We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fun and Educational” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Clearly Unique Charters

Clearly Unique Charters
631 Greene Street, Beside Conch Republic Restauraunt, Key West, FL 33040
+1 305-747-8651
Website
Improve this listing
Book Now

Ranked #52 of 305 activities in Key West
Type: Tours
More attraction details
Attraction Details
Owner description: We have the only glass bottom Kayaks in Key West. Take a quick boat ride out to the National Wildlife Refuge for a guided tour around and through one of the many untouched mangrove islands. We often see such things as: a variety of birds, sharks, rays, turtles, lobster, crabs etc. Kayaking is followed by snorkeling in either a natural sponge garden, small boat wreck or coral reefs not visited by the larger companies. All ages are welcome. We love what we do and enjoy sharing it with others! *Private charters available.
Useful Information: Activities for older children
Raleigh, North Carolina
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
3 attraction reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Fun and Educational”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 5, 2013

This trip is a great one to see the Keys in a different way. The trip out to where you kayak is very short (15-20 mins). Going through the mangrove tunnels was a lot of fun. You never know what kind of wild life you will see, but that is part of what makes it interesting. After kayaking, you go to a nice area to snorkel before returning back. Matt and Sam gave a lot of information about what we saw or could see. They were the ones who made the trip special. I highly recommend this trip and encourage people to ask lots of questions.

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

320 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    261
    38
    8
    5
    8
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Key West, Florida
1 review
“Big Shark Shadow”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 1, 2013

Just had great day out with Matt and Sam.

Saw large turtle and fast little one, rays, sponge, birds of prey, amazing amount of fish on a sunk boat wreck when snorkeling, tree crabs when kayaking through mangrove cut throughs, horseshoe something prehistoric ... and a huge shark.

Matt and Sam kept us entertained with stories and Sam was a good kayak guide pointing everything he could in our see-through kayak.

Recommend it for the kayaking alone, the rest is cherry on top.

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
indiana
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 attraction reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“A relaxing excursion for the whole family”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 27, 2013

We made sure to watch the weather, hoping for a day with little wind. We booked a tour on the best day of our vacation. 82, partly cloudy and 4mph wind. The kayaks weren't exactly super clear, but the water around the mangrove island was clear enough to see turtle sponge, small rays, a few turtles, barracuda, and even a small shark. The kayaking was so relaxing. Getting away from the noise of crowds and boats was a perfect break. We kayaked around and through the mangrove then headed back to the boat for some snorkeling. No coral, mostly turtle grass and sand, but the fish were easy to find. We saw lots of grunts, a cow fish, and a lobster. My 3 teen boys really enjoyed the tour. The crew supplied water, but did have two small veggie dip trays to snack on. I highly recommend this tour. Seeing a ton of fish is not guaranteed; they're fish, they show up when they want to. If you want to explore untouched nature, this is the tour to go on.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Harrisburg, Pennsylvania
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
7 attraction reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Expectations may have been high, but will skip next time”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 26, 2013

While it wasn't all bad, it was pretty boring. I would skip it next time. "Glass" bottoms were actually plastic, and the water was murky, the bottom view of seaweed. We saw some of the same birds you see everywhere, a few fish, one turtle. I think the most irritating thing was one of the guides kept asking "Are you having fun?!" and it felt like an old line. It just wasn't what I expected I guess, after reading the hype online. Oh, and the "bathroom" was disgusting.

Visited February 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NC
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Kayaking”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 21, 2013

Our guides were very friendly and made the trip a great one. The kayaks were maintained nicely and rode well.

I think I would rather have spent more time kayaking and less snorkling since it was pretty cold and the water wasn't very clear. Towels would have been nice for the crew to provide after being in the water.

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Clearly Unique Charters also viewed

 

Been to Clearly Unique Charters? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Clearly Unique Charters, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added Clearly Unique Charters to your Saves list