We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“good location, great balcony and terrific views” 3 of 5 stars
Review of 1800 Atlantic Suites

Save Saved
You added 1800 Atlantic Suites to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
1800 Atlantic Suites
3.0 of 5 Condominium   |   1800 Atlantic Avenue, Key West, FL 33040   |  
Hotel amenities
Chicago, IL
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“good location, great balcony and terrific views”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 13, 2013

We rented a condo unit at 1800 Atlantic thru VRBO and dealt directly with the owners who were attentive, easy to work with and readily available for any questions before our arrival. Apparently a few concerns listed in our review on VRBO were not taken well as that review was never published there. I am always confident my review on tripadvisor will be published as long as we are fair and honest. We had been warned about the construction going on there when we booked our stay, and were told it was nearing completion. When we pulled up, it was very evident the work was no where near completion, as heavy construction was in full swing. it really did not bother us much though, the work was done during the day when we were touring. The workers were always very polite. It did make entering the garage and enjoying the outdoor amenities difficult though. Even though construction was ongoing near the pool, it was kept clean and inviting, as was the hot tub. Apparently the construction, as well as the timing of our visit kept the crowds down, as we rarely saw other people in the common areas or pool. The condo had a great balcony and view of the ocean, we spent a lot of time out there, enjoyed breakfast in the morning looking at the ocean. The condo seemed to need a good cleaning, especially the kitchen which needed updating. There were tiny ants all over the counter tops, which seemed to be remedied by wiping the kitchen counters off. The appliances were in good working order, but should have been cleaner. There was a smell of old grease in the kitchen, we had planned on cooking some meals at the condo, but only did twice as it was not very inviting. The condo was comfortable otherwise. We had to make a special trip to buy laundry detergent and dishwashing soap as we were required to wash linens and dishes and none was provided. It makes me nervous to think that renters are responsible for doing laundry with no detergent provided, as you cannot be sure how well the linens were cleaned with no supervision of cleaning personnel. The basics - air cond, hot water, internet, etc - all worked well. While there is no direct beach access here, a short walk around the block provides access to Smathers beach. A bike/car/taxi is needed to visit down town and most attractions, although we walked everywhere, probably about 5-6 miles total per day! We would be very anxious to see the building when renovations are completed, our stay was comfortable despite a few minor issues.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
J-RAT1, Manager at 1800 Atlantic Suites, responded to this review, October 15, 2013
Thanks for taking the time to write a review. I would like to be very clear that a unit you rented through VRBO should be posted to that individual Owners VRBO account. We manage several units in the building for individual owners. However I don't think you stayed in one of our units as we provide laundry detergent and dishwashing detergent, trash bags and bar soap. All of our guests have been informed that the construction is ongoing through October 2013.
1800 is an Awesome property and will be even more spectacular once the work has been completed.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

82 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    23
    26
    15
    10
    8
See reviews for
33
13
Solo
0
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (21)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Toledo, Ohio
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 23, 2013

We stayed in Unit A109, from 9/18-9/22, which was not the unit we rented. Upon arrival we were told we were being moved to a different unit, which alarmed me at first, but once we were in the unit, I couldn't have been happier with it, as it was much nicer than the unit I had expected! The condo was beautifully decorated, and exceeded our expectations. Every thing we needed was there including several beach towels (a couple days worth, and then some)! We were a little leary due to the construction that was going on, but actually only heard it one morning. I have stayed here previously, and once again, everything about our stay was perfect! We traveled with our good friends who have never been to Key West before. She owns a cleaning company, so I was worried that it wouldn't meet her high standards, but she had no complaints other than one ceiling fan needed dusting. She liked it so much that she told me when she returns to KW, this is where she wants to stay next time, which surprised me since there are sooo many choices for lodging. She loved everything about it! We had a great time here, an especially enjoyed the balconies and pool area. Also, the location is away from the craziness of Duval street, so it's nice to have some peace and quiet when you return back to your room. Security is really on the ball here as well, making sure no one is disturbed by loud guests. I love being able to walk to the beaches also.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Catasauqua, Pennsylvania
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2013

