We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Love Key West” 4 of 5 stars
Review of 1800 Atlantic Suites

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added 1800 Atlantic Suites to your Saves list
1800 Atlantic Suites
3.0 of 5 Condominium   |   1800 Atlantic Avenue, Key West, FL 33040   |  
Hotel amenities
NH
Top Contributor
111 reviews 111 reviews
32 hotel reviews
Reviews in 42 cities Reviews in 42 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
“Love Key West”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 18, 2012

We arrived at noon and was able to check in early, such a pleasure since we did not have a car. It would be nice if when you book your room they would send you the keys since the management company is not near the complex. We had room C339 on the east side. The rooms were very large and comfy, 2 bedrooms and 2 full size baths.The king bed could use some support, sagged in the middle. A deck that wrapped from the living area to the bedrooms was nice. The balcony doors were rusty and didn't close very well, everything else from towels, soap etc. was great. The rooms are decorated in your light colored beachy decor. The only negative I have is that the room is located on the street side. During bike weekend you have bikes, trucks, cars and people screaming from 9pm till 3am. Once I finally fell asleep a dog started barking at 5am till 7am. A cab ride to Mallory square is around $20 bucks. If your active and like to walk it's a beautiful walk. The hotel is next to Smathers Beach and that also is a nice walk. So if you want to be next to all the action and Duval Street this place is not close.

Room Tip: Rooms on the east side tend to be very noisy with cars, trucks and motorcycles
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

86 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    27
    25
    16
    10
    8
See reviews for
36
14
Solo
0
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (22)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Austin, Texas
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 18, 2012

I am not sure I would have stayed at this location if I had read all the current reviews. We stayed in building A unit 307 and had a wonderful unit. We arrived late in the evening 9 pm. The security guard was very friendly, gave us an envelope with the keys, garage electronic card and list of instructions. Parking in the gated garage is simple. The elevators and the hallway in the elevator area is nice: concrete walls with simple modern paintings. The hallway to the unit worried us a bit; looks a little like a nursing home. However, when we opened the door to our unit we were so happy. Simple decorations, new furniture, tile floor throughout, an amazing balcony with table and chairs for 11 people. Living room and both bedrooms go out to the balcony. This unit has wonderful morning sun and shade in the afternoon. The view of the lush courtyard is amazing and you do have partial view of the Atlantic. The pool and the pool area were extremely clean, with lots of lounge chairs, umbrellas etc. The pool is 1/2 Olympic not full size but is still great and very well kept. We stayed for 5 nights and the area was clean every time. You can stay on the property or take a short 5 minute walk past the pool to the left and follow a trail that takes you to Smather's Beach. You need to take your keys as the gate is kept locked. Smather's Beach has kiosk with paddle boards, sail boats jet skis etc. There was a lot of seaweed and no waves, but the beach was fun. Easy snorkeling there. We also went to all the other beaches in Key West. Swimming at night and cooking on the various barbeque grills was a nice way to spend the evening and a great asset to this property. This property is an easy drive to all parts of the island, but yes you do need to drive and find parking if you want to go elsewhere. We found the guards every night to be friendly. We really had limited interactions with the management company as all was working. Our unit had new furniture, well furnished kitchen, plenty of towels for the beach and the bathrooms, extra linens, 2 flat screens, washer/drier. beach umbrella etc. We were very pleased with unit 307, the security staff, the staff in the management office and the location. We met three other families that have stayed at this property for three years in a row.

Room Tip: ask to see pictures of the interior of the unit as the units are individually owned and vary, don...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 16, 2012

We stayed in a condo for 4 nights in early June with friends. We had originally tried to book a specific condo however this was not available. The agents supplied us with a number of alternatives from which we booked the condo we stayed in. On arrival the initial impression was good. However on closer examination the property we stayed in was showing its age e.g. the kitchen & bathroom units were starting to delaminate in places and some doors didn’t shut properly & the laminate floor no longer had a door threshold to the main bedroom.
The majority of the wardrobe space was taken up with the owner’s bits and pieces – lamps, spare flooring etc and as a consequence the acres of storage space was barely adequate especially for hanging items.
The outside of the buildings are concrete grey and on come condos nearest the ocean, the reinforcing bars had rusted sufficiently to cause some concrete to fall away. That said the pool is large and heated and we were able to spend some time in and around the pool between trips into the centre of Key Largo.
The first night there appeared to be a family gathering taking place in the communal area and quite a party developed. This went on into the small hours so beware if you a looking for a quiet time.
Finally I must mention the beds. They had 'plastic' mattress protectors under the sheets. Very uncomfortable. I appreciate that they help to keep mattresses clean but sleep quality is severely compromised.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2012 via mobile

First you must be 25 to stay here which it doesn't state on the website. We were able to stay any way since we travled so far. The outside of the building looks a little run down but the inside is nice. The rooms are big! However, the room we had had a ton of little things wrong with it for example the balcony doors would get stuck when u slide them. The lights would go out because they had the wrong light bulbs and the jazzuize didn't work. Thandul my boyfriend is hand and was able to fix this for us. There were also flying ants in out room which the owner knew about since there was a can of raid under the sink. The location of the hotel is horrible if I would have know that I would have NEVER booked the place. It looks like its on the beach and it kinda is but that water u can't go in . All the actives no matter what u do u have to drive to since its on te other side of key west !! Don't get me wrong te plae was nice and we had a good time but if ur looking for vacation were things are in walking distance this isn't the place !!

  • Stayed August 2012
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Capelle aan den IJssel, The Netherlands
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 1, 2012

First time to ever write such a negative report but wonder how people can be positive about this place.
Let me start with the good news:
The owner of appartment C426 is OK. Responds very quick and positive to emails and questions. The apartment itself is spacious.
The bad news:
At checking in (3.15 PM), it took us 15 minutes to wake up the guy from security to get informed that we could only check in at 4PM. 30 Minutes later we were given the envelop with the keys including a 15 minute rundown about what NOT to do and all the rules that applied to the premises. The appartment itself was outdated, pink walls, old and dirty furniture, smelly, doors of the kitchen cabinets not closing properly. Old, used and small towels, rubbled linnens on the beds. Because it is on the top floor it has high ceilings and windows which are apparently to high for staff to clean properly

The entire building itself is poorly maintained. All concrete (not painted) with black stains on the outside from moist.Concrete broken off of some of the balconies and pillars damaged.
When we were here, the pool was dirty and smelly. We complained about this twice to the property manager together with some other folks but he said nothing wrong. 4 days later, maintenance was replacing tubes and pipes. Possible contamination hazard. During the week there was construction work going on in the parking garage under the building. Result, wake up calls at 08.00 AM in the morning by a hammer drill that shook up the entire building.
Staff and security (at least if you can find them) were rude, arrogant and are probably trained to bark at people instead of showing any customer intimate atttitude. If you have an issue you have no single person to call. But have to call to multiple numbers and no one ever returns a call as promised.

As said, first time we would really recommend to look for an lternative. Which there are. Don't go here!!!!

Room Tip: We had excellent dinners at A&B Lobster House, Seven Fish. informal Salute on the Beach also ver...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
J-RAT1, Manager at 1800 Atlantic Suites, responded to this review, August 3, 2012
Sorry to hear that you had this expericence at 1800 Atlantic. This unit is a privately owned unit and you rented directly from the Owner not our Management Company. We have a manager who lives on site to take care of any problems that may occur with the units we manage. Owners pay a lot of money for housekeeping so if you had a compaint with a unit we managed we would rectify it immediately. Units may be dated but cleanliness is the most important thing.

What I find very concerning was that you found the Condo Association staff to be rude. This is not acceptable. I would certainly let the Owner you rented from know this so he can address this.

We manage 40 units at this property and work very closely with the Management for the Association over there. In 18 years I have never had a complaint about the pool.

I am sorry you had this experience.

All Florida Keys Property Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bowling Green, Kentucky
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2012

Very dated accomodations - we had to change rooms 3 times to find one with everything working; 1st room the a/c didn't work, 2nd room the bathrooms were filthy and the 3rd room the coffee maker nor microwave worked. Since all we did was sleep here the room was satisfactory once we had working a/c. If management would spend a few bucks to update the kitchen and some decor, this could be a place you'd look forward to staying at. For now tho - too many other places with better offerings.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Crater Lake, Oregon
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2012

The condos at this property are all individually owned and quite variable in quality so this review is for ONLY the condo that I experienced. That would be unit C328.

The location of the condo is right adjacent to Smather's Beach (the private beach noted is not really a beach, just shoreline). Some reviewers said this property is noisy because of its location on a busy corner, but we had a courtyard facing unit and never heard a car or truck. Not once. And I come from a very quiet place. The condo is a long bike ride or short drive to Duval Street. Really not walkable for most people. Though my daughter and her fiancee easily jogged there in the mornings.

I have been in condos, hotel and rental houses all over the US and in a few foreign countries and I have never found a better rental than this place. I usually post a list of pros and cons for each property, but there were so few, if any, "cons" that such a positing would be meaningless. And the minor cons that I will relate are with respect to the general property, NOT the condo itself.

The unit itself is almost brand new and immaculate. Luxury throughout. Italian travertine tile graces the floor of every room and the balcony (which looks driectly out into the Atlantic.) There is a large beautiful master bath with a walk-in glass shower and a jetted tub. Very comfortable kings in both bedrooms with king sized TVs (as if you would waste time here watching TV). There is a huge plasma HDTV in the well appointed living room as well. Just off the living/dining room is a small but convenient bar. The sofa in the living room was so comfortable that my daughter wanted to buy an identical one when she got home. The interior design is modern and beautiful.

The kitchen is right out of a home and garden or deisgner magazine. Top of the line appliances, granite slab counter tops. Huge refrigerator that rocks in ice output. Every glass, dinnerware, flatware and cookware item you can imagine is provided. All impeccably clean.

Be sure to bring all of the condiments and supplies that you need though as it seems the condo is cleared of all "left behinds" after each renter. We could only find a few bags of tea and some sugar packets. Not a bad thing, but we are used to condos where some common items are left and added to by each subsequent tenant. Parking is free in a secured garage below the units.

The only minor cons that I mentioned are as follows: The property itself is not brand new so some of the common areas are a bit outdated. The hallways certainly belie the elegance that you find once you open the door to C328. Many units were being remodeled when we stayed. Also, the spa did not work when we were there - no bubbles, no hot water. However, the pool was large, very nice and extremely clean. There are a variety of pool accessories for shared use as well as charcoal BBQ grills around the pool area.

The only thing that exceeded the quality of the condo was the quality of the rental property management company. Pure Key West Vacations, a division of Truman&Company was outstanding, particularly Kathi, a true 5 star plus concierge. She was ever attentive and always there when needed. She was there to meet us on a Sunday evening and then took time to show us around. She was there immediately with a free WiFi hotspot when the DSL router acted up. She was there with light bulbs when one went out. I can't say enough about the exceptional service I received from this company and highly recommend them.

The condo was so nice that we ended up spending more time there relaxing and less time in activities than we had planned. It was time well spent. If you go to Key West, seriously consider trying to snag this unit if available!

Room Tip: C328 enough said! Lacking that, get a room on the inside facing the courtyard to reduced external...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to 1800 Atlantic Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about 1800 Atlantic Suites

Address: 1800 Atlantic Avenue, Key West, FL 33040
Location: United States > Florida > Florida Keys > Key West
Amenities:
Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #14 of 22 Specialty Lodging in Key West
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3 star — 1800 Atlantic Suites 3*
Number of rooms: 56
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Contemporary Mid-rise Condominium Resort with tasteful furnishings, popular amenities; situated adjacent to the beach. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your 1800 Atlantic Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
1800 Atlantic Hotel Key West

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage 1800 Atlantic Suites, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.