We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not a lot to see” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Clearly Unique Charters

Clearly Unique Charters
231 Margaret Street, Directly behind Turtle Kraals at the end of "D" dock, Key West, FL 33040
+1 305-747-8651
Website
Improve this listing
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: We have the only glass bottom Kayaks in Key West. Take a quick boat ride out to the National Wildlife Refuge for a guided tour around and through one of the many untouched mangrove islands. We often see such things as: a variety of birds, sharks, rays, turtles, lobster, crabs etc. Kayaking is followed by snorkeling in either a natural sponge garden, small boat wreck or coral reefs not visited by the larger companies. All ages are welcome. We love what we do and enjoy sharing it with others! *Private charters available.
Useful Information: Activities for older children
Manchester, New Hampshire
Level Contributor
142 reviews
40 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
“Not a lot to see”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 15, 2012

My wife and I and another couple went on the snorkel then kayak adventure last week and I have to say I was not super impressed, they took us to a dead reef where we swam around and didnt see very many fish (one stingray) then we all jumped in the kayac and rowed around the edge of a mangrove "island" all we saw underneath the boat was seagrass. Then we got caught in a driving rain (not they're fault, I know) but once we got back to the boat it took so long to get going we were all freeezing standing there soaking wet. The first mate (I forget his name, sam maybe?) was really nice and you could tell he liked his job, the captain (matt I believe) on the other hand came of as pompous, he made sure to trash another business that has a high rating on trip adviser when we brought it up, it is a restaurant that has nothing to do with him but he felt they dont deserve the rating and made sure to let everyone know. I also was not a fan of him asking us for tips, I just find people who ask for tips to be classless.

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
captmatth, Guest Relations Manager at Clearly Unique Charters, responded to this review, October 26, 2012
Thank you for choosing Clearly Unique Charters. I'm very sorry to hear your experience was less than impressive. We try very hard to provide a fun safe trip for all of our guests. Many factors go into choosing our locations for any given day. Weather, wind, currents and tides are a few. Also, ours is a back country eco-tour. We do not go out to the "reef", we do however visit various sponge gardens with patch coral or a small boat wreck or coral head. Our kayak portion is around and through one of many untouched mangrove islands. The sea grass around these islands provide food for turtles and manatee. They are also nurseries for small fish that provide hunting grounds for birds of prey, sharks and rays such as you saw. While we hope to see all of these creatures and more every trip, unfortunately we can't guarantee what wildlife will show up. We are very sorry your group was rained on. Even though we try our best to avoid it, the Hot balmy air around S.Florida is very conducive to pop up showers. Even though our boat is fully covered, Capt Matt did put every bodies personal belongs in the center cock pit to keep them safe and dry. He also had snacks and sodas for everyone to enjoy while he and Sam took care of the kayaks. What you may not have known is he delayed departure to allow everyone time to dry off, as the wind created by the boat in motion would add greatly to the "chill" factor. The irony of someone posting an opinion, on an opinion based web site, chastising someone for their opinion was not lost by me. This issue has been addressed and our crew will no longer be allowed to have them. Lastly, what many people may not know is, just like waiters, bartenders, and food venders, a large portion of ALL boat crews salary is dependent upon gratuity. Cruise ships, fishing, diving, sunset sails, para sailing etc. Just like waiters & bartenders, all boat crew are expected to deal with hundreds of personalities from many countries in a courteous manner. Also just like restaurants and street venders tips are optional. But unlike waiters, captains have to log many hours on the water to qualify for classes and testing, then many more hours of experience to get the necessary licence for our charter. Also, all crew must be CPR and basic first aid certified and pass drug tests. We are sorry you found this information un-classy, if you have a better way to inform our future guests, please let us know. Your opinion is important to us. Warmest regards, Clearly Unique Charters.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

387 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    313
    46
    10
    7
    11
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Dallas, Texas, United States
1 review
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Clearly Unique kayaking and snorkeling tour”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 9, 2012

We had the greatest time-Kayaking/snorkeling with Fifer and Chris. They were very helpful while teaching us newbie's how to kayak.
It was so incredibly beautiful -sun shining,bird's singing and crystal waters-life is good.

Visited September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great day out kayaking Archer Key & snorkeling a shipwreck with great guides!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 7, 2012

Matt & Sam were fun & personable guides. Very knowledgable & steered us clear of an incoming storm - we didn't get a drop and had fun exploring Archer Key & snorkeling a wreck. Very fun - good value. Highly recommended!

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Lauderdale, Florida, United States
2 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great excursion!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 17, 2012

These guys have it right! Unlike the usual large operations you will find in tourism hot spots like Key West where you line up single file to board a huge boat with at least 50 other people, these guys operate a smaller boat with a much more personalized experience AND CLEAR KAYAKS! We were able to spread out and enjoy the views while jetting out to our kayaking & snorkeling spots. Once out to they had us in the water in no time and off exploring. The little mangrove island was very cool, a lot of wildlife and very secluded. Sam was a great guide, pointing things out and keeping us safe. It was a great little morning/early afternoon trip, I will be recommending it to all of my friends and family! Thanks guys!

Visited September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Wonderful!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 10, 2012

We go to Key West every year for our wedding anniversary. Each year we look for something new to do, this year we chose Clearly Unique Charters. It was a fantastic experience! Capt. Matt is very knowledgable, and Sam is 100% about making sure you have a great time! You won't be disappointed!

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Clearly Unique Charters also viewed

 

Been to Clearly Unique Charters? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Clearly Unique Charters, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.