We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Big Shark Shadow” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Clearly Unique Charters

Clearly Unique Charters
231 Margaret Street, Directly behind Turtle Kraals at the end of "D" dock, Key West, FL 33040
+1 305-747-8651
Website
Improve this listing
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: We have the only glass bottom Kayaks in Key West. Take a quick boat ride out to the National Wildlife Refuge for a guided tour around and through one of the many untouched mangrove islands. We often see such things as: a variety of birds, sharks, rays, turtles, lobster, crabs etc. Kayaking is followed by snorkeling in either a natural sponge garden, small boat wreck or coral reefs not visited by the larger companies. All ages are welcome. We love what we do and enjoy sharing it with others! *Private charters available.
Useful Information: Activities for older children
Key West, Florida
1 review
“Big Shark Shadow”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 1, 2013

Just had great day out with Matt and Sam.

Saw large turtle and fast little one, rays, sponge, birds of prey, amazing amount of fish on a sunk boat wreck when snorkeling, tree crabs when kayaking through mangrove cut throughs, horseshoe something prehistoric ... and a huge shark.

Matt and Sam kept us entertained with stories and Sam was a good kayak guide pointing everything he could in our see-through kayak.

Recommend it for the kayaking alone, the rest is cherry on top.

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

388 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    313
    47
    10
    7
    11
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
indiana
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“A relaxing excursion for the whole family”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 27, 2013 via mobile

We made sure to watch the weather, hoping for a day with little wind. We booked a tour on the best day of our vacation. 82, partly cloudy and 4mph wind. The kayaks weren't exactly super clear, but the water around the mangrove island was clear enough to see turtle sponge, small rays, a few turtles, barracuda, and even a small shark. The kayaking was so relaxing. Getting away from the noise of crowds and boats was a perfect break. We kayaked around and through the mangrove then headed back to the boat for some snorkeling. No coral, mostly turtle grass and sand, but the fish were easy to find. We saw lots of grunts, a cow fish, and a lobster. My 3 teen boys really enjoyed the tour. The crew supplied water, but did have two small veggie dip trays to snack on. I highly recommend this tour. Seeing a ton of fish is not guaranteed; they're fish, they show up when they want to. If you want to explore untouched nature, this is the tour to go on.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Harrisburg, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
17 reviews
7 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Expectations may have been high, but will skip next time”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 26, 2013

While it wasn't all bad, it was pretty boring. I would skip it next time. "Glass" bottoms were actually plastic, and the water was murky, the bottom view of seaweed. We saw some of the same birds you see everywhere, a few fish, one turtle. I think the most irritating thing was one of the guides kept asking "Are you having fun?!" and it felt like an old line. It just wasn't what I expected I guess, after reading the hype online. Oh, and the "bathroom" was disgusting.

Visited February 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NC
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Kayaking”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 21, 2013

Our guides were very friendly and made the trip a great one. The kayaks were maintained nicely and rode well.

I think I would rather have spent more time kayaking and less snorkling since it was pretty cold and the water wasn't very clear. Towels would have been nice for the crew to provide after being in the water.

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Key West, Florida
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Great Kayaking”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 21, 2013

We had a great afternoon with Chris and Sam. Just a beautiful day and it was great to spend it on the water. We saw some wonderful birds; Ibis and nesting Ospreys. Also saw turtles, barracuda, and a host of other tropical fish. Beautiful quiet setting with great hosts. We will definitely recommend to friends and will be back next year!

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Clearly Unique Charters also viewed

 

Been to Clearly Unique Charters? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Clearly Unique Charters, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.