We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Chris and Sam provided a friendly and interesting trip to a beautiful location in a relaxing and safe environment.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Clearly Unique Charters

Clearly Unique Charters
231 Margaret Street, Directly behind Turtle Kraals at the end of "D" dock, Key West, FL 33040
+1 305-747-8651
Website
Improve this listing
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: We have the only glass bottom Kayaks in Key West. Take a quick boat ride out to the National Wildlife Refuge for a guided tour around and through one of the many untouched mangrove islands. We often see such things as: a variety of birds, sharks, rays, turtles, lobster, crabs etc. Kayaking is followed by snorkeling in either a natural sponge garden, small boat wreck or coral reefs not visited by the larger companies. All ages are welcome. We love what we do and enjoy sharing it with others! *Private charters available.
Useful Information: Activities for older children
1 review
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Chris and Sam provided a friendly and interesting trip to a beautiful location in a relaxing and safe environment.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 3, 2013 via mobile

We loved that they customized the trip based on weather. The water was glass so they extended the kayaking instead of rushing into snorkeling. We saw sharks, turtles, sting ray, baracuda, crab, and birds from the clear kayaks. They stopped boat on return trip when they spotted dolphins - which swam right up to us. Highly recommend this!

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

392 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    316
    48
    10
    7
    11
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
145 reviews
41 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 78 helpful votes
“Just ok”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2013

First off wanted to say the crew of the boat was awesome. I don't know if it was due to time of year for the location they took us snorkeling. However much better snorkeling exists in the area. We didn't see much of anything. I've snorkeled the reef here before and enjoyed it much more than this. The clear kayaks are neat though.

Visited December 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
captmatth, Owner at Clearly Unique Charters, responded to this review, January 4, 2013
Thank you for choosing Clearly Unique Charters. We're very glad you were happy with our boat, crew and enjoyed using our clear kayaks. Sorry the snorkeling wasn't up to your expectations, however we are a back country kayak eco-tour with snorkeling included. The clear kayaking accounts for 2/3 of the trip (about 1 1/2 hrs) with snorkeling a smaller portion (about 45 mins). We do have a variety locations for snorkeling that include coral heads, patch coral, sponge gardens and a small boat wreck. These sites depend on wind, weather and tides. We choose the best location for the day, where it is calm, peaceful and never crowded.(our less than 20 passengers are the only snorkelers at our locations) No back country kayak eco- tour goes out to the main "reef". It's located in a completely different area. We hope you enjoyed the peace and tranquility of the mangrove island and the wildlife in the water and trees while kayaking and hope you will join us again on your next Key West vacation.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Huntingdon, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
3 reviews
“Very enjoyable experience”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 31, 2012

Captain Matt and Sam were wonderful guides. My favorite was kayaking through the mangroves. We saw two sea turtles as well as several kinds of birds and fish.

Visited December 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
“Amazing experience”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 26, 2012

We had a really great time with Captain Matt and Sam. It was an incredibly relaxing experience and the snorkeling and kayaking was a lot of fun. I highly recommend this to anyone in Key West particularly families.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York, United States
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 attraction reviews
“Great Time!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 21, 2012

We had the time of our life! The Captain Chris and First Mate Sam were knowledgeable and experienced in their jobs. The kayaking was awesome, tranquil and serene. We saw some great fish, corral as well as birds. They even rescued an injured turkey vulture that was floating in the water with a broken wing. We learned a great deal about the Marine life of the Florida keys. It was a most enjoyable afternoon. These men obviously love the water, the marine life and their jobs!

Visited December 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Clearly Unique Charters also viewed

 

Been to Clearly Unique Charters? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Clearly Unique Charters, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.