We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Favorite Cuban Con Leche -- Vegan Style” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Cuban Coffee Queen

Cuban Coffee Queen
284 Margaret Street, Key West, FL 33040
3052947787
Website
Menu
Update restaurant details
Ranked #10 of 347 restaurants in Key West
Price range: $0 - $7
Cuisines: Caribbean, Coffee Shop, Cuban
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Local cuisine, Dining on a budget
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Takeout, Delivery, Late Night, Dessert
Description: We serve up delicious Cuban coffee, breakfast, and lunch fare to a large following of fans here in Key West. Come in the morning for Café con Leche or a Cuban Chocolate Mocha, and make sure to grab some breakfast too. Try favorites such as our Key Wester, which is two eggs, cheese, and your choice of ham, bacon, sausage, or pork roll sandwiched between two delicious pieces of pressed Cuban bread. It’s fantastic!Are you ready for lunch? Try our Famous Tuna Burger, our Turkey Club, or the Havana Rice & Beans. If you want to go lighter, order one of our freshly made salads or one of our delicious smoothies made with sweet tropical fruits.We also deliver! Cuban Coffee Queen is open every day, from 6:30 until sunset. Don’t forget to grab a T-shirt or hat while you’re at Cuban Coffee Queen. You’ll wish you had when you see folks walking around town with our famous memorabilia.
Tampa, Florida
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
“Favorite Cuban Con Leche -- Vegan Style”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 2, 2013

My favorite Cuban Con Leche to date! They made it Vegan for me by using Soy-Milk; superb! Located in a small shack near Key West's busy tourist wharfs & seafront; this restaurant is always busy -- and a favorite of "Locals" too. Seldom needed to wait for any period of time; they know how to manage and serve a large trade! For my Vegan Cuban Con Leche sometimes I've asked them to add an extra "shot" of Cuban coffee plus vanilla and the result is amazingly good to enjoy while viewing the harbor. What a morning treat! Highly recommend! PS: they have 2 Vegetarian sandwiches that can be made Vegan by substituting for the Cuban bread and saying "no cheese, please". Had the Hummus sandwich that way and it was very good.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marius V, Owner at Cuban Coffee Queen, responded to this review, April 3, 2013
Lite,
I'm glad you're so impressed with our little Cuban coffee shack! Great call on our Cuban Con Leche— one sip and you're hooked. We want to make our dishes accessible to everyone regardless of their dietary preferences, so we're happy we could supply you with a vegan option. Hey, next time you get the hankering for some hot coffee and a freshly pressed sandwich, you know where to find us!

Warm regards,
Marius, Owner
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

933 reviews from our community

92% Recommend
    685
    175
    51
    9
    13
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
West PalmBeach, FL
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“excellent key West flavor”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 2, 2013

someone should call Guy Fierri, great little, dive, drive in, etc... but with great food and great employees.
Understand, no frills, no indoor seating, but if you want a coffee, and cuban sandwich or cuban pork, plan a stop, eat out front and enjoy the Key West atmosphere.

yes, it really is as small as it appears,
definitely worth a stop, and the young folks inside do great job, for something simple, good and fun, worthwhile.
dont be fooled, not fast food, your sandwich will take a few minutes, but then no one is in hurry in Key West (they make them to order)

  • Visited March 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marius V, Owner at Cuban Coffee Queen, responded to this review, April 3, 2013
Thanks for this awesome review. Hey, we'd jump at the chance to be on Diners, Drive-Ins and Dives! You're absolutely right — we may not look like much from the outside, but we sure know how to whip up a cup of joe! I appreciate you being such a big advocate of our little coffee shack. Next time you're in the area, come back and see us!

All the best,
Marius, Owner
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ellwood City, Pennsylvania
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
32 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Cuban Mix Sandwich”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 31, 2013

My wife and I found out about this place when in 2011 we parked our car in a lot at Key West. The guy running the lot told us about the Cuban Coffee Queen, when we ask him for the place that had the BEST Cuban Sandwich on the island. Well let me tell you folks, "he was right". It's not just the best Cuban on the island, but one of the best sandwiches I have eaten in my life. You sit outside in the beautiful sun of the island and enjoy. We were there once again, just a week ago, and this time we brought a cooler with us and I brought some back to West Palm to enjoy later during the week. Other than the bread being a little damp they were still good enough for me. Linda put them in tin foil and placed them in the oven. Bread for the most part came back to crunchy. However, I will say that the first bite of one hot off the press at the "Cuban Coffee Queen" is unmatched. When visiting Key West this is a must if you want some authentic Cuban food and coffee.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marius V, Owner at Cuban Coffee Queen, responded to this review, April 3, 2013
Wow. You could be our new spokesperson! Thank you so much for this thoughtful review. We're thrilled you think our freshly pressed Cuban sandwiches are 'unmatched'! Thanks for being such a big advocate of our little coffee shack. We hope to see you back here very soon!

Warm regards,
Marius, Owner
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tampa, Florida
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Good coffee served fast...”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 30, 2013

but the food took a bit longer. We ordered two café con leches and an egg and cheese sandwich. The coffee was served fast and was very good. The egg sandwich took about 20 minutes which is not unreasonable...just be prepared to wait a little bit for your food since this is not a fast food restaurant. The location was convenient- near the marina/docks where a lot of the boating trips depart. Service was friendly and the sandwich was big enough for two. It seemed to be a popular place for the local folks. Prices were reasonable.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marius V, Owner at Cuban Coffee Queen, responded to this review, April 1, 2013
Thanks for this great review! I'm so glad you're a fan of our authentic Cuban pressed sandwiches! And you're right— unlike fast food restaurants, all of our sandwiches are made-to-order and prepared with a lot of care and attention to detail. I apologize if it took a little longer than expected; we just want to prepare the best meal possible! Next time you're in the area, we hope you will come by and see us. Another delicious meal awaits!

Cheers,
Marius, Owner
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carlisle, Pennsylvania
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“second to NONE!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 28, 2013

We ate there every day...soooo good! Coffee was perfection! Cuban bagel with the drizzle of honey was indescribably delicious...and surprising! Enjoy!

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marius V, Owner at Cuban Coffee Queen, responded to this review, March 30, 2013
Barbara,
Thank you so much for these kind words! This review is 'perfection'! Great call on our Cuban bagel— one bite and you're hooked. Next time you make the trip down from Pennsylvania, please stop by and see us!

Cheers,
Marius, Owner
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Cuban Coffee Queen also viewed

Key West, Florida Keys
Key West, Florida Keys
 
Key West, Florida Keys
Key West, Florida Keys
 

Been to Cuban Coffee Queen? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Cuban Coffee Queen, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.