We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Don't Judge a Book by its Cover” 4 of 5 stars
Review of 1800 Atlantic Suites

Save Saved
You added 1800 Atlantic Suites to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
1800 Atlantic Suites
3.0 of 5 Condominium   |   1800 Atlantic Avenue, Key West, FL 33040   |  
Hotel amenities
Idaho Falls, ID
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
“Don't Judge a Book by its Cover”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2012

The outside of the building is not attractive, nor is the faded carpet in the hallways. Don't lose hope, though, it gets better. The landscaping is beautiful and well-maintained, even in the parking area. There is a wonderful 25-yard (or meter?) heated pool overlooking the ocean and a large jacuzzi. The beach area is narrow and has some broken glass, so don't expect to play on it, but it's still pretty. Behind the pool are a couple of attractive shelters with lots of picnic tables. There is also an unmanned lending library in a small building in the lush garden area with lots of books.

Our apartment was spacious and, although there were lingering aspects of the 1980's (mirrored walls, the kitchen, vertical blinds), it had been somewhat updated in good taste. The master bedroom had a wonderful bathroom with a jacuzzi and a large walk-in shower. There was also a big balcony that went past the living room and both bedrooms. Everything looked clean, but judging from how fast our bare feet got dirty, the floor could have been mopped better.

We went over Christmas break, so it was a little pricey, but just about everything else was even more expensive.

Pros: Beautiful grounds, pool, jacuzzi, great view, quiet and family-friendly, spacious, great balcony.
Cons: Exterior of building, hallways, location is a little far from the action (but within biking distance), uncomfortable sofa-bed mattress.

Room Tip: See if you can get a room overlooking the water.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
J-RAT1, General Manager at 1800 Atlantic Suites, responded to this review, February 9, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to review your stay at our property. We are glad you had a good time and hope you choose to return one day.

Warm Wishes

Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

83 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    23
    27
    15
    10
    8
See reviews for
34
13
Solo
0
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (21)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Leeds, Yorks
Top Contributor
172 reviews 172 reviews
87 hotel reviews
Reviews in 86 cities Reviews in 86 cities
100 helpful votes 100 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed December 1, 2011

On first arrival at this complex you are faced with a large ugly monolith of a building, seemingly it was built only about 10 years ago but looks like something out of the sixties.
When we eventually got into the car park we were met with builders mixing cement, not a good sign.
The inside is as bad as the outside patterned rendered walls in gray, the lift was in need of some attention and the carpet in the corridor was filthy, a lot of the apartment doors had old locks replaced with new locks, it reminded me of a council block.
Our apartment was on Bertha Street side not good as it was very noisy, most of the pool area was out of action and the spa was not working, when you walk on the inside of the complex you see cement falling off the walls and balconies, stained walls from overflow pipes and overgrown trees.
While we were there we had builders working on the outside with jack hammers, this did not lead to a quiet holiday so we moved out.
A point to note the brochure says Olympic sized swimming pool, I was always told this was 50m, this one is more like 50ft, even in America they should be able to get this right.
I would never recommend this place and in fact would avoid.

Room Tip: Stay away and find something better
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Georgia
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 4, 2011

We stayed here for the poker run and it was fabulous! It was clean and comfortable. The pool and hot tub was great! We would definitely stay there again!

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scarborough, Maine
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
45 helpful votes 45 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 23, 2011

The Room: It had an wesome view, it was extremely clean but had a lot of light pink. Felt like I was staying somewhere the golden girls would love. It was very spacious and the balcony we ate almost every meal on. The slider door from the living room didn't work, well if you were a very strong person it did. LOL We told the management about this but never got fixed. After about 24 hrs our A/C unit stopped working. Management did fix that, not immediately but within a day it was up and running again. Over all I was quite impressed with our room.

