We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great trip!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Dolphin Safari

Dolphin Safari
2319 North Roosevelt Boulevard, Banana Bay Resort & Marina, Key West, FL 33040
305-797-5491
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #57 of 325 Activities in Key West
Type: Tours, Adventure
Useful Information: Activities for older children
Attraction details
Useful Information: Activities for older children
McKinney, Texas
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Great trip!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 17, 2012

We love Captain Mitch! He was so knowledgable, friendly, and laid-back and made the trip lots of fun. We saw a few dolphins in the dolphin playground and then went snorkling. Mitch told us a nurse shark lives in the area where we were swimming and snorkling and sure enough we saw it! The snacks and drinks after we snorkled were much appreciated.

There was some confusion with our reservation but Mitch was gracious and helped us to get everything sorted out. We met Captain Gary after our trip and he was very helpful, too.

We had a great time and would definitely recommend Dolphin Safari!

Visited September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

286 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    242
    26
    8
    5
    5
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
“The best tour and captain”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 16, 2012

We had an amazing tour with captain Gary! We saw lots of dolphins, the snorkelling was relaxing and fun and the sandback was magical. Highly recommend this tour!!

Visited September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Myers, Florida
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
17 attraction reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
“Great Experience in Key West”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 5, 2012

Captain Hutch made our trip, despite difficulty locating dolphins after Issac passed through. Visibility at snorkel site was not perfect but this was after a tropical storm. My advice is to verify visibility before booking.

Visited August 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Austin, Texas
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Must do in Key West”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 31, 2012

This was our third time out and it never gets old. In less than an hour we were on a pod of close to thirty Dolphins playing in the Gulf. Gary is a great Captain but you won't go wrong with any of them (Hutch was out last Captain and we had a blast). If you are there with your significant other there is nothing better than the afternoon trip that stops on a sandbar in the Gulf. You can sit in inches of water miles into the Gulf and watch the sunset.

Visited August 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orlando, Florida
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
7 attraction reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Capt Gary and the Dolphin Safari”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 27, 2012

What a great adventure! Capt Gary was knowledgeable, and entertaining. Saw several pods of dolpins, snorkeling was beautiful, saw a great variety of fish. We come to KW every August and this will be a repeat event for us when we return. I highly recommend this, and what in KW or any tourist area is not a little higher in price for adventures.

Visited August 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Dolphin Safari also viewed

Key West, Florida Keys
Key West, Florida Keys
 

Been to Dolphin Safari? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Dolphin Safari, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.