From reading reviews, we were aware of the construction. It was mainly on the west side of the complex during the hours of 8am to approximately 4:30pm. It didn't really bother us. During the day we were out and about either in Old Town or on the beach. We returned to the pool area in the afternoon, and it was somewhat loud at times, but we were having too much fun to notice. The pool is very nice, clean, and sizeable. We enjoyed the extra large hot tub, too. The restrooms by the pool featured a shower and sauna. Our unit 417 was modern, clean, with a roomy balcony patio with a view of the ocean and the pool/gardens. The kitchen was recently remodeled and had all the amenities. The floor plan was spacious with an open concept.
The only hiccup in our stay was when workmen showed up one morning at our unit to finish trim work on our balcony sliding doors. We should had been notified when we checked in that they would be entering our unit. However, they were friendly and efficient, but we should have been notified since we were getting ourselves ready to go to the beach. Smathers Beach is very close; a 5-minute walk, and a very nice beach with access to kayaks, sailboats, etc. We also walked to Old Town (about 2.5 miles). The Overseas Heritage Trail runs right by 1800. It's very easy to rent bikes & scooters. We used WECycle.

Room Tip: 3rd & 4th Floors are the best for a view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
J-RAT1, Manager at 1800 Atlantic Suites, responded to this review, July 23, 2013
Thanks for taking the time to post a review of our property. Sorry to hear that you were disrupted during your stay. The communication with the construction work could be improved and we were not notified that they needed to enter your unit, we would most definitely have contacted you.
Glad you had a great time in Key West. We are very much looking forward to the end of this project.
Please try us again.

Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2013 via mobile

Well to start...nowhere on booking.com did it mention anything about the construction. Once booked the confirmation email stated the construction and the mess that the property had going on. But by then already charged and no way out of the deal as it states if canceling within 30 days deposit is lost. So I wasn't going to lose over 500 to cancel so we went through with it. When we arrived we expected the worse with the construction but it turned out not too bad, at the end of the day we were off the property while the work was going on so no big deal. The property itself was pretty nice with construction going on and all, great view of the fireworks for the fourth. The apartment has huge potential but an overall disappointment. The c327 we stayed in has a great layout but outdated design, has all the great amenities but not appetizing because of the cleanliness...or lack there of from the coffee maker, microwave all the additional kitchen "gear" was awesome to have available but not appetizing to use because overall dirty. The same goes for the rest of the apartment. Enormous jacuzzi but needs to be redone! I mean to go on vacation and have to use shower shoes to bathe because of the mold on all the jets, and around the sealant not what you call a great inviting stay. This place needs what we call in the military a "field day" and cleaned from top to bottom, excess dust and dirt all over the place really takes away of the great opportunity for a great vacation getaway...I could go on but enough said, ohh and please inform your prospective guests that they are required to clean the sheets before they depart and do the dishes and that there is no house keeping services for the duration of your stay....I mean I'm on vacation I fix my bed everyday at home, looking for a break while I'm away, didn't happen...I'm not mad at the management or the owners for their business I just wish I was informed at what I was getting into, would rather have paid 100 bucks a night for a smaller but cleaner and more vacationer friendly hotel...