Location: The location was okay. Defininitely away from things. They advertize a beach, but it's not a beach you'd really want to lay on or relax.. infact we went just to see it but no one else was on it. So we stayed poolside. The one thing about this place that would be a minus for some and a plus for others is that it's not just a tourist vacation spot. People live and own some of the condo's year round and some people retire here. Great if you want a quiet relaxing time, but if you want to get a bit of a groove on, becareful... security will probably be on ya. No music by the pool unless you have headphones. We were asked to leave the jacuzzi early one night (I think it closed at 10) because we were being too noisy. We weren't "partying" but unfortunately the shape of the building causes echos throughout the garden/pool area. At first we thought who ever complained was crazy but we later realized it really wasn't us, it was the echo's making people's voices seem louder.

I personally would have preferred to be closer to Duval street. Taking a cab back and forth can get expensive. We had group rates but even then we didn't think the cab was such a good deal. Luckily one of the girls with us ended up getting a rental car, which worked out perfectly for us. We could see the island without the hassle of shelling out cash everytime we changed our direction. :)

Security was great. They really keep the place under lock down so to speak. I never once felt like I was unsafe.

The garden area is amazing, realize though, you can miss the extent if you stick to the path straight to the pool. Take 10 mins or so to walk around and you will realize there is a lot more to see, little hidden gems/plants that shows whoever is doing the work really takes pride in it.

I would stay here again, because it was a really nice time and we had 5 girls on our trip and there was more than enough room for us. It made the place extremely affordable too. I guess the price divided by 5 is what made this a great deal. I would think twice about staying somewhere else if the cost couldn't have been shared.

Room Tip: ask for the higher floor the better. ground floors get a garden view. ;)
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2011, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lexington, Ohio
Top Contributor
64 reviews 64 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 13, 2011

This is our fave place to stay in Key West --- it's away from the craziness of Duval Street, yet only a short taxi ride away; it's got the roomiest, cleanest suites, yet half the price of a classy hotel; it's got a great pool and hot tub with views of the ocean and palm trees, yet it's never crowded! The wrap-around balconies offer wonderful views of the ocean, and the fully-equipped kitchens allow you to have breakfast in, and lunch around the pool; you can go out to dinner, or stay in and cook... your choice. The place provides everything from blenders to lobster pots, and some of the suites even have spices, coffee filters, and condiments. We like to laze around the pool all day (in the ten winters we have been returning, there have never been more than ten people poolside...) and then grab a cab to Schooner Wharf for some seafood in the evening...

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
J-RAT1, General Manager at 1800 Atlantic Suites, responded to this review, February 9, 2012
Great,

So glad you love our great property. We love our repeat guests too.

Hope to see you next year.

Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kennesaw, Georgia
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 6, 2011

This was a family vacation, four adults and one three year old. Our initial reaction to the lobby area and the building's exterior before we got to our unit was not positive. So we were very surprised at the size of our unit and its cleanliness. So glad we passed up being in town ( Duvall Street) and booked this place. It is not a hotel. It is a spacious condominium. We did not feel cramped at all. If you like to cook, this kitchen is for you. It was large and well equipped. Loved the wet bar area. In addition, it was great to come back to an olympic sized pool after hectic Duvall Street. The ride to Duvall Street is a short one. While the building could use some updating, everything worked in our unit and the spaciousness of the unit was a definite plus.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 30, 2011

Spent 3 nights in the west building with 3 kids. The place was nice. Sure, it had some minor issues - door stuck, old fridge - but great overall. The location is great because it is quiet and off the beaten path. But if you want to be by Duvall St this ain't for you. We rented bikes but since this was June, we scarcely used them.

  • Stayed June 2011
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to 1800 Atlantic Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about 1800 Atlantic Suites

Address: 1800 Atlantic Avenue, Key West, FL 33040
Location: United States > Florida > Florida Keys > Key West
Amenities:
Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #14 of 21 Specialty lodging in Key West
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3 star — 1800 Atlantic Suites 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Contemporary Mid-rise Condominium Resort with tasteful furnishings, popular amenities; situated adjacent to the beach. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Tingo, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Despegar.com, BookingOdigeoWL, Venere and Otel so you can book your 1800 Atlantic Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
1800 Atlantic Hotel Key West

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage 1800 Atlantic Suites, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.