We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“I would not stay here again.” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Casablanca at Bogart's

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Casablanca at Bogart's to your Saves list
Casablanca at Bogart's
904 Duval Street, Key West, FL 33040   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #79 of 94 Key West B&B and Inns
Nashville, Tennessee
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“I would not stay here again.”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 25, 2011

We stayed at this "hotel" during an event in Oct. that occurs every year. We were looking very forward to staying at a hotel located on Duval Street. At the time of the booking (1 year previously) we were told the manager would write us in the book for the dates we wanted. Long story short, we felt unsure whether we actually had the reservation. We were willing to pay a deposit in advance to secure the room but we didn't hear a response time after time. Finally 2 weeks before the event we secured the reservation with a payment. When we went to our assigned room we were speechless. The smoke detector was hanging open and broken. The floor was soiled and I had to clean the bathroom myself. The air conditioner was inadequate and had to be on nearly continuously. The window and door to the room could not be secured safely. The cheap looking decorations were all broken and we were concerned we would be charged for the items. I mentioned this to the manager and she said she wasn't aware of that happening. We are the type of people who keep our hotel room clean, clothes in the drawers for stays > 2 days, do not leave items on the floor and never abuse items or bed attire. On the 4th out of 5 days we were informed a small amount of stain was found on our sheets. The manager had the sheets and showed us a smudge of stain in the size of a quarter. The stain was barely visible. I am 99% certain the sheets could not have cost more than $35.00 and were told we would be charged $200.00 for a new set of sheets and $300.00 for a new comforter that had to be more than 5 years old. Stay here and you will see the information of the comforter/sheets is correct. She gave us the opportunity to go and buy detergent to wash out the stain. We have travel extensively, including several times outside of the United States in a variety of hotel rooms and have never experienced such an appalling experience. The manager told us she would not make the decision whether to charge us for the replacements until after we left. Two weeks later I called and she rudely informed me we were charged for the replacements. We would have left and went to another hotel but every hotel in that location was already booked at that time of the year.

  • Stayed October 2010
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

53 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    14
    15
    5
    13
    6
See reviews for
5
30
2
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (16)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Fort Lauderdale, Florida
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2011

where do I start ? first of all I must say that the room was quite charming and clean. Very Keysy with pastel walls and crown molding. However thats where the compliments end. The TV was older than my first born and the color was was awful. should be on the street on trash day. No bath mats in the bathroom possiblely because they did did not expect anyone to take a shower as there was no water pressure or hot water. The towles where old and tattered and the electric outlet by the sink did not work for my hair dryer. Window blinds were old and broken. Must say however Bogarts bar which is on the property was very cozy and fun. the staff was great and the service was very friendy. Only complaint was our food order took longer than we would expect. We were told that they had just recently taken over management and were still getting the bugs work out. Would not recommend The hotel but Bogarts is a must stop when in Key West.

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seaford, New York
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 6, 2011

room was quite sparse, could have easily been made nicer with some accessorizing
no bath mat, no toiletries, no hair dryer, mirror was hung so high we had to stand on tip toes to see our full faces & there was no other (full length) mirror - bathroom itself was however quite pretty
no refrigerator
bedding was stained & in disrepair
blinds had broken slats & there were no screens
ceiling fan was unbalanced & therefore made noise when on
there was an old broken queen size sofa in the room that belonged on the curb, when we opened it with great difficulty the mattress looked moldy
breakfast had nice fruit but store bought muffins
Duvall Street is fun but do not stay here if you need quiet at night
the pool was extremely small (but this is Key West where property is at a premium) cutely tucked away but difficult to navigate around the perimeter due to space contstaints

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Great Plains
Top Contributor
159 reviews 159 reviews
53 hotel reviews
Reviews in 72 cities Reviews in 72 cities
59 helpful votes 59 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 3, 2011

This B & B is located on the busiest street in Key West, but isn't too bad for noise. However there is no parking, and the staff gives you litle help in finding a place for your car. The room was spacious and clean but lacked the amenities found in most B & B's such as shampoo/conditioner, extra towels, a bath mat. The room was very clean and moderately priced, but it took forever for hot water to reach the shower. Theservice was poor. Our lock broke and we were told it would be fixed, but we had to spend almost an entire day with no room security. We should have been immediately moved to another room which was available. The continental breakfast was fruit and muffins with juice and coffee.

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Palm Beach, Florida
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 23, 2010

We were in this hotel one time before and decided to come back for celebration of our 1 year anniversary with my boyfriend! We couldn't find a more romantic place for the same affordable price! For 150$ per nite (this is taxes included, and they give discount for regular customers) we had a cozy spacious clean romantic room with a lot of light and a nice garden and pool view right from our private balcony. Turned out, in Key West hotel rooms with a private balcony are way too expensive and besides, the quality and size of such rooms usually suffers. But in Casablanca it was not like this, the balcony was a nice romantic addition to the great room and price was not so high! The room had a big bed, a nice love sofa, a TV and 2 bed tables, all very attractive looking, The place itself is quite, regardless of the bar/restaurant next door, where by the way we had a delicious lunch for a good price too. The pool is surrounded by tropic garden and nothing is better than just to linger there for a while! The staff was super friendly. Ivy was great and sooo helpful, she readily assisted us in booking of para sailing and jet ski. Indeed, it's a very very nice place and a great value for money too, it's a hidden gem in Duval street!! It's a pity not a lot of people know about this place and some people left some unpleasant comments about it here on Tripadvisor. But all these comments seem out of date to us, because we actually were in Casablanca recently - in June 2010 (!!!) and saw how everything has been renovated and now it's just amazing! May it not have some amenities that the super luxury hotels have (like spa or gym), but for relaxed and down to earth people without "star disease" and an attitude, for people who just want to spend great time in outside activities in Key West, live on Duval street for such a low price and come back home to a nice romantic quiet room this place would be a real catch! And the slogan in the small but cozy lobby turned out to be the real thing: "May all people who come here as guests, leave this place as friends".

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Casablanca at Bogart's? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Casablanca at Bogart's

Address: 904 Duval Street, Key West, FL 33040
Location: United States > Florida > Florida Keys > Key West
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #79 of 94 B&Bs / Inns in Key West
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 8
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Odigeo so you can book your Casablanca at Bogart's reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Casablanca at Bogart's, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.