We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great vacation” 4 of 5 stars
Review of 1800 Atlantic Suites

Save Saved
You added 1800 Atlantic Suites to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
1800 Atlantic Suites
3.0 of 5 Condominium   |   1800 Atlantic Avenue, Key West, FL 33040   |  
Hotel amenities
Waterford, New York
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Great vacation”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 5, 2012

The condo was very nice, but dated. The complex was clean and well maintained. The pool was great but the maintenance supervisor treated us like children. Actually sat behind us at the pool to catch us doing something wrong. Was yelled at for having a plastic cup in the pool. Otherwise, no stresses, its Key West.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

82 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    24
    25
    15
    10
    8
See reviews for
34
13
Solo
0
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (21)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Kitchener, Canada
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2012

We stayed here in Feb 2012 and rented through Tom's Vacation Rentals. We were a group of 6 adults in a 2 bedroom condo. The entire unit had been recently renovated and was stunning. There were 2 bedrooms, one was a master suite and there was also a pull-out couch available. There was plenty of space for the 6 of us and both bedrooms and the living room had access to the balcony. Our unit faced the ocean and we were able to see the sunrise every morning. There was also laundry facilities in our unit with laundry soap available for use.
This building is very secure and key access is required to navigate through the building and get into/ out-of the pool area. The pool was quite large and faced the ocean. There were plenty of lounge chairs available for use with access to umbrellas if needed. A lot of the people in the building own and live in their units as it is a condo building so this would not be best for someone looking to have loud parties. The building was super quiet, which made it more relaxing and better for sleeping.
We were a bit of a hike from Duval st (where all the action is). It took us about 45 minutes to walk close to Mallory Square. We rented bicycles and then it was only about a 10 to 15 minute ride to get down to the action of Key West.
I would definitely stay in one of Tom's units again, we had a great time. I highly recommend this for people looking for a quiet and relaxing place to stay in Key West.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Wayne, Indiana, United States
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 9, 2012

We have been staying at 1800 Atlantic for 10 years and have enjoyed every stay. Now that we are retired, we get to come for two months in the winter. It is a great location--away from the noise and craziness of Duval St. but close enough to go and enjoy it in the evening. The condos are all different. We have had great success with All Florida Keys for renting. They are great to work with, and very fair. We enjoy the large balcony patio to sit and have coffee in the morning and wine in the evening. It is directly on the ocean with wonderful views and the pool is fantastic. If you can't enjoy this, maybe Key West is not your place to vacation.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 9, 2012

Great complex and great unit. We have stayed other places near here and this was the best. Great pool area, huge pool, lots of room, lounge chairs, and sun. Very high security with all public areas requiring key. (make sure everyone in your party has one.) Unit was recently renovated with great kitchen. Rooms and bathrooms were large, great patio with access from both BR's and family room. A/C seamed to have a problem when we arrived. When we called management co., they had a repairman there in a matter of hours. Great people to deal with!

Room Tip: Units in the east building facing west have great views of the ocean and pool
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
new york
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 3, 2012

We were two couples traveling together and thought it would be great to share a place.
This condo unit needs refurbishment (#111). The bed in the master bedroom is falling apart. Getting the drawers open is an adventure. The master bath has a HUGE dated discolored sunken bathtub which doesn't drain properly.The carpets are tacky. It probably was clean but somehow didn't feel it. Everything is past its shelf life. It has a garden view which is okay. The balcony was a good place to spend time and the kitchen is useable. The washer/dryer was nice to have - on the downside we were told we would be penalized if we didn't wash our own sheets and towels (lol).
The facility is okay - the pool is nice (heated), and the ocean is always good.
Its a bit of a hike to where you want to be on Key West. I'd go for something more central if possible. We enjoyed Key West but could have had a better time if we'd stayed in a better unit.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
J-RAT1, General Manager at 1800 Atlantic Suites, responded to this review, February 9, 2012
Sorry to hear you had this experience. All the units are individually owned although we have standards that we require each unit to meet. An uncomfortable bed is not acceptable.

We wish you had contacted us while you were here. We would most definitely been able to re-locate you to another unit in the complex.

If you come to Key West again please call us directly and we will make sure to give you a free upgrade and a newly renovated unit.

Warm Regards Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Key Largo, Florida
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 29, 2012

Was subjected to paint fumes, paint and concrete dust, being secluded to one end of the pool area, limited use of the pool during work hours due to dust and paint fumes, no use of the hot tub from Monday through Thursday, Only thing we were told when we checked in at their off-site third party management company was that the hot tub would be shut down for maintenance starting Monday - but they didn't know for how long. Being boat race week we felt we had no other options but to grin and bear it as Key West was filled to capacity. Tried to follow-up afterwards to seek compensation for deplorable conditions with both the management company AARP/Expedia with no response (Expediate stated they will respond within 24 hours on their website )from either until I followed-up again; and then was basically treated like a piece of dirt. Will never use Expedia or stay at 1800 Atlantic again.

Room Tip: While a unique apartment it was in dire need of a a face lift. For instance, kitchen cabinets were...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
J-RAT1, General Manager at 1800 Atlantic Suites, responded to this review, February 9, 2012
Let me first say that We do not like to have unhappy customers. We strive to ensure that all our guests are happy. However this guest did not contact us once while he was here. We did not hear a word from him until 2 weeks after he left and he demanded a full refund. At this point we had already paid the Owner of this unit for his stay. I did offer him a discount or upgrade on a future stay.

This is a residential Condominium Complex and maintenenace has to be done. We informed all of our guests ahead of time and discounted accordingly. Some weeks were worse than others. We gave free nights, we upgraded people, we let people cancel with no penalty.
I would like to assure all of our future guests that this construction was completed in Nov 2011.

Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 24, 2012

Our family stayed in unit #206 over the Christmas holiday and had a perfectly nice stay. The building itself isn't terribly remarkable at first sight, but it's clean and well kept and the residents we encountered were lovely and very friendly. I can't speak for other units, but ours was neat, clean and tidy - even if the decor was circa 1980. I won't say it was a fabulous retreat, but it was perfectly suitable for our holiday.

Things we liked:
--The views from our condo
--The pool area is nice, though tends to get crowded in the afternoon.
--The tennis area is nice and well kept.
--The location was fairly central and easy to navigate from.

Things we didn't like:
--The beds were uncomfortable. Really uncomfortable.
--The decor and furniture was outdated. The unit has a lot of potential if it were updated.

Overall, the apartment had everything we needed - but I think we may look to a more full-service option (i.e., resort or hotel) for the entire family our next vacation.

Room Tip: Unit #206 was clean and tidy, even if the decor was outdated. The rental process was easy and straig...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to 1800 Atlantic Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about 1800 Atlantic Suites

Address: 1800 Atlantic Avenue, Key West, FL 33040
Location: United States > Florida > Florida Keys > Key West
Amenities:
Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #15 of 22 Specialty lodging in Key West
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3 star — 1800 Atlantic Suites 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Contemporary Mid-rise Condominium Resort with tasteful furnishings, popular amenities; situated adjacent to the beach. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Tingo, Travelocity, Expedia, Hotels.com, BookingOdigeoWL, Venere and Otel so you can book your 1800 Atlantic Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
1800 Atlantic Hotel Key West

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage 1800 Atlantic Suites, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.