We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Poor and that's still politically correct” 2 of 5 stars
Review of 1800 Atlantic Suites

Save Saved
You added 1800 Atlantic Suites to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
1800 Atlantic Suites
3.0 of 5 Condominium   |   1800 Atlantic Avenue, Key West, FL 33040   |  
Hotel amenities
Capelle aan den IJssel, The Netherlands
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Poor and that's still politically correct”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 1, 2012

First time to ever write such a negative report but wonder how people can be positive about this place.
Let me start with the good news:
The owner of appartment C426 is OK. Responds very quick and positive to emails and questions. The apartment itself is spacious.
The bad news:
At checking in (3.15 PM), it took us 15 minutes to wake up the guy from security to get informed that we could only check in at 4PM. 30 Minutes later we were given the envelop with the keys including a 15 minute rundown about what NOT to do and all the rules that applied to the premises. The appartment itself was outdated, pink walls, old and dirty furniture, smelly, doors of the kitchen cabinets not closing properly. Old, used and small towels, rubbled linnens on the beds. Because it is on the top floor it has high ceilings and windows which are apparently to high for staff to clean properly

The entire building itself is poorly maintained. All concrete (not painted) with black stains on the outside from moist.Concrete broken off of some of the balconies and pillars damaged.
When we were here, the pool was dirty and smelly. We complained about this twice to the property manager together with some other folks but he said nothing wrong. 4 days later, maintenance was replacing tubes and pipes. Possible contamination hazard. During the week there was construction work going on in the parking garage under the building. Result, wake up calls at 08.00 AM in the morning by a hammer drill that shook up the entire building.
Staff and security (at least if you can find them) were rude, arrogant and are probably trained to bark at people instead of showing any customer intimate atttitude. If you have an issue you have no single person to call. But have to call to multiple numbers and no one ever returns a call as promised.

As said, first time we would really recommend to look for an lternative. Which there are. Don't go here!!!!

Room Tip: We had excellent dinners at A&B Lobster House, Seven Fish. informal Salute on the Beach also ver...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
J-RAT1, Manager at 1800 Atlantic Suites, responded to this review, August 3, 2012
Sorry to hear that you had this expericence at 1800 Atlantic. This unit is a privately owned unit and you rented directly from the Owner not our Management Company. We have a manager who lives on site to take care of any problems that may occur with the units we manage. Owners pay a lot of money for housekeeping so if you had a compaint with a unit we managed we would rectify it immediately. Units may be dated but cleanliness is the most important thing.

What I find very concerning was that you found the Condo Association staff to be rude. This is not acceptable. I would certainly let the Owner you rented from know this so he can address this.

We manage 40 units at this property and work very closely with the Management for the Association over there. In 18 years I have never had a complaint about the pool.

I am sorry you had this experience.

All Florida Keys Property Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

82 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    24
    25
    15
    10
    8
See reviews for
34
13
Solo
0
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (21)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Bowling Green, Kentucky
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2012

Very dated accomodations - we had to change rooms 3 times to find one with everything working; 1st room the a/c didn't work, 2nd room the bathrooms were filthy and the 3rd room the coffee maker nor microwave worked. Since all we did was sleep here the room was satisfactory once we had working a/c. If management would spend a few bucks to update the kitchen and some decor, this could be a place you'd look forward to staying at. For now tho - too many other places with better offerings.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Crater Lake, Oregon
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2012

The condos at this property are all individually owned and quite variable in quality so this review is for ONLY the condo that I experienced. That would be unit C328.

The location of the condo is right adjacent to Smather's Beach (the private beach noted is not really a beach, just shoreline). Some reviewers said this property is noisy because of its location on a busy corner, but we had a courtyard facing unit and never heard a car or truck. Not once. And I come from a very quiet place. The condo is a long bike ride or short drive to Duval Street. Really not walkable for most people. Though my daughter and her fiancee easily jogged there in the mornings.

I have been in condos, hotel and rental houses all over the US and in a few foreign countries and I have never found a better rental than this place. I usually post a list of pros and cons for each property, but there were so few, if any, "cons" that such a positing would be meaningless. And the minor cons that I will relate are with respect to the general property, NOT the condo itself.

The unit itself is almost brand new and immaculate. Luxury throughout. Italian travertine tile graces the floor of every room and the balcony (which looks driectly out into the Atlantic.) There is a large beautiful master bath with a walk-in glass shower and a jetted tub. Very comfortable kings in both bedrooms with king sized TVs (as if you would waste time here watching TV). There is a huge plasma HDTV in the well appointed living room as well. Just off the living/dining room is a small but convenient bar. The sofa in the living room was so comfortable that my daughter wanted to buy an identical one when she got home. The interior design is modern and beautiful.

The kitchen is right out of a home and garden or deisgner magazine. Top of the line appliances, granite slab counter tops. Huge refrigerator that rocks in ice output. Every glass, dinnerware, flatware and cookware item you can imagine is provided. All impeccably clean.

