking, we snorkeled over a shipwreck before returning to port.

Captain Matt and Angie were very knowledgable about the area and animal life on the island. They were personable and had a great sense of humor which we appreciated. This adventure was the highlight of our week and we will definitely be doing it again in the future.

Thanks again, Captain Matt and Angie!

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lombard, Illinois
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
3 attraction reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Well Run Adventure”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 29, 2013

Sam and Chris did an awesome job of giving us relaxing and stress free kayak ride through the interesting ecosystem of Key West Mandrakes. We had loads of fun and laughs kayaking in and out of the tunnels. The guides made sure we had enough juice left to enjoy our snorkel by strategically slinging us around the island so the current would carry us back to the boat. They were super informative and friendly. My family had a great time!

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grand Island, New York
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“fun time”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 23, 2013

Matt, the captain was very nice and kept our adventure close and personal. We saw a manta ray while heading out to the island to kayak and snorkel and he did a U-turn so we could see it. They only take a maximum of 14 people so it is kept warm friendly and personal. No over crowding here. Sam was our kayak guide. He is so laid back...perfect for our excursion. He was very knowledgeable about the habitat and the eco system. We saw two types of sharks, some barracuda's, some type of turtle and very cool birds (can't remember the types) Loved the clear kayak boats. When snorkeling, they take you where everyone is not so you can see your surroundings in the water and all the fish life. The bigger groups kick up a lot of sand so you don't see much of anything. My husband and I met some really nice people and enjoyed ourselves a lot.

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
4 attraction reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“We had a great time and the guided tour was unbelievable!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 13, 2013 via mobile

Sam and Chris were wonderful guides and were very nice. We saw many fish and the coral was beautiful! The kayak tour through the mangroves was awesome as well! I highly recommend this tour!

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Clearly Unique Charters also viewed

 

Been to Clearly Unique Charters? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Clearly Unique Charters, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.