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
J-RAT1, Manager at 1800 Atlantic Suites, responded to this review, July 9, 2013
We are sorry you had these issues with our property. I wish we had known of this situation when you were here so we could have rectified it.
Booking.com have been fully informed regarding the construction and it listed on their site, however I have asked them several times to make it more visible.
Please try us again. I will give you a discount and free upgrade to compensate you for the problems you had with housekeeping. I am passing this on to our Housekeeping Manager so she can address this.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maryland
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 19, 2013

Our stay at 1800 was enhanced by excellent service from the staff -- including a visit after hours to help fix an internet issue when we arrived. We were forewarned about the construction, but since our stay only included one real construction day (and we were gone most of it) it wasn't an issue. Someone there Mon-Friday and wanting to use the pool etc might have problem with the jack-hammering. Grounds were also a bit torn up. That said, our unit, 238, was just what we were looking for. Though the decor is a bit dated (think early 1980s) it was clean and comfortable, with a large and very well equipped kitchen. Both BR faced the sea, which was a plus. The Master Bath in this unit is a bit odd -- with a tiled jacuzzi/shower (not sure it works) that was literally 10' x 10', but worked fine. 1800 is close to some beaches, but not close to the downtown area, so be forewarned you'll need to drive there. (or bike). We'd stay there again.

Room Tip: Be sure to be on ocean view side, or in building that faces the park. Use birds eye view from googl...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
J-RAT1, Manager at 1800 Atlantic Suites, responded to this review, July 5, 2013
We are glad you had a good time in Key West and enjoyed your unit at 1800 Atlantic.
Glad the construction was not too disruptive for your stay. We will be extremely glad when it is completed. At this time July 5th they are completed in the C building.

Hope you do choose to stay with us again. Please call us directly and mention that you took the time to post a review after your last stay. We do have quite a few units that the Owners have totally re-done and I would love for you to see them.

Regards

The Management of All Florida Keys
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Williamsburg, VA
Top Contributor
62 reviews 62 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 16, 2013

This property is in an excellent location, just yards from Smathers Beach and right down the street from White Street Pier, the dog park, childrens' park and Higgs Beach. We found it fairly convenient for the purpose of our visit, the 37th Annual Swim Around Key West (6/6-12/13).
I will concede that the property was under massive construction, but the management did not do us right by explaining (nor discounting) the extent of the work and its effect on our stay. Our unit (238) was not very clean with several broken floor tiles and other basic repairs needed... and in great need of updating. The balcony was awesome with a good view of both the pool and the gulf, but that was overshadowed by all of the work going on. Security was excellent and access to Atlantic Ave was good. If you are going to entertain this property, I recommend getting a detailed description of the work versus the location of your rental as well as any photos of the inside of the unit you are looking at.
We will not stay here again.

Room Tip: Rooms on the gulf side that open to the pool are nicer.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
J-RAT1, Manager at 1800 Atlantic Suites, responded to this review, June 18, 2013
Thanks for taking the time to leave a review. I checked your records for the time you were here. We actually gave you the non-ocean-view rate of $265 per night instead of $315 per night plus tax and then an additional night free. So you did actually receive a $515 discount off our normal rates due to the Construction.

It is a very frustrating time during the weekdays with the work going on as we do not have control over what work they do on what day. Our web-site and our staff have made every attempt to clearly notified all of our guests, given discounts and stressed that it is a good idea to do activities out in Town or on the water during the weekdays. Our confirmation have a big notice right on them also.

We are on the Atlantic side of the Island and the unit you had has a fantastic view of the Atlantic.

This project will be finished by the beginning of November so people will not have an issue with it after this time. The last 2 months of September and October will be taking care of the Walkways in the B building so will not have such an effect on the rest of the Property.

We are sorry you will not be staying with us again.

The Management of All Florida Keys
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to 1800 Atlantic Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about 1800 Atlantic Suites

Address: 1800 Atlantic Avenue, Key West, FL 33040
Location: United States > Florida > Florida Keys > Key West
Amenities:
Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #14 of 21 Specialty lodging in Key West
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3 star — 1800 Atlantic Suites 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Contemporary Mid-rise Condominium Resort with tasteful furnishings, popular amenities; situated adjacent to the beach. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Tingo, Travelocity, BookingOdigeoWL, Otel and Venere so you can book your 1800 Atlantic Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
1800 Atlantic Hotel Key West

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage 1800 Atlantic Suites, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.