Be sure to bring all of the condiments and supplies that you need though as it seems the condo is cleared of all "left behinds" after each renter. We could only find a few bags of tea and some sugar packets. Not a bad thing, but we are used to condos where some common items are left and added to by each subsequent tenant. Parking is free in a secured garage below the units.

The only minor cons that I mentioned are as follows: The property itself is not brand new so some of the common areas are a bit outdated. The hallways certainly belie the elegance that you find once you open the door to C328. Many units were being remodeled when we stayed. Also, the spa did not work when we were there - no bubbles, no hot water. However, the pool was large, very nice and extremely clean. There are a variety of pool accessories for shared use as well as charcoal BBQ grills around the pool area.

The only thing that exceeded the quality of the condo was the quality of the rental property management company. Pure Key West Vacations, a division of Truman&Company was outstanding, particularly Kathi, a true 5 star plus concierge. She was ever attentive and always there when needed. She was there to meet us on a Sunday evening and then took time to show us around. She was there immediately with a free WiFi hotspot when the DSL router acted up. She was there with light bulbs when one went out. I can't say enough about the exceptional service I received from this company and highly recommend them.

The condo was so nice that we ended up spending more time there relaxing and less time in activities than we had planned. It was time well spent. If you go to Key West, seriously consider trying to snag this unit if available!

Room Tip: C328 enough said! Lacking that, get a room on the inside facing the courtyard to reduced external...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 15, 2012

We rented apartments 103 and 105 between a group of friends which were ideally located next door to each other. Here's the lowdown.

Apartments are massive = Win
Pool is BIG = Win
There is a jacuzzi = Win
Free garage parking = Win
Decor is dated = not so hot
Kitchens really are FULLY equipped = Win
There seem to be floats you can use in the pool lying around everywhere! = Win
Air conditioned table tennis room! = Win
Free WiFi = WIN!
Proper Cable TV, with TVs everywhere = WIN!
Dishwashers and laundry machines in yo flat = Win!

Basically the only real downside to this place is it isn't next to Duval Street, and it looks very 70s. Other than that, it's fantastic. Both apartments had two large bedrooms, two bathrooms, a very big lounge and kitchen with dining table for 4. Balconies, air con, towels provided (more towels in 103 than I thought was possible). Great for groups and families, loads of space, lovely outdoor area with barbecues that get cleaned for you, pool and jacuzzi open till 11PM - it's basically perfect.

We were really sad to leave, had a great time here and it was the cheapest part of our US holiday!

PS: The male supervisor was really, really, really nice. The female one was a bit scary. And hench.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stockholm
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 6, 2012

The apartment was excellent. Very big for only two persons, so we had a lot of space. In the garden it was a nice big pool, and it was an jacuzzi too. Lot of places in the garden to barbeque. Very very nice place. Garage in the basement. Near the beaches and the city. A lovley place to stay on!

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Waterford, New York
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 5, 2012

The condo was very nice, but dated. The complex was clean and well maintained. The pool was great but the maintenance supervisor treated us like children. Actually sat behind us at the pool to catch us doing something wrong. Was yelled at for having a plastic cup in the pool. Otherwise, no stresses, its Key West.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kitchener, Canada
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2012

We stayed here in Feb 2012 and rented through Tom's Vacation Rentals. We were a group of 6 adults in a 2 bedroom condo. The entire unit had been recently renovated and was stunning. There were 2 bedrooms, one was a master suite and there was also a pull-out couch available. There was plenty of space for the 6 of us and both bedrooms and the living room had access to the balcony. Our unit faced the ocean and we were able to see the sunrise every morning. There was also laundry facilities in our unit with laundry soap available for use.
This building is very secure and key access is required to navigate through the building and get into/ out-of the pool area. The pool was quite large and faced the ocean. There were plenty of lounge chairs available for use with access to umbrellas if needed. A lot of the people in the building own and live in their units as it is a condo building so this would not be best for someone looking to have loud parties. The building was super quiet, which made it more relaxing and better for sleeping.
We were a bit of a hike from Duval st (where all the action is). It took us about 45 minutes to walk close to Mallory Square. We rented bicycles and then it was only about a 10 to 15 minute ride to get down to the action of Key West.
I would definitely stay in one of Tom's units again, we had a great time. I highly recommend this for people looking for a quiet and relaxing place to stay in Key West.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to 1800 Atlantic Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about 1800 Atlantic Suites

Address: 1800 Atlantic Avenue, Key West, FL 33040
Location: United States > Florida > Florida Keys > Key West
Amenities:
Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #15 of 22 Specialty lodging in Key West
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3 star — 1800 Atlantic Suites 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Contemporary Mid-rise Condominium Resort with tasteful furnishings, popular amenities; situated adjacent to the beach. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Tingo, Travelocity, Hotels.com, BookingOdigeoWL, Venere and Otel so you can book your 1800 Atlantic Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
1800 Atlantic Hotel Key West

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage 1800 Atlantic Suites